BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Dirty Feet South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1980 Paris - Roubaix

78th edition: Sunday, April 13, 1980

Paris-Roubaix podium history | 1981 edition | 1979 edition

264 km. 164 starters, 31 classified finishers

Francesco Moser in 1986

Francesco Moser in 1986

The Race: Sunny. Dietrich Thurau dropped the hammer when there were still 90 kilometers left to race. Sensing that the moment had arrived, René Bittinger, Francesco Moser, Gilbert Duclos-Lassalle and of course, Roger de Vlaeminck made contact with the fleeing German. Bittinger punctured soon thereafter. Then de Vlaeminck flatted, got going and then crashed. Duclos-Lassale fell while cornering on cobbles and began a furious chase of Thurau and Moser. Under Moser's unrelenting pressure, Thurau lost contact and was passed by Duclos-Lassale. Moser, Italian road champion, rolled into the Roubaix velodrome with almost two minutes in hand to win his third Paris-Roubaix and tie Octave Lapize, Gaston Rebry and Rik van Looy.

Complete Results:

  1. Francesco Moser (Sanson-Campagnolo) 6hr 7min 28sec. 43.105 km/hr
  2. Gilbert Duclos-Lassalle (Peugeot) @ 1min 48sec
  3. Dietrich Thurau (Puch-Campagnolo) @ 3min 30sec
  4. Bernard Hinault (Renault-Gitane) @ 6min 5sec
  5. Marc Demeyer (Ijsboerke) s.t.
  6. Fons de Wolf (Boule d'Or) s.t.
  7. Daniel Willems (Ijsboerke) s.t.
  8. William Tackaert (DAF Trucks) @ 8min 37sec
  9. Ludo Peeters (Ijsboerke) @ 9min 35sec
  10. Piet van Katwijk (TI-Raleigh) @ 10min 38sec
  11. Etienne Van der Helst (Safir-Ludo) s.t.
  12. Jean-Luc Vandenbroucke (La Redoute) s.t.
  13. Herman van Springel (Safir-Ludo) s.t.
  14. Pol Verschuere (Ijsboerke) s.t.
  15. Hennie Kuiper (Peugeot) s.t.
  16. Sven-Ake Nilsson (Miko-Mercier) s.t.
  17. Willy Govaerts (Mini Flat-Veermer) s.t.
  18. René Bittinger (Miko-Mercier) s.t.
  19. Jean-René Bernaudeau (Renault-Gitane) s.t.
  20. Jacques Osmont (Boston-Ifi-Mavic) @ 18min 59sec
  21. Frank Hoste (Marc-Carlos) s.t.
  22. Régis Ovion (Puch-Campagnolo) s.t.
  23. Jostein Wilmann (Puch-Campagnolo) s.t.
  24. Rudy Pevenage (Ijsboerke) @ 21min 5sec
  25. Martin Kavik (HB Alarmsystemen) s.t.
  26. Jan Bogaert (Mini Flat-Vermeer) @ 23min 18sec
  27. Benny Vermeulen (Boston-Ifi-Mavic) @ 35min 44sec
  28. Daniel Muller (Puch-Campagnolo) @ 39min 59sec
  29. Christian Levavasseur (Miko-Mercier) @ 40min 23sec
  30. Daniel Gisiger (Miko-Mercier) s.t.
  31. Willy Scheers (Boston-Ifi-Mavic) @ 49min 15sec