BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Dirty Feet South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1969 Paris - Roubaix

67th edition: Sunday, April 13, 1969

Paris-Roubaix podium history | 1970 edition | 1968 edition

264 km. 154 starters, 35 classified finishers

Walter Godefroot

Walter Godefroot

The Race: The Wallers-Arenberg forest left 28 riders in the lead. With sixty kilometers to go Walter Godefroot attacked, creating the winning selection of seven riders that was eventually joined by Eric Leman, making four Flandria riders in the small group. Then Godefroot, who was enjoying terrific form that day, escaped. As he rode to victory in Roubaix he kept increasing his lead.

Complete Results:

  1. Walter Godefroot (Flandria-De Clerck-Krüger) 6hr 46min 47sec. 39.00 km/hr
  2. Eddy Merckx (Faema) @ 2min 39sec
  3. Willy Vekemans (Goldor-Hertekamp-Gerka) s.t.
  4. Felice Gimondi (Salvarani) s.t.
  5. Roger de Vlaeminck (Flandria-De Clerck-Krüger) s.t.
  6. Cees Zoontjens (Caballero) @ 10min 24sec
  7. Cyrille Guimard (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) @ 10min 39sec
  8. Patrick Sercu (Faema) s.t.
  9. Willy Bocklant (Pull Over Centrale-Tasmanie-Novy) s.t.
  10. Barry Hoban (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  11. Edward Sels (Bic) s.t.
  12. Michele Dancelli (Molteni) s.t.
  13. Michael Wright (Bic) s.t.
  14. Rudi Altig (Salvarani) s.t.
  15. Vittorio Adorni (SCIC) s.t.
  16. Jozef Huysmans (Dr. Mann-Grundig) s.t.
  17. Marino Basso (Molteni) s.t.
  18. José Catieau (Sonolor-Lejeune) s.t.
  19. Joseph Schoeters (Peugeot-BP-Michelin) s.t.
  20. Jacques de Boever (Flandria-De Clerck-Krüger) s.t.
  21. Mario Anni (Molteni) s.t.
  22. Rik van Looy (Willem II-Gazelle) s.t.
  23. Jean Jourden (Frimatic-Viva-De Gribaldy) s.t.
  24. Arturo Pecchielan (Molteni) s.t.
  25. Léo Duyndam (Caballero) @ 23min 7sec
  26. Hugo Hellemans (Dr. Mann-Grundig) s.t.
  27. Robert Lelangue (Goldor-Hertekamp-Gerka) @ 23min 42sec
  28. Raphaël Van Braune (Etalo-Siriki-Ventura) @ 23min 58sec
  29. Dieter Puschel (G.B.C.) @ 37min 42sec
  30. Yvan Verbiest (Etalo-Siriki-Ventura) s.t.
  31. Alfons Scheys (Goldor-Hertekamp-Gerka) s.t.
  32. Herman Van Loo (Willem II-Gaxelle) s.t.
  33. Urbain de Brauwer (Etalo-Siriki-Ventura) s.t.
  34. Louis Pfenninger (Zimba Automatic-Mondia) s.t.
  35. Rolf Maurer (Zimba Automatic-Mondia) s.t.