BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Dirty Feet South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2007 Paris - Roubaix (Pro Tour)

105th edition: Sunday, April 15, 2007

2006 edition | 2008 edition | Podium history of Paris-Roubaix | Photos

259.5 km, 52.7 of which are cobbled | 187 starters, 96 classified finishers

The Race: Warm (23C at the start and warmed up during the day), dry and dusty. With about 30 kilometers to go the winning break coalesced and with 23 kilometers still to go, Stuart O'Grady bolted from this group. The four chasers, Flecha, Wesemann, Leukemans and Petito, lost ground to O'Grady with every pedal stroke. O'Grady became the first antipodean to win Paris-Roubaix.

Complete Results:

  1. Stuart O'Grady (CSC) 6hr 9min 7sec. 42.181 km/hr
  2. Juan Antonio Flecha (Rabobank) @ 52sec
  3. Steffen Wesemann (Wiesenhof) s.t.
  4. Bjorn Leukemans (Predictor-Lotto) @ 53sec
  5. Roberto Petito (Liquigas) @ 55sec
  6. Tom Boonen (Quick Step) s.t.
  7. Roger Hammond (T-Mobile) s.t.
  8. Enrico Franzoi (Lampre) @ 56sec
  9. Kevin van Impe (Quick Step) @ 1min 24sec
  10. Fabio Baldato (Lampre) @ 2min 27sec
  11. Lars Michaelsen (CSC) s.t.
  12. David Kopp (Gerolsteiner) @ 2min 28sec
  13. Leif Hoste (Predictor-Lotto) s.t.
  14. Matti Breschel (CSC) s.t.
  15. Ralf Grabsch (Milram) s.t.
  16. Staf Scheirlinckx (Cofidis) s.t.
  17. Vladimir Gusev (Discovery) s.t.
  18. Stijn Devolder (Discovery) s.t.
  19. Fabian Cancellara (CSC) @ 2min 38sec
  20. Marcus Burghardt (T-Mobile) @ 3min 43sec
  21. Sébastien Rosseler (Quick Step) @ 3min 45sec
  22. Stéphane Poulhies (Ag2r) @ 5min 4sec
  23. Peter van Petegem (Quick Step) s.t.
  24. Martin Elmiger (Ag2r) @ 5min 5sec
  25. Frédéric Guesdon (FDJ) s.t.
  26. José Joaquin Rojas (Caisse d'Epargne) s.t.
  27. Guennadi Mikhailov (Astana) s.t.
  28. Bert Grabsch (T-Mobile) s.t.
  29. Greg Van Avermaet (Predictor-Lotto) @ 5min 6sec
  30. Olaf Pollack (Wiesenhof-Felt) @ 5min 7sec
  31. Floris Goesinnen (Skil-Shimano) @ 5min 12sec
  32. Nico Eeckhout (Chocolade Jacques) @ 8min 28sec
  33. Filip Meirhaeghe (Landbouwkrediet) s.t.
  34. Nicolas Rousseau (Ag2r) @ 8min 29sec
  35. Filippo Pozzato (Liquigas) s.t.
  36. Volodymyr Bileka (Discovery) @ 8min 31sec
  37. Aivaras Baranauskas (Agritubel) @ 9min 27sec
  38. Steven De Jongh (Quick Step) @ 9min 38sec
  39. William Bonnet (Credit Agricole) s.t.
  40. Marcel Sieberg (Milram) s.t.
  41. Rony Martias (Bouygues Telecom) s.t.
  42. Sven Kraus (Gerolsteiner) s.t.
  43. Thor Hushovd (Credit Agricole) s.t.
  44. Florent Brard (Caisse d'Epargne) s.t.
  45. Bram De Groot (Rabobank) s.t.
  46. Marcus Ljungqvist (CSC) s.t.
  47. Magnus Backstedt (Liquigas) s.t.
  48. Andy Flickinger (Bouygues Telecom) s.t.
  49. Peter Wrolich (Gerolsteiner) s.t.
  50. Jorg Ludewig (Wiesenhof-Felt) s.t.
  51. Koen De Kort (Astana) s.t.
  52. Philippe Gilbert (FDJ) s.t.
  53. Tom Steels (Predictor Lotto) s.t.
  54. Angel Gomez (Saunier Duval) s.t.
  55. Christophe Mengin (FDJ) @ 9min 40sec
  56. Robert Wagner (Wiesenhof-Felt) s.t.
  57. Paolo Fornaciari (Lampre) @ 9min 41sec
  58. Wim Vansenvenant (Predictor-Lotto) @ 9min 43sec
  59. Lorenzo Bernucci (T-Mobile) s.t.
  60. Roy Sentjens (Predictor-Lotto) @ 9min 45sec
  61. Alessandro Ballan (Lampre) @ 9min 52sec
  62. Yohann Gène (Bouygues Telecom) @ 12min 21sec
  63. Iban Iriondo (Euskaltel) s.t.
  64. Kasper Klostergaard (CSC) s.t.
  65. Bernhard Eisel (T-Mobile) s.t.
  66. Max Van Heeswijk (Rabobank) s.t.
  67. Grégory Rast (Astana) s.t.
  68. Bastiaan Giling (Wiesenhof-Felt) s.t.
  69. Raul Alarcon (Saunier Duval) @ 12min 22sec
  70. Servais Knaven (T-Mobile) @ 16min 22sec
  71. Fabio Sabatini (Milram) s.t.
  72. Maarten Tjallingii (Skil-Shimano) s.t.
  73. Wouter Weylandt (Quick Step) @ 16min 23sec
  74. Niki Terpstra (Milram) @ 16min 41sec
  75. Raivis Belohvosciks (Saunier Duval) s.t.
  76. Steven Caethoven (Chocolade Jacques) @ 16min 43sec
  77. Christophe Laurent (Credit Agricole) s.t.
  78. Maarten Den Bakker (Skil-Shimano) s.t.
  79. Markel Irizar (Euskaltel) @ 16min 44sec
  80. Alessandro Cortinovis (Milram) s.t.
  81. Koldo Fernandez (Euskaltel) @ 16min 48sec
  82. Mathieu Heijboer (Cofidis) @ 16min 49sec
  83. Andreas Klier (T-Mobile) @ 16min 56sec
  84. Tristan Valentin (Cofidis) @ 17min 43sec
  85. Pedro Horillo (Rabobank) @ 18min 25sec
  86. Carlo Westphal (Gerolsteiner) @ 19min 17sec
  87. Wouter Van Mechelen (Landbouwkrediet) @ 20min 37sec
  88. Tom Stamsnijder (Gerolsteiner) @ 20min 57sec
  89. Erki Putsep (Bouygues Telecom) @ 20min 58sec
  90. Alessandro Vanotti (Liquigas) @ 27min 43sec
  91. Jan Kuyckx (Landbouwkrediet) @ 28min 33sec
  92. Johan Van Summeren (Predictor-Lotto) @ 31min 34sec
  93. Alexandre Usov (Ag2r) @ 34min 33sec
  94. Imanol Erviti (Caisse d'Epargne) s.t.
  95. Clément Lhotellerie (Skil-Shimano) s.t.
  96. Evert Verbist (Chocolade Jacques) @ 34min 34sec


Stuart O'Grady wins Paris-Roubaix

Stuart O'Grady wins 2006 Paris-Roubaix

Stoart O'Grady on the Roubaix velodrome

O'Grady finishing his laps in the velodrome

Stuart  O'Grady wins Paris-Roubaix

Another shot of O'Grady on the Roubaix velodrome

Juan Anotnio Flecha wins the field sprint for second

Juan Antonio Flecha wins the field sprint for second

Arenberg forest

Arenberg Forest

Tom Boonen

Tom Boonen

Stijn Devolder

Stijn Devolder

Lars Michaelsen leads Fabian Cancellara

Lars Michaelsen leads Fabian Cancellara

Stuart O'Grady leads the winning break

O'Grady leads the winning break.

A vertical panorama of Paris-Roubaix

The pack makes its way

Racers and windmill

The obligatory windmill shot

O'Grady at the front

Again, O'Grady at the front

Kevin van Impe

Kevin van Impe

Peloton on cobbles

When it wet, there's mud. When it's dry there's choking dust.

Pack on cobbles

No one looks very happy..

 Steffen Wesemann, Stuart O'grady and Fabian Cancellara

That should be Steffen Wesemann on the right with O'Grady leading and Cancellara on his wheel