BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling historyBikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history
Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1990 Paris - Roubaix

88th edition: Sunday, April 8, 1990

Complete results

Paris-Roubaix podium history | 1991 edition | 1989 edition

Cycling's 50 Craziest Stories

Les Woodland's book Cycling's 50 Craziest Stories is available as an audiobook here. For the print and Kindle eBook versions, just click on the Amazon link on the right.

The Race:

The 1990 Paris-Roubaix was 265.5 km long and raced at an average speed of 34.855 km/hr

There were 186 starters and 92 classified finishers.

Eddy Planckaert attacked with nearly 95 kilometers remaining.

Over the next 60 kilometers six riders left an unmotivated peloton and bridged up to him.

The final sprint between Steve Bauer and Planckaert was so close it took the judges several minutes to study the finish photo before they could award the race to Planckaert.

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel

Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Content continues below the ads

Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames


Eddy Planckaert (left) and Steve Bauer approach the line in a near dead heat. Sirotti photo.

Eddy Planckaert just beat Steve Bauer

Eddy Planckaert just barely beats Steve Bauer. Sirotti photo

Content continues below the ads

Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach!

Complete Results:

  1. Eddy Planckaert (Panasonic) 7hr 37min 2sec
  2. Steve Bauer (7-Eleven) s.t.
  3. Edwig Van Hooydonck (Buckler) s.t.
  4. Martial Gayant (Toshiba) s.t.
  5. Jean-Marie Wampers (Panasonic) @ 3sec
  6. Gilbert Duclos-Lassalle (Z) s.t.
  7. Thomas Wegmuller (Weinmann) @ 7sec
  8. Adri Van der Poel (Weinmann) @ 10sec
  9. Rudy Dhaenens (PDM) s.t.
  10. John Talen (Panasonic) s.t.
  11. Kurt Van Keirsbulck (Isoglass) s.t.
  12. Johan Museeuw (Lotto) s.t.
  13. John Van den Akker (PDM) s.t.
  14. Joaquim Halupczok (Diana) @ 1min 24sec
  15. Urs Freuler (Panasonic) s.t.
  16. Olaf Ludwig (Panasonic) @ 1min 48sec
  17. Brian Holm (Histor-Sigma) s.t.
  18. Gilles Sanders (RMO) s.t.
  19. Franco Ballerini (Del Tongo) s.t.
  20. Henri Manders (Helvetia) s.t.
  21. Andreas Kappes (Toshiba) s.t.
  22. Per Pedersen (RMO s.t.
  23. Marc Van Orsouw (PDM) s.t.
  24. Soren Lilholt (Histor-Sigma) s.t.
  25. Jan Schur (Chateau d'Ax) s.t.
  26. Danny Lippens (Isoglass) s.t.
  27. Laurent Fignon (Castorama) s.t.
  28. Carlo Bomans (Weinmann) @ 4min 33sec
  29. Stefan Rackers s.t.
  30. Uwe Ampler (PDM) s.t.
  31. Rudy Rogiers (Isoglass) s.t.
  32. Remig Stumpf (Toshiba) s.t.
  33. Philippe Casado (Z) s.t.
  34. Philippe Louviot (Toshiba) s.t.
  35. Alain Van den Bossche (TVM) @ 4min 58sec
  36. Hendrik Redant (Lotto) s.t.
  37. Jorg Muller (TVM) @ 8min 27sec
  38. Rik Van Slycke (Histor-Sigma) s.t.
  39. Wilfried Peeters (Histor-Sigma) s.t.
  40. Marc Sergeant (Panasonic) s.t.
  41. Etienne De Wilde (Histor-Sigma) s.t.
  42. Guido Bontempi (Carrera Jeans) s.t.
  43. Giancarlo Perini (Carrera Jeans) @ 11min 25sec
  44. Jean-Claude Colotto (RMO) @ 11min 41sec
  45. Stefano Zanatta (Chateau d'Ax) s.t.
  46. Gerrit Solleveld (Buckler) s.t.
  47. Eric Vanderaerden (Buckler) s.t.
  48. Hansrudi Marki (Helvestia) s.t.
  49. Gilles Delion (Helvetia) s.t.
  50. François Lemarchand (Z) s.t.
  51. Herman Frison (Histor-Sigma) s.t.
  52. Oleg Iarochenko (Alfa-Lum) s.t.
  53. Rolf Sorensen (Ariostea) s.t.
  54. Christian Chaubet (Toshiba) s.t.
  55. Jan Goessens (Weinmann) s.t.
  56. Maurizio Fondriest (Del Tongo) s.t.
  57. Marcel Arntz (Stuttgart-Mercedes) s.t.
  58. Dirk De Wolf (PDM) s.t.
  59. Patrick Bol (TVM) s.t.
  60. Fabio Roscioli (Del Tongo) @ 13min 9sec
  61. Bob Roll (7-Eleven) @ 13min 48sec
  62. Claudio Chiappucci (Carrera Jeans) s.t.
  63. Victor Klimov (Alfa-Lum) s.t.
  64. Markus Schleicher (Stuttgart-Mercedes) s.t.
  65. Patrick Deneut (Lotto) s.t.
  66. Franky Pattyn (Isoglass) s.t.
  67. Erwin Nijboer (Stuttgart-Mercedes) s.t.
  68. Dean Woods (Stuttgart-Mercedes) s.t.
  69. Christian Lavainne (Castorama) s.t.
  70. Stephen Hodge (ONCE) s.t.
  71. Kurt Steinman s.t.
  72. Massimo Ghirotto (Carrera Jeans) @ 20min 34sec
  73. Zenon Jaskula (Diana) s.t.
  74. Karl Kalin (Frank-Toyo) s.t.
  75. Djamolidine Abdoujaparov (Alfa-Lum) s.t.
  76. Davide Bramati (Diana) s.t.
  77. Nathan Dahlberg (7-Eleven) @ 21min 34sec
  78. Peter Hondert (PDM) s.t.
  79. Luc Colijn (Clas) s.t.
  80. Marco Lietti (Ariostea) s.t.
  81. Sean Yates (7-Eleven) s.t.
  82. Frank Boucanville (Z) s.t.
  83. Mario Scirea (Chateau d'Ax) s.t.
  84. Stefan Joho (Ariostea) s.t.
  85. Luigi Bielli (Del Tongo) @ 36min 28sec
  86. Giovanni Fidanza (Chateau d'Ax) s.t.
  87. Antonio Zanini s.t.
  88. Mario Kummer (Chateau d'Ax) s.t.
  89. Luca Gelfi (Del Tongo) s.t.
  90. Franky Andreu (7-Eleven) s.t.
  91. Norman Alvis (7-Eleven) @ 40min 3sec
  92. John Tomac (7-Eleven) s.t.

Content continues below the ads

Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!