BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Cycling's 50 Craziest Stories book South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us! CycleItalia cycling tours

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

Volta a la Comunitat Valenciana (2.1)

Winners, podium, distance, average speed

The Volta a la Comunitat Valenciana is a stage race with a venerable history, dating back to its first edition in 1929 (won by Salvador Cardona).

Since the last recession, the race has has been plagued with financial problems. The last edition until 2016 was run in 2008. Organizers tried to run the race in 2010 and 2011, but were unsuccessful.

Former racing pro Angel Casero tried to get the race going again in 2015, but was unsuccessful. But in 2016 the race found its legs.

It is currently an early season race, occupying a place on the February racing calender.


1st Place

2nd Place

3rd Place


Average Speed

2008 Ruben Plaza
19hr 54min 49sec
Manuel Vazquez
@ 5sec
Xavier Florencio
@ 21sec
826.5 km 41.504
2009 - 2015 No race held
2016 Wouter Poels
14hr 15min 51sec
Luis Leon Sanchez
@ 46sec
Benat Intxausti
@ 56sec
599.7 km 42.042
2017 Nairo Quintana
15hr 21min 49sec
Ben Hermans
@ 13sec
Manuel Senni
@ 32sec
609 km 39.639