BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling historyBikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history
Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

Giro d'Italia Points, Mountains (GPM),
Youth and Team Classifications

Tour de France: the Inside Story

Les Woodland's book Tour de France: The Inside Story - Making the World's Greatest Bicycle Race is available as an audiobook here.

List of winners, podium, distances and average speed for all editions of the Giro d'Italia

Beside the General Classifcation for lowest elapsed time (awarded a pink jersey), there are other competitions within the Giro d'Italia.

Climber: Called GPM for Gran Premio della Montagna was made a sperate classification in 1933, The leader in the GPM started wearing a green jersey in 1974. Because the classification's sponsor, Banca Mediolanum, uses blue as its corporate color, the GPM leader has worn a blue jersey since 2012.

Points: The first two editions of the Giro were determined by points (adding up placings). A separate Points classification was established in 1966 (though I have a points result for 1958) and the next two years the leader in the points classification was given a red jersey. From 1969 to 2009 it was purple (cyclamen, to be exact) and in 2010 it became red again.

Young Rider: Awarded to the rider with the best General Classication time who had not reached his 25th birthday by January 1. While there was a Young Rider classification in the 1930s, the category got its offical start in 1976. From 1995 to 2006 there was no young rider prize.

Team: Currently calculated by adding up the times of the three best riders of each team per stage.

Click on any year for complete Final General Classification, results for every stage with running GC and photos.

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel

Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Content continues below the ads

Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames







1932       Legnano  
1933 Alfredo Binda     Legnano  
1934 Remo Bertoni     Gloria  
1935 Gino Bartali     Fréjus  
1936 Gino Bartali     Legnano  
1937 Gino Bartali     Fréjus  
1938 Giovanni Valetti     Gloria-Ambrosiana  
1939 Gino Bartali     Fréjus  
1940 Gino Bartali     Gloria  
1941-1945 Race not held
1946 Gino Bartali     Benotto  
1947 Gino Bartali     Welter  
1948 Fausto Coppi     Wilier-Triestina  
1949 Fausto Coppi     Wilier-Triestina  
1950 Hugo Koblet     Fréjus  
1951 Louison Bobet     Taurea  
1952 Raphaël Géminiani     Bianchi  
1953 Pasquale Fornara     Ganna-Ursus  
1954 Fausto Coppi     Girardengo  
1955 Gastone Nencini     Atala  
1956 Dolomites:
Charly Gaul
Apennines:Federico Bahamontes
Stelvio: Aurelio
Del Rio
1957 Raphaël Géminiani     Legnano  
1958 Jean Brankart Miguel Poblet   Carpano  
1959 Charly Gaul     Atala  


Content continues below the ads

Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach!
1960 Rik van Looy     Ignis  
1961 Vito Taccone     Faema  
1962 Angelino Soler     Faema  
1963 Vito Taccone     Carpano  
1964 Franco Bitossi     St. Raphaël  
1965 Franco Bitossi     Salvarani  
1966 Franco Bitossi Gianni Motta   Molteni  
1967 Aurelio González Dino Zandegù    KAS  
1968 Eddy Merckx Eddy Merckx   Faema  
1969 Claudio Michelotto Franco Bitossi   Molteni  
1970 Martin Vandenbossche Franco Bitossi   Faemino  


Marino Basso   Molteni  
1972 José-Manuel
Roger de Vlaeminck   Molteni  
1973 José-Manuel
Eddy Merckx   Molteni  
1974 José-Manuel
Roger de Vlaeminck   KAS  
1975 Francisco Galdós Roger de Vlaeminck   Brooklyn  
1976 Andrés Oliva Francesco Moser Alfio Vandi Brooklyn  
1977 Faustino
Francesco Moser Mario Beccia Flandria  
1978 Ueli Sutter Francesco Moser Roberto Visentini Bianchi  
1979 Claudio Bortolotto Giuseppe Saronni Silvio Contini Sanson  
1980 Claudio Bortolotto Giuseppe Saronni Tommy Prim Bianchi  
1981 Claudio Bortolotto Giuseppe Saronni Giuseppe Faraca Bianchi  
1982 Lucien van Impe Francesco Moser Marco Groppo Bianchi  
1983 Lucien van Impe Giuseppe Saronni Franco Chioccioli Gemeaz Cusin-Zor  
1984 Laurent Fignon Urs Freuler Charly Mottet Renault-Elf  
1985 José Luis Navarro Johan Van der Velde Alberto Volpi Apilatte-Olmo-Cierre  
1986 Pedro Muñoz Guido Bontempi Marco Giovannetti Super Mercati Brianzoli  
1987 Robert Millar Johan Van der Velde Roberto Conti Panasonic  
1988 Andrew Hampsten Johan Van der Velde Stefano Tomasini Carrera  
1989 Luis Herrara Giovanni Fidanza Vladimir Poulnikov Fagor  
1990 Claudio Chiapucci Gianni Bugno Vladimir Poulnikov ONCE  
1991 Iñaki Gastón 
Claudio Chiapucci
Massimiliano Lelli
Young rider
1992 Claudio Chiapucci Mario Cipollini Pavel Tonkov GB-MG  
1993 Claudio Chiappucci Adriano Baffi Pavel Tonkov Lampre  
1994 Pascal Richard Djamolidine Abdoujaprov Evgeni Berzin Carrera  
1995 Mariano Piccoli Tony Rominger   Gewiss-Ballan  
1996 Mariano Piccoli Fabrizio Guidi   Carrera  
1997 José Jaime González  Mario Cipollini   Kelme-Costa Blanca  
1998 Marco Pantani Mariano Piccoli   Mapei  
1999 José Jaime Gonzalez Laurent Jalabert   Vitalicio Seguros  
2000 Francesco Casagrande Dimitri Konyshev   Mapei-Quick Step  
2001 Fredy Gonzalez Massimo Strazzer   Alessio  
2002 Julio Perez Cuapio Mario Cipollini   Alessio  
2003 Fredy Gonzalez Gilberto Simoni   Lampre  
2004 Fabian Wegmann Alessandro Petacchi   Saeco  
2005 José Rujano Paolo Bettini   Liquigas  
2006 Juan Manuel
Paolo Bettini   Phonak  
2007 Leonardo Piepoli Alessandro Petacchi Andy Schleck Saunier Duval  
2008 Emanuele Sella Daniele Bennati Riccardo Riccò CSF-Navigare  
2009 Stefano Garzelli Danilo Di Luca Kevin Seeldrayers Astana  
2010 Matthew Lloyd Cadel Evans Richie Porte Liquigas  
2011 Stefano Garzelli Michele Scarponi Roman Kreuziger Astana  
2012 Matteo Rabottini Joaquin Rodriguez Rigoberto Uran Lampre  
2013 Stefano Pirazzi Mark Cavendish Carlos Betancur Sky  
2014 Julian Arredondo Nacer Bouhanni Nairo Quintana Ag2r  
2015 Giovanni Visconti Giacomo Nizzolo FAbio Aru Astana  
2016 Mikel Nieve Giacomo Nizzolo Bob Jungels Astana  
2017 Mikel Landa Fernando Gaviria Bob Jungels Movistar  
2018 Chris Froome
Elia Viviani
Miguel Lopez
Young rider
Team Sky
2019 Giulio Ciccone
Pascal Ackermann
Miguel Lopez
Young rider
2020 Ruben Guerreiro
Arnaud Démare
Tao Geoghegan Hart
Young rider
INEOS Grenadiers
2021 Geoffrey Bouchard
Peter Sagan
Egan Bernal
Young Rider
INEOS Grenadiers
2022 Koen Bouwman
Arnaud Démare
Juan Pedro Lopez
Young rider
Bahrain Victorious
2023 Thibaut Pinot
Jonathan Milan
Joao Almeida
Young rider
Bahrain Victorious


Content continues below the ads

Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!