BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Dirty Feet South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1989 Paris - Roubaix

87th edition: Sunday, April 9, 1989

Paris-Roubaix podium history | 1990 edition | 1988 edition

265.5 km. 169 starters, 57 classified finishers.

Jean-Marie Wampers in 1981

Jean-Marie Wampers in 1981

The race: Earlier rain had left the course muddy and slippery. The winning break of six escaped with 60 kilometers to go. Dirk De Wolf left them 43 kilometers later. Jean-Marie Wampers bridged up to De Wolf with 9 kilometers to go and that was the race. Wampers was easily the faster of the two men on the Roubaix track

Complete Results:

  1. Jean-Marie Wampers (Panasonic) 6hr 46min 45sec. 39.164 km/hr
  2. Dirk De Wolf (Hitachi) s.t.
  3. Edwig Van Hooydonck (Superconfex) @ 59sec
  4. Gilbert Duclos-Lassalle (Z-Peugeot) s.t.
  5. Eddy Planckaert (AD Renting) s.t.
  6. Marc Madiot (Toshiba) s.t.
  7. Herman Frison (Histor-Sigma) @ 4min 27sec
  8. Jacques Hanegraaf (TVM) s.t.
  9. Urs Freuler (Panasonic) s.t.
  10. Johan Lammerts (AD Renting) s.t.
  11. Ludo Peeters (Caja Rural) s.t.
  12. Jan Wijnants (Hitachi) s.t.
  13. Jozef Lieckens (Hitachi) @ 5min 12sec
  14. Etienne De Wilde (Histor-Sigma) s.t.
  15. Sean Kelly (PDM) s.t.
  16. Ronny Van Holen (AD Renting) s.t.
  17. Nico Verhoeven (PDM) @ 5min 28sec
  18. Adri Van der Poel (Domex-Weinmann) s.t.
  19. Rudy Dhaenens (PDM) s.t.
  20. Jean-Philippe Van den Brande (TVM) s.t.
  21. Jan Goessens (Domex-Weinmann) s.t.
  22. Corné Van Rijen (Panasonic) s.t.
  23. Jörg Muller (PDM) @ 6min 6sec
  24. Roger Illegems (Histor-Sigma) s.t.
  25. Eric Vanderaerden (Panasonic) s.t.
  26. Dante Rezze (RMO) s.t.
  27. Jean-Claude Colotti (RMO) @ 12min 50sec
  28. Claudio Chiappucci (Carrera Jeans) s.t.
  29. Thierry Marie (Système U) s.t.
  30. Bruno Cenghialta (Ariostea) s.t.
  31. Gilles Sanders (RMO) s.t.
  32. Hendrik Redant (Lotto) s.t.
  33. Eric Guyot (Fagor) s.t.
  34. Franco Ballerini (Malvor) s.t.
  35. Carlo Bomans (Domex-Weinmann) s.t.
  36. Rudy Patry (Histor-Sigma) s.t.
  37. Bob Roll (7-Eleven) @ 12min 57sec
  38. Philippe Louviot (Z-Peugeot) @ 17min 31sec
  39. Rik Van Slycke (Histor-Sigma) s.t.
  40. Alfred Acherman (Domex-Weinmann) s.t.
  41. Wilfried Peeters (Histor-Sigma) s.t.
  42. Marco Bergamo (Del Tongo) s.t.
  43. Fabio Roscioli (Ariostea) s.t.
  44. Mauro Gianetti (Helvetia) s.t.
  45. Johannes Draaijer (PDM) s.t.
  46. Benjamin Van Itterbeeck (Lotto) s.t.
  47. Johan Capiot (TVM) s.t.
  48. Jacques Van der Poel (Domex-Weinmann) s.t.
  49. Rik Mannaerts (Lotto) @ 24min 21sec
  50. Thomas Wegmuller (Domex-Weinmann) s.t.
  51. Pello Ruiz-Cabestany (ONCE) @ 26min 56sec
  52. Koen Vekemans (Lotto) s.t.
  53. Vincent Lavenu (Fagor) s.t.
  54. Peter Hoondert (PDM) s.t.
  55. Michel Cornelisse (Panasonic) s.t.
  56. Jelle Nijdam (Superconfex) @ 32min 57sec
  57. Hans-Rudi Marki (Panasonic) s.t.