BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Dirty Feet South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1968 Paris - Roubaix

66th edition: Sunday, April 7, 1968

Paris-Roubaix podium history | 1969 edition | 1967 edition

262 km. 136 starters, 44 classified finishers

Eddy Merckx

Eddy Merckx

The Race: The necessary cobbled sectors were being paved over. The 1968 course, with 56.6 kilometers of stone roads, was the successful result of a search for surviving stretches of pavé. This was the first year to use the Wallers-Arenberg sector, for example. It was not long after Wallers-Arenberg that Eddy Merckx's attacks thinned the lead group. Eventually it was down to Edward Sels, Herman van Springel and Merckx. Sels flatted and when van Springel and Merckx came onto the Roubaix velodrome it was no contest. Merckx had won his first Paris-Roubaix.

Complete Results:

  1. Eddy Merckx (Faema) 7hr 9min 26sec. 36.61 km/hr
  2. Herman van Springel (Mann-Grundig) s.t.
  3. Walter Godefroot (Flandria-De Clerck-Krüger) @ 1min 37sec
  4. Edward Sels (Bic) @ 3min 11sec
  5. Victor van Schil (Faema) s.t.
  6. Raymond Poulidor (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) @ 5min 5sec
  7. Henk Nijdam (Peugeot-BP-Michelin) @ 7min 29sec
  8. Jan Janssen (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) @ 7min 46sec
  9. Guido Reybrouck (Faema) @ 8min 3sec
  10. Frans Melckenbeeck (Pull Over Centrale-Motte-Novy) s.t.
  11. Frans Brands (Smiths) s.t.
  12. Cees Zoontjens (Caballero) s.t.
  13. Jozef Huysmans (Mann-Grundig) s.t.
  14. Wilfried Peffgen (Salvarani) s.t.
  15. Michel Grain (Bic) s.t.
  16. Barry Hoban (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  17. Roger Cooreman (Mann-Grundig) s.t.
  18. Jean-Pierre Genêt (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  19. Jean Jourden (Frimatic-Wolber-De Gribaldy) s.t.
  20. Felice Gimondi (Salvarani) s.t.
  21. Hugo Hellemans (Mann-Grundig) s.t.
  22. Walter Boucquet (Pull Over Centrale-Motte-Novy) s.t.
  23. Raymond Riotte (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  24. Jean Stablinski (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  25. Willy Bocklant (Pull Over Centrale-Motte-Novy) @ 8min 55sec
  26. Romain De Loof (Flandria-De Clerck-Krüger) @ 10min 47sec
  27. Adriano Durante (Max Meyer) @ 16min 54sec
  28. Paul Lemeteyer (Bic) @ 18min 58sec
  29. Roger Swerts (Faema) s.t.
  30. Georges Pintens (Mann-Grundig) s.t.
  31. Julien Stevens (Smiths) @ 21min 15sec
  32. André Planckaert (Goldor-Gerka) s.t.
  33. Fernand Hermie (Goldor-Gerka) @ 21min 33sec
  34. Roberto Poggiali (Salavarani) s.t.
  35. Tommaso De Pra (Salvarani) s.t.
  36. Eric Leman (Flandria-De Clerck - Krüger) @ 25min 15sec
  37. René Corthout (Smiths) s.t.
  38. Raymond Steegmans (Goldor-Gerka) @ 30min 12sec
  39. Bernard Guyot (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.
  40. José Samyn (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.
  41. Herman Decan (Flandria-De Clerck - Krüger) s.t.
  42. Pietro Guerra (Salvarani) @ 40min 57sec
  43. Gilbert Verlinde (Goldor-Gerka) @ 41min 37sec
  44. Philippe Crépel (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.