BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Dirty Feet South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

99th Paris - Roubaix (World Cup)
Sunday, April 15, 2001

Paris-Roubaix podium history | 2000 edition | 2002 Edition

254.5 km, France. 190 starters and 55 classified finishers

Complete results | Race synopsis

Servais Knaven wins the 2001 Paris-Roubaix

Servais Knaven wins.

Franco Ballerini says goodby

Franco Ballerini (32nd) says goodby.

The Race: Wet, muddy and windy. Domo-Farm Frites dominated the race, first by sending Wilfried Peeters up the road with 90 kilometers remaining. When he was caught with just 14 kilometers to go, other Domo riders started attacking and 4 kilometers later Servais Knaven was well and truly gone. Domo-Farm Frites took the top three places and top four out of five.

Complete Results:

  1. Servais Knaven (Domo-Farm Frites) 6hr 45min 0sec. 37.703 km/hr
  2. Johan Museeuw (Domo-Farm Frites) @ 34sec
  3. Romans Vainsteins (Domo-Farm Frites) @ 41sec
  4. George Hincapie (US Postal) s.t.
  5. Wilfried Peeters (Domo-Farm Frites) s.t.
  6. Ludo Dierckxsens (Lampre) s.t.
  7. Steffen Wesemann (Telekom) s.t.
  8. Andrei Tchmil (Lotto-Adecco) @ 2min 35sec
  9. Chris Peers (Cofidis) s.t.
  10. Rolf Sorensen (CSC) @ 2min 59sec
  11. Dario Pieri (Saeco) @ 3min 7sec
  12. Maximilian Sciandri (Lampre) @ 3min 17sec
  13. Nico Mattan (Cofidis) s.t.
  14. Leon Van Bon (Mercury-Viatel) s.t.
  15. Gianluca Bortolami (Tacconi Sport) @ 7min 57sec
  16. Rolf Aldag (Telekom) s.t.
  17. Christophe Mengin (FDJ) s.t.
  18. Denis Zanette (Liquigas) s.t.
  19. Arvis Piziks (CSC) s.t.
  20. Enrico Cassani (Domo-Farm Frites) s.t.
  21. Christophe Agnolutto (Ag2r) s.t.
  22. Hendrik Van Dyck (Lotto-Adecco) s.t.
  23. Hans De Clercq (Lotto-Adecco) s.t.
  24. Peter Van Petegem (Mercury-Viatel) s.t.
  25. Franck Pencole (Big Mat-Auber 93) @ 8min 3sec
  26. Frédéric Guesdon (FDJ) s.t.
  27. Andrea Tafi (Mapei) s.t.
  28. Matthé Pronk (Rabobank) s.t.
  29. Nicola Loda (Fassa Bortolo) s.t.
  30. Frank Hoj (Coast) s.t.
  31. Aart Vierhouten (Rabobank) @ 8min 9sec
  32. Franco Ballerini (Mapei) @ 8min 13sec
  33. Nicolay Bo Larsen (CSC) @ 8min 16sec
  34. Marco Milesi (Domo-Farm Frites) @ 8min 40sec
  35. Paul Van Hyfte (Lotto-Adecco) @ 10min 25sec
  36. Koen Beeckman (CSC) s.t.
  37. Karsten Kroon (Rabobank) s.t.
  38. Florent Brard (Festina) @ 12min 28sec
  39. Jean-Michel Tessier (Cofidis) @ 12min 44sec
  40. Jens Voigt (Credit Agricole) s.t.
  41. Sven Nijs (Rabobank) @ 14min 46sec
  42. Bart Leysen (Mapei) @ 19min 56sec
  43. Damien Nazon (Bonjour) s.t.
  44. Gerben Lowik (Rabobank) s.t.
  45. Benoit Joachim (US Postal) @ 20min 21sec
  46. Steven De Jongh (Rabobank) @ 22min 52sec
  47. Johan Verstrepen (Lampre) s.t.
  48. Wilfried Cretskens (Domo-Farm Frites) s.t.
  49. Mathew Hayman (Rabobank) s.t.
  50. Wim Vansevenant (Mercury-Viatel) s.t.
  51. Coen Boerman (Rabobank) s.t.
  52. Sylvain Chavanel (Bonjour) s.t.
  53. Ludovic Auger (Big Mat-auber 93) s.t.
  54. Plamen Stainov (Mercury-Viatel) @ 38min 9sec
  55. Alexandre Chouffe (Big Mat-Auber 93) s.t.