BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It Started With a Freckle Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Bianchi cycle clothing Advertise with us! CycleItalia cycling tours

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

Settimana Ciclistica Internazionale di Coppi e Bartali (2.1)

Winners, podium, distance, average speed

Despite its 2.1 rating, the Settimana Ciclistica Internazionale di Coppi e Bartali (International Cycling Week of Coppi and Bartali) is one of the most important stage races on the Italian calender. The 1996 and 1997 editions were integrated with the Giro di Sardegna. In 1999 and 2000 it was run as the Memorial Cecchi Gori. In 2001 it took on its current name, devoted to the memory of Fausto Coppi and Gino Bartali.

The 2003 edition was notable because it was the last time the late Marco Pantani stood on the podium of a professional bike race when he came in second in the final stage. In remembrance his back number in that race, 145, has been retired.

The Settimana Internazionale is currently run over 5 days in late March on the roads of the Emilia-Romagna region of Italy.


1st Place

2nd Place

3rd Place


Average Speed

1984 Moreno Argentin Stephan Mutter Johan Vande Velde    
1985 Laurent Fignon Bruno Wojtinek Giuseppe Saronni    
1986 Giuseppe Saronni Mreno Argentin Federico Ghiotto    
1987 Maurizio Rossi Daniele Caroli Rolf Sørensen    
1988 Adriano Baffi
28hr 36min 39sec
Giuseppe Saronni
@ 3sec
Camillo Passera
@ s.t.
1100.2 km 38.453
1989 Bruno Leali
27hr 23min 7sec
Pierino Gavazzi
@ 9sec
Steven Rooks
@ 10sec
1058.6 km 39.02
1990 Rolf Sørensen Steven Rooks Claudio Chiappucci    
1991 Phil Anderson Giuseppe Petito Maximilian Sciandri    
1992 Moreno Argentin Alex Zülle Phil Anderson    
1993 Michele Bartoli
18hr 59min 38sec
Lubos Lom
@ 17sec
Paolo Formciari
@ 55sec
736 km 38.749
1994 Rudolfo Massi
24hr 35min 3sec
Michele Copollito
@ 27sec
Evgani Berzin
@ 30sec
950 km 38.643
1995 Race not held
1996 Gabriele Colombo
23hr 18min 9sec
Adriano Baffi
@ 39sec
Maurizio Fondriest
@ 44sec
898 km 38.537
1997 Roberto Petito
22hr 3min 30sec
Claudio Chiappucci
@ 8sec
Alessandro Bertolini
@ 14sec
873.2 km 39.586
1998 Race not held
1999 Romans Vainsteins
9hr 47min 48sec
Gianmario Ortenzi
@ 6sec
Paolo Bettini
@ 9sec
374 km
2 stages
2000 Paolo Bettini
22hr 16min 36sec
Wladimir Belli
@ 10sec
Marco Velo
@ 14sec
901.2 km 40.454
2001 Ruslan Ivanov
20hr 40min 14sec
Dario Frigo
@ 4sec
Freddy Gonzalez
@ 16sec
879.3 km 42.539
2002 Francesco Casagrande
@ 20hr 16min 11sec
Peter Luttenberger
@ 7sec
Cadel Evans
@ 16sec
819 km 40.405
2003 Mirko Celestino
20hr 59min 1sec
Francesco Casagrande
@ 5sec
Franco Pellizotti
@ 13sec
842.7 km 40.160
2004 Giuliano Figueras
21hr 9min 36sec
Mirko Celestino
@ 1sec
Michele Scarponi
@ s.t.
804.8 km 38.034
2005 Franco Pellizotti
21hr 21min 32sec
Mauro Facci
@ 12sec
Damiano Cunego
@ 28sec
832.5 km 38.977
2006 Damiano Cunego
20hr 45min 51sec
Vincenzo Nibali
@ 2sec
Mario Aerts
@ 11sec
819.9 km 39.486
2007 Michele Scarponi
19hr 43min 36sec
Riccardo Riccò
@ 8sec
Luca Pierfelici
@ 25sec
778.7 km 39.474
2008 Cadel Evans
20hr 19min 18sec
Stefano Garzelli
@ 17sec
Vincenzo Nibali
@ 1min 15sec
825.1 km 40.601 km/hr
2009 Damiano Cunego
18hr 48min 10sec
Cadel Evans
@ 24sec
Massimo Giunti
@ 38sec
775.2 km 41.227
2010 Ivan Santaromita
20hr 12min 50sec
Przemyslaw Niemiec
@ 1min 43sec
José Rodolfo Serpa
@ 2min 25sec
817.0 km 40.414
2011 Emanuele Sella
14hr 57min 34sec
Diego Ulissi
@ 30sec
Stefano Pirazzi @ 32sec 630.3 km 42.126
2012 Jan Barta
14hr 0min 21sec
Bartosz Huzarski
@ 13sec
Diego Ulissi
@ 21sec
590.0 km 41.411
2013 Diego Ulissi
14hr 15min 12sec
Damiano Cunego
@ 1min 35sec
Miguel Angel Rubiano
@ 1min 48sec
556.7 km 39.050
2014 Peter Kennaugh
10hr 30min 40sec
Dario Cataldo
@ 12sec
Matteo Rabottini
@ 35sec
447.5 km 42.563
2015 Louis Meintjes
14hr 31min 42sec
Ben Swift
@ 2sec
Matija Kvasina
@ 46sec
580.30 km 39.935
2016 Sergey Firsanov
14hr 14min 58sec
Mauro Finetto
@ 3sec
Gianni Moscon
@ 19sec
579.2 km 40.639
2017 Lilian Calmejane
13hr 37min 51sec
Toms Skujins
@ 16sec
Jaime Roson
@ 31sec
565.0 km 41.438 km/hr