BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Dirty Feet South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2002 Paris - Roubaix (World Cup Round 3)

100th edition: Sunday, April 14, 2002

Paris-Roubaix podium history | 2001 edition | 2003 edition
Complete results | Live updates | Race Map | Pavé sectors

261 kilometers. 26 sections of pave totaling 49.1 km (listed at the bottom of this page).

190 starters, 57 finishers, 41 classified finishers (16 finished after the 5% time cutoff

Johan Museeuw wins the 2002 Paris-Roubaix

Johan Museeuw wins

The race: Wet, windy, slippery and muddy. At kilometer 220, the Merignies cobble sector, Johan Museeuw attacked the small front group taking neo-pro Tom Boonen and George Hincapie. Museeuw quickly left his companions behind to solo into the Roubaix velodrome for his third Paris-Roubaix victory.

Complete Results:

  1. Johan Museeuw (Domo-Farm Frites) 6hr 39min 8sec. All alone on the velodrome and covered in mud.
  2. Steffen Wesemann (Telekom) beats Boonen in sprint for 2nd after making Boonen lead it out. @ 3min 4sec
  3. Tom Boonen (US Postal) @ 3min 8sec
  4. Tristan Hoffman (CSC Tiscali) @ 4min 2sec
  5. Lars Michaelson (Coast) s.t.
  6. George Hincapie (US Postal) s.t.
  7. Thierry Gouvenou (Big Mat-Auber 93) s.t.
  8. Max Van Heeswijk (Domo) s.t.
  9. Nico Mattan (Cofidis) s.t.
  10. Enrico Cassanni (Domo) s.t.
  11. Raphael Schweda (Coast) @ 4min 9sec
  12. Hans De Clercq (Lotto-Adecco) @ 8min 9sec
  13. Servais Knaven (Domo) s.t.
  14. Frank Hoj (Coast) s.t.
  15. Zbigniew Spruch (Lampre) s.t.
  16. Maximilian Sciandri (Lampre) @ 8min 14sec
  17. Andrea Tafi (Mapei) @ 9min 11sec
  18. Aart Vierhouten (Lotto-Adecco) s.t.
  19. Tom Flamming (Cofidis) s.t.
  20. Marc Wauters (Rabobank) s.t.
  21. Wilfried Cretskens (Domo-Farm Frites) s.t.
  22. Marco Milesi (Domo-Farm-Frites) @ 9min 17sec
  23. Peter Wrolich (Gerolsteiner) s.t.
  24. Jan Boven (Rabobank) s.t.
  25. Rolf Aldag (Telekom) s.t.
  26. Erik Zabel (Telekom) @ 9min 59sec
  27. Fred Rodriguez (Domo-Farm Frites) @ 14min 0sec
  28. Matthé Pronk (Rabobank) @ 15min 18sec
  29. Denis Zanette (Fassa Bortolo) @ 15min 21sec
  30. Jean-Michel Tessier (Cofidis) s.t.
  31. Torsten Nitsche (Saeco) s.t.
  32. Serguei Ivanov (Fassa Bortolo) s.t.
  33. Thor Hushovd (Credit Agricole) @ 16min 38sec
  34. Gorik Gardeyn (Lotto-Adecco) @ 15min 15sec
  35. Ludovic Capelle (Ag2r) @ 17min 48sec
  36. Sven Nijs (Rabobank) s.t.
  37. Alexei Sivajov (Bigmat-Auber 93) s.t.
  38. Inigo Landaluze (Euskaltel) s.t.
  39. Pedro Horillo (Mapei) s.t.
  40. Robert Hunter (Mapei) s.t.
  41. Ludovic Auger (Bigmat-Auber 93) s.t.

Live updates:

Weather: Upon entering the first pavé sections, rain and headwind/crosswind.

10 k to go. Wesemann appears to have dropped Hincapie and has Boonen in his sights. Museeuw is 2 1/2 minutes down the road, the race is his.

Pavé section 3: Hincapie has crashed into a drainage ditch! Boonen continues. Museeuw at 2min over Boonen. Wesemann bridges up to Hincapie, they are at 2min 15sec.

Pavé section 5: Museeuw has extended his lead to 50 seconds.

30 km to go: Posties Boonen and Hincapie have pulled away from the chase group and are working together to bring back Museeuw, who is 24 seconds down the road. The rest of the break is 40 seconds behind.

Pavé sector 8: Bam! Museeuw put the hammer down. Hard! Out of the saddle, huge effort. Big gap! Hincapie and Michaelson try to get things organized.

44 Km to go. The Museeuw-Hincapie group has caught the leaders. In the process, they spit out Domo riders Rodriguez and Knaven. It's now 12 riders off the front. I'm sure the real fireworks work start as the strong men try to reduce the size of the group.

After sector 11: In the lead:Cassani, Van Heeswijk, Bodrogi, De Clercq, Mattan, Schweda, Eriksen, Hofman and Boonen. Chasing at under 50 seconds: a group with Knaven, Museeuw, US Champion Rodriguez & Hincapie. Domo has 5 riders off the front.

65 km to go: Boonen, De Clerq, Mattan in lead group of 7. Knaven has bridged up to Museeuw-Hincapie chase group which has cut the gap to 55sec.

80 km to go: Museeuw-Hincapie break is now within 2 min 15 seconds of the lead group.

Out of the Arenberg: a small group with Hincapie, Museeuw and Wesemann have detached themselves from the peloton. They have closed to within 3 minutes of the break.

100 km to go. About to enter the Arenberg. Cobbles are very, very slippery. 14 riders left in break, only 1 Mapei (Bodrogi) left. Posties working hard in the peloton. Gap is down to 3min 51sec.

2:05 local time, about 120 km to go. 16 riders have 1 4 1/2 minute lead on the pack. This is real, with Hunter, De Clercq, Mattan, Hondo, Klier, Cassani, Van Heeswijk and Bodrogi in the break.

With 4 pavé sections completed, a break of about 12 riders with Domo and Mapei well represented are away by 4 1/2 minutes. Postal's only rider in the break is Boonen.

Race map

Paris-Roubaix 2002 route map

Pavé sections:

#26, Km 99.8: TROISVILLES, 2200 meters
#25, Km 106.3: VIESLY, 1800 meters
#24, Km 108.5: QUIEVY, 3700 meters
#23, Km 113.7: QUIEVY à SAINT-PYTHON, 1500 meters
#22, Km 121.9: HAUSSY, 900 meters
#21, Km 128.6: SAULZOIR, 1200 meters
#20, Km 132.9: VERCHAIN-MAUGRE à QUERENAING, 1600 meters
#19, Km 136: MAING, 2500 meters
#18, Km 139.2: MONCHAUX SUR ECAILLON, 1600 meters
#17, Km 145.8: HASPRES, 1700 meters
#16, Km 158.3: HAVELUY, 2500 meters
#15, Km 166.5: FORET D'ARENBERG,2400 meters
#14, Km 173.2: WALLERS, 1000 meters
#13, Km 179.5: HORNAING à WANDIGNIES-HAMAGE, 3700 meters
#12, Km 186.9: WARLAING à BRILLON, 2400 meters, Km 190.4, TILLOY à SARS et ROSIERES 2400 meters
#11, Km 201.5: ORCHIES, 1700 meters
#10, Km 207.6: AUCHY-LEZ-ORCHIES à BERSEE, 2600 meters
#9, Km 213.2: MONS EN PEVELE, 1000 meters
#8, Km 219.8: MERIGNIES, 700 meters
#7, Km 223 PONT-THIBAUT, 1400 meters
#6, Km 229: LE MOULIN DE VERTAIN , 500 meters
#5, Km 235.8 5: CYSOING, 1000 meters, Km 237.1; BOURGHELLES, 400 meters
#4, Km 242: CAMPHIN-EN-PEVELE, 1800 meters
#3, Km 244.8: LE CARREFOUR DE L'ARBRE, 2100 meters, Km 247,0 GRUSON, 1100 meters
#2, Km 253.6: HEM, 1400 meters
#1, Km 260: ROUBAIX , 300 meters