BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling historyBikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history
Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2006 Paris - Roubaix (Pro Tour)

104th edition: Sunday, April 9, 2006

Complete results, race story and photos

Podium history of Paris-Roubaix | 2005 edition | 2007 edition

Dirty Feet: Early days of the Tour de France

Les Woodland's book Dirty Feet: How the Great Unwashed Created the Tour de France is available as an audiobook here. For the print and Kindle eBook versions, just click on the Amazon link on the right.

The race:

The 2006 Paris-Roubaix was 259 kilometers long and raced at an average speed of 42.239 km/hr

There were 27 sections of pavé totalling 52.7 km. The first section came at kilometer 98.

There were 195 starters and 112 classified finishers

The race was ridden very fast, finishing 15 minutes ahead of the organizers fastest projections.

Fabian Cancellara exited the Carrefour de l'Arbre cobbled sector (19 kms to go) alone with a 30-second gap on his chasers. Cancellara went over railroad tracks (10 km to go) just before the level crossing closed. Peter van Petegem, Vladimir Gusev and Leif Hoste went through the crossing with the lights flashing and were disqualified. Cancellara came into the velodrome with nearly 2 minutes in hand.

George Hincapie's aluminum steering tube broke with 45 km to go.


find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel

Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Content continues below the ads

Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames

Complete Results:

  1. Fabian Cancellara (CSC) 6hr 7min 54sec.
  2. Paris–Roubaix: The Inside Story
  3. Tom Boonen (Quick Step) @ 1min 49sec
  4. Alessandro Ballan (Lampre) s.t.
  5. Juan Antonio Flecha (Rabobank) s.t.
  6. Bernhard Eisel (FDJ) @ 3min 25sec
  7. Stefen Wesemann (T-Mobile) 5min 35sec
  8. Frédéric Guesdon (FDJ) 6min 31sec
  9. Bert Roesems (Davitamon-Lotto) 6min 44sec
  10. Christophe Mengin (FDJ) s.t.
  11. Staf Schierlinckx (Cofidis) 6min 45sec
  12. Pedro Horillo (Rabobank) @ 6min 49sec
  13. Erik Zabel (Milram) s.t.
  14. Steven De Jongh (Quick Step) s.t.
  15. Leon Van Bon (Davitamon-Lotto) s.t.
  16. Filippo Pozzato (Quick Step) s.t.
  17. Aart Vierhouten (Skil-Shimano) s.t.
  18. Baden Cooke (Unibet) s.t.
  19. Martin Elmiger (Phonak) s.t.
  20. Lars Michaelsen (CSC) s.t.
  21. Marco Serpellini (Unibet) s.t.
  22. Anthony Geslin (Bouygues Telecom) s.t.
  23. Marcus Burghardt (T-Mobile) s.t.
  24. Mathew Hayman (Rabobank) s.t.
  25. Roger Hammond (Discovery) s.t.
  26. Jimmy Casper (Cofidis) s.t.
  27. Kurt-Asle Arvesen (CSC) s.t.
  28. Enrico Poitschke (Milram) s.t.
  29. Henk Vogels (Davitamon-Lotto) s.t.
  30. Arnaud Labbe (Bouygues Telecom) s.t.
  31. Ralf Grabsch (Milram) s.t.
  32. Allan Johansen (CSC) s.t.
  33. Nico Mattan (Davitamon-Lotto) s.t.
  34. Jeremy Hunt (Unibet) s.t.
  35. Marco Milesi (Liquigas) s.t.
  36. Kevin Hulsmans (Quick Step) s.t.
  37. Nicolas Portal (Caisse d'Epargne) s.t.
  38. Marc Wauters (Rabobank) s.t.
  39. Andy Flickinger (Bouygues Telecom) s.t.
  40. Christophe Laurent (Agritubel) s.t.
  41. Frank Hoj (Gerolsteiner) s.t.
  42. Aivaras Baranauskas (Agritubel) s.t.
  43. Andreas Klier (T-Mobile) s.t.
  44. Marcus Ljungqvist (CSC) s.t.
  45. Servais Knaven (Quick Step) s.t.
  46. Alessandro Cortinovis (Milram) s.t.
  47. Martin Muller (Milram) s.t.
  48. Jean-Patrick Nazon (Ag2r) s.t.
  49. Jimmy Engoulvent (Credit Agricole) s.t.
  50. Bradley Wiggins (Cofidis) s.t.
  51. Imanol Erviti (Caisse d'Epargne) s.t.
  52. Vicente Garcia Acosta (Caisse d'Epargne) s.t.
  53. Wilfried Cretskens (Quck Step) s.t.
  54. Cédric Coutouly (Agritubel) s.t.
  55. Wim Vansevenant (Davitamon-Lotto) s.t.
  56. Paolo Fornaciari (Lampre) s.t.
  57. Enrico Franzoi (Lampre) s.t.
  58. Nick Nuyens (Quick Step) s.t.
  59. Sébastien Hinault (Credit Agricole) s.t.
  60. Kevin Van Impe (Quick Step) s.t.
  61. Marc De Maar (Rabobank) @ 7min 24sec
  62. Gert Steegmans (Davitamon-Lotto) @ 9min 32sec
  63. Laszlo Bordrogi (Credit Agricole) @ 10min 53sec
  64. Jan Boven (Rabobank) @ 11min 18sec
  65. Tomas Vaitkus (Ag2r) @ 13min 13sec
  66. Sebastian Langeveld (Skil-Shimano) @ 15min 58sec
  67. Matthew Wilson (Unibet) s.t.
  68. Vicente Reynes (Caisse d'Epargne) @ 16min 44sec
  69. David Kopp (Gerolsteiner) @ 19min 7sec
  70. Robert Hunter (Phonak) @ 19min 20sec
  71. Gustav Larsson (FDJ) s.t.
  72. Erki Putsep (Ag2r) s.t.
  73. Yuri Metlushenko (LPR) s.t.
  74. Heinrich Haussler (Gerolsteiner) s.t.
  75. Matthew White (Discovery) s.t.
  76. William Bonnet (Credit Agricole) s.t.
  77. Luciano Pagliarini (Saunier Duval) s.t.
  78. Koen De Kort (Liberty Seguros) s.t.
  79. Peter Wrolich (Gerolsteiner) s.t.
  80. Aaron Kemps (Liberty Seguros) s.t.
  81. Koldo Fernandez (Euskaltel) s.t.
  82. Piet Rooijakkers (Skil-Shimano) s.t.
  83. Hervé Duclos-Lassalle (Cofidis) s.t.
  84. Sjef De Wilde (Landbouwkrediet) s.t.
  85. Christophe Agnolutto (Agritubel) s.t.
  86. Florent Brard (Caisse d'Epargne) s.t.
  87. Ludovic Auger (FDJ) s.t.
  88. Andoni Aranaga (Euskaltel) s.t.
  89. Rony Martias (Bouygues Telecom) s.t.
  90. Mathieu Claude (Bourgues Telecom) s.t.
  91. Maarten Tjallingii (Skil-Shimano) s.t.
  92. Markel Irizar (Euskaltel) s.t.
  93. Kevin Neyrinck (Landbouwkrediet) s.t.
  94. Mauro Da Dalto (Liquigas) s.t.
  95. Stéphane Berges (Agritubel) s.t.
  96. Franck Renier (Bouygues Telecom) s.t.
  97. Tristam Valentin (Cofidis) s.t.
  98. Bas Giling (T-Mobile) s.t.
  99. Laurent Mangel (Ag2r) s.t.
  100. Paul Martens (Skil-Shimano) s.t.
  101. André Korff (T-Mobile) s.t.
  102. Gilles Canouet (Agritubel) s.t.
  103. Joseba Zubeldia (Euskaltel) @ 19min 32sec
  104. Mikhaylo KKhalilov (LPR) s.t.
  105. Dimitri Konyshev (LPR) @ 19min 36sec
  106. Rik Reinerink (Skil-Shimano) @ 19min 38sec
  107. Jurgen Van Loocke (Landbouwkrediet) s.t.
  108. Daniele Righi (Lampre) s.t.
  109. Stefano Zanini (Liquigas) s.t.
  110. Matthé Pronk (Unibet) @ 30min 56sec
  111. Angel Gomez (Saunier Duval) s.t.
  112. Erwin Thijs (Unibet) @ 34min 34sec
  113. Aurélien Clerc (Phonak) s.t.
Disqualified for going through a closed level train crossing (the race was so fast, the riders arrived fifteen minutes ahead of the organizers' fastest projections), in the order and time they finished the race:
2. Leif Hoste (Discovery) @ 1min 19sec
3. Peter Van Petegem (Davitamon-Lotto) s.t.
4. Vladimir Gusev (Discovery) @ 1min 21sec

Content continues below the ads

Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach!

Fabian Cancellara wins 2006 Paris-Roubaix

Fabian Cancellara celebrates a well-earned victory


Fabian Cancellara on the cobbles, he's gone.

George Hincapie with broken fork

George Hinapie in misery. The aluminum steering tube on his bike broke.

The final selection before it all came apart. Boonen (in Rainbows) didn't have the legs.

Juan Anotnio Flecha leads Tom Boonen and Fabian Cancellara

Juan Antonio Flecha leads Tom Boonen and Fabian Cancellara

Tom Boonen

Tom Boonen

Leif Hoste

Leif Hoste



Another secotr of cobbles

The pack navigates another sector of cobbles.

PAck on cobbles

A beautiful day for a bicycle race in Hell.

Tom Boonen

Here Tom Boonen leads his group.

Steven de Jongh

Steven de Jongh doing his share of the work.

Andy Capelle has fallen

Andy Capelle has fallen.

Fabian Cancellara leads through the arenberg forest

Fabian Cancellara leads through the Arenberg forest.


Content continues below the ads

Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!