BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Dirty Feet South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

Paris - Roubaix (World Cup)

98th edition: Sunday April 9, 2000

Paris-Roubaix podium history | 1999 edition | 2001 edition

273 km. 25 sectors of cobbles totaling 50.2 km.

178 starters, 66 classified finishers. 13 riders finished outside the time cutoff.

Johan Museeuw wins 2000 Paris-Roubaix

Johan Museeuw and his repaired knee win the 2000 Paris-Roubaix.

The Race: With about 60 kilometers remaining Johan Museeuw left the front group with Frankie Andreu on his wheel. The pair passed the lone man in front, Max van Heeswijk. At the Ennetières sector of cobbles Museeuw went off alone and though he was tiring, entered the velodrome with enough of gap to win his second Paris-Roubaix.

Complete Results:

  1. Johan Museeuw (Mapei) 6hr 47min 0sec. 40.172 km/hr
  2. Peter Van Petegem (Farm Frites) @ 15sec
  3. Erik Zabel (Telekom) s.t.
  4. Tristan Hoffman (Memory Card) s.t.
  5. Stefano Zanini (Mapei) s.t.
  6. George Hincapie (US Postal) s.t.
  7. Marc Wauters (Rabobank) s.t.
  8. Franco Ballerini (Lampre) s.t.
  9. Steffen Wesemann (Telekom) @ 21sec
  10. Andrea Tafi (Mapei) @ 1min 18sec
  11. Wilfried Peeters (Mapei) @ 1min 38sec
  12. Servais Knaven (Farm Frites) s.t.
  13. Marco Serpellini (Lampre) s.t.
  14. Romans Vainsteins (Vini Caldirola) s.t.
  15. Zbigniew Spruch (Lampre) s.t.
  16. Viatcheslav Ekimov (US Postal) s.t.
  17. Frederic Guesdon (FDJ) s.t.
  18. Marco Milesi (Vini Caldirola) s.t.
  19. Magnus Backstedt (Creddit Agricole) @ 2min 8sec
  20. Frankie Andreu (US Postal) @ 3min 15sec
  21. Tom Steels (Mapei) @ 3min 17sec
  22. Lars Michaelsen (FDJ) s.t.
  23. Leon Van Bon (Rabobank) s.t.
  24. Andrei Tchmil (Lotto-Adecco) s.t.
  25. Dmitri Konyshev (Fassa Bortolo) s.t.
  26. Christophe Mengin (FDJ) s.t.
  27. Frank Hoj (FDJ) s.t.
  28. Daniele Nardello (Mapei) @ 3min 22sec
  29. Peter Farazijn (Cofidis) @ 4min 18sec
  30. Koen Beeckman (Lotto-Adecco) @ 4min 26sec
  31. Jacky Durand (Lotto-Adecco) @ 4min 30sec
  32. Rolf Aldag (Telekom) s.t.
  33. Francis Moreau (Cofidis) s.t.
  34. Jaan Kirsipuu (Ag2r) s.t.
  35. Max Van Heeswijk (Mapei) s.t.
  36. Kai Hundertmarck (Telekom) s.t.
  37. Dario pieri (Saeco) @ 5min 24sec
  38. Aart Vierhouten (Rabobank) @ 5min 44sec
  39. Robert Hunter (Lampre) @ 8min 7sec
  40. Fabio Baldato (Fassa Bortolo) s.t.
  41. Rolf Sorensen (Rabobank) @ 8min 8sec
  42. Cédric Vasseur (US Postal) s.t.
  43. Jo Planckaert (Cofidis) s.t.
  44. Geert Van Bondt (Farm Frites) @ 8min 16sec
  45. Thierry Marichal (Lotto-Adecco) @ 9min 38sec
  46. Danilo Hondo (Telekom) @ 10min 52sec
  47. Denis Zanette (Liquigas) s.t.
  48. Nicola Loda (Fassa Bortolo) s.t.
  49. Steven Kleynen (Farm Frites) s.t.
  50. Lauri Aus (Ag2r) s.t.
  51. Guillaume Auger (Big Mat-Auber 93) s.t.
  52. Bruno Thibout (Jean Delatour) s.t.
  53. Ruben Galvan (Kelme) s.t.
  54. Arvis Piziks (Memorycard) s.t.
  55. Rossano Brasi (Polti) s.t.
  56. Gianuca Bortolami (Vini Caldirola) s.t.
  57. Emmanuel Magnien (FDJ) s.t.
  58. Bart Leysen (Mapei) s.t.
  59. Johan Verstrepen (Lampre) s.t.
  60. Andreas Klier (Farm Frites) s.t.
  61. Matthé Pronk (Rabobank) @ 14min 92sec
  62. thierry gouvenou (Big Mat-Auber 93) @ 19min 30sec
  63. Thor Hushovd (Credit Agricole) s.t.
  64. Franck Perque (FDJ) s.t.
  65. Mathew Hayman (Rabobank) s.t.
  66. Fabian De Waele (Lotto-Adecco) s.t.