BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Dirty Feet South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1991 Paris - Roubaix

89th edition: Sunday, April 14, 1991

Paris-Roubaix podium history | 1992 edition | 1990 edition

266.5 km. 196 starters, 96 classified finishers.

The Race: At the Carrefour de l'Arbre sector of cobbles, with about 16 kilometers to go, there were five riders in the front group. At this point Marc Madiot launched his attack, just as he had in 1985 and with the same successful outcome. Madiot had won his second Paris-Roubaix.

Complete Results:

  1. Marc Madiot (RMO) 7hr 8min 19sec. 37.332 km/hr
  2. Jean-Claude Colotti (Tonton Tapis) @ 1min 7sec
  3. Carlo Bomans (Weinmann) s.t.
  4. Steve Bauer (Motorola) s.t.
  5. Franco Ballerini (Del Tongo) s.t.
  6. Wilfried Peeters (Histor-Sigma) s.t.
  7. Nico Verhoeven (PDM) s.t.
  8. Marc Sergeant (Panasonic) s.t.
  9. Olaf Ludwig (Panasonic) @ 1min 41sec
  10. Hendrik Redant (Lotto) s.t.
  11. John Talen (PDM) s.t.
  12. Gilbert Duclos-Lasselle (Z) s.t.
  13. Peter De Clercq (Lotto) s.t.
  14. Guido Bontempi (Carrera Jeans) @ 2min 31sec
  15. Jean-Marie Wampers (Panasonic) s.t.
  16. Johan Museeuw (Lotto) @ 2min 39sec
  17. Edwig Van Hooydonck (Buckler) s.t.
  18. Laurent Jalabert (Toshiba) s.t.
  19. Rudy Dhaenens (Panasonic) s.t.
  20. Paul Haghedooren (SEFB-Saxon) s.t.
  21. Michel Vermote (RMO) s.t.
  22. Alan Peiper (Tulip Computers) s.t.
  23. Tom Cordes (PDM) s.t.
  24. Laurent Fignon (Castorama) s.t.
  25. Adri Van Der Poel (Tulip Computers) s.t.
  26. Philippe Louviot (Toshiba) @ 3min 21sec
  27. Dirk De Wolf (Tonton Tapis) s.t.
  28. Martial Gayant (Toshiba) s.t.
  29. Peter Pieters (Tulip Computers) @ 3min 52sec
  30. Jan Wijnants (SEFB-Saxon) s.t.
  31. Philippe Casado (Z) s.t.
  32. Uwe Raab (PDM) s.t.
  33. John Van Den Akker (PDM) s.t.
  34. Mario Cipollini (Del Tongo) @ 5min 23sec
  35. Eric Vanderaerden (Buckler) s.t.
  36. Charly Mottet (RMO) s.t.
  37. Stefan Joho (Weinmann) s.t.
  38. Francis Moreau (Tonton Tapis) s.t.
  39. Frédéric Moncassin (Castorama) s.t.
  40. Massimo Ghirotto (Carrera Jeans) s.t.
  41. Alain Van Den Bossche (TVM) s.t.
  42. Johan Devos (SEFB-Saxon) s.t.
  43. Jelle Nijdam (Buckler) s.t.
  44. Kurt Steinmann (Weinmann) s.t.
  45. Mauro Ribeiro (RMO)s.t.
  46. Heminio Diaz-Zabala (ONCE) s.t.
  47. Djamolidine Abdoujaparov (Carrera Jeans) s.t.
  48. Andy Bishop (Motorola) s.t.
  49. Andrei Tchmil (SEFB-Saxon) s.t.
  50. Eddy Planckaert (Panasonic) s.t.
  51. Rolf Sorensen (Ariostea) s.t.
  52. Sean Yates (Motorola) @ 7min 5sec
  53. Marc Bouillon (Tonton Tapis) @ 7min 48sec
  54. Jacques Van Der Poel (Tulip Computers) @ 7min 55sec
  55. Greg LeMond (Z) s.t.
  56. Remig Stumpf (Histor-Sigma) @ 9min 40sec
  57. Urs Freuler (Telekom) s.t.
  58. Valerio Piva (Ariostea) s.t.
  59. Rik Van Slycke (Lotto) s.t.
  60. Bjarne Riis (Castorama) s.t.
  61. Mario Scirea (Gatorade-Chateau d'Ax) s.t.
  62. Raimondo Vairetti (Selle Italia) s.t.
  63. Thomas Barth (TVM) s.t.
  64. Bart Leysen (Lotto) s.t.
  65. Jorg Muller (TVM) s.t.
  66. Christian Chaubet (Toshiba) s.t.
  67. Etienne De Wilde (Histor-Sigma) s.t.
  68. Thomas Wegmuller (Weinmann) s.t.
  69. Dirk Demol (Lotto) s.t.
  70. Eddy Schurer (TVM) s.t.
  71. Gerrit Solleveld (Buckler) s.t.
  72. Noel Segers (Buckler) s.t.
  73. Adrie Kools (Tulip Computers) s.t.
  74. Louis De Konig (Panasonic) s.t.
  75. Benjamin Van Itterbeeck (Histor-Sigma) s.t.
  76. Ludwig Willems (Weinmann) s.t.
  77. Andrea Tafi (Selle Italia) @ 17min 11sec
  78. Johnny Weltz (ONCE) s.t.
  79. Giuseppe Calcaterra (Gatorade-Chateau d'Ax) s.t.
  80. Dag-Otto Lauritzen (Motorola) s.t.
  81. Casimiro Moreda-Garcia (Clas) s.t.
  82. Marnix Lameire (SEFB-Saxon) s.t.
  83. Melchior Mauri (ONCE) s.t.
  84. Mario Kummer (PDM) s.t.
  85. Vicente Prado (Clas) s.t.
  86. Eros Poli (Del Tongo) s.t.
  87. Erwin Nijboer (Telekom) s.t.
  88. Michel Zanoli (Tulip Computers) s.t.
  89. Christian Henn (Carrera Jeans) @ 18min 28sec
  90. Wim Sels (Histor-Sigma) s.t.
  91. Pierre Dewailly (Histor-Sigma) @ 19min 40sec
  92. Jan Goessens (Weinmann) s.t.
  93. Maarten Den Bakker (PDM) @ 21min 11sec
  94. Gert Jakobs (PDM) s.t.
  95. Patrick Verschueren (Lotto) s.t.
  96. Gino De Backer (Tonton Tapis) s.t.