BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Dirty Feet South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1960 Paris - Roubaix

58th edition: Sunday, April 10, 1960

Paris-Roubaix podium history | 1961 edition | 1959 edition

262.5 km. 156 starters, 77 classified finishers.

Tom Simpson had been on a solo break when at the 18 kilometers to go mark Pino Cerami and Tino Sabbadini escaped the peloton. They quickly caught and passed the tiring Englishman. Five kilometers later Sabbadini took a corner too wide. Cerami pounced and opened a gap Sabbadini could not close.

Complete results:

  1. Pino Cerami (Peugeot-BP-Dunlop) 6hr 1min 45sec. 43.538 km/hr
  2. Tino Sabbadini (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) @ 14sec
  3. Miguel Poblet (Ignis) @ 55sec
  4. Jean Forestier (Helyett-Leroux-Fynsec-Hutchinson-ACBB) s.t.
  5. Henri De Wolf (Alcyon-Leroux) s.t.
  6. Frans Aerenhouts (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  7. Gilbert Desmet s.t.
  8. Jacques Anquetil (Helyett-Leroux-Fynsec-Hutchinson-ACBB) s.t.
  9. Tom Simpson (Rapha-Gitane-Dunlop) s.t.
  10. Raymond Impanis (Faema) @ 1min 11sec
  11. Seamus Elliott (Helyett-Leroux-Fynsec-Hutchinson-ACBB) s.t.
  12. Martin Van der Borgh s.t.
  13. Jozef Planckaert (Wiel's-Flandria) s.t.
  14. Coen Niesten (Helyett-Leroux-Fynsec-Hutchinson-ACBB) s.t.
  15. Noël Foré (Groene Leeuw-Sinalco-SAS) s.t.
  16. Michel Van Aerde (Carpano) s.t.
  17. Lucien Demunster (Wiel's-Flandria) s.t.
  18. Arthur de Cabooter (Groene Leeuw-Sinalco-SAS) s.t.
  19. Raymond Poulidor (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  20. Joseph Groussard (Helyett-Leroux-Fynsec-Hutchinson-ACBB) @ 2min 30sec
  21. Antonin Rolland (Margnat-Rochet) @ 2min 41sec
  22. Valère Paulissen (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  23. Alfons Hermans (Dr. Mann-Dossche Sport) s.t.
  24. Joseph Hoevenaers s.t.
  25. Jean Gainche (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  26. Maurice Meuleman (Wiel's-Flandria) @ 2min 49sec
  27. Désiré Keteleer @ 3min 31sec
  28. Petrus Oellibrandt (Dr. Mann-Dossche Sport) s.t.
  29. Louis Bisilliat (Liberia-Grammont) s.t.
  30. René Privat (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) @ 4min 10sec
  31. Camille Le Menn (Peugeot-BP-Dunlop) s.t.
  32. Bernard Gauthier (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  33. Pierre Beuffeuil (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  34. Pierino Baffi (Ignis) s.t.
  35. Alfred De Bruyne (Carpano) s.t.
  36. Hans Junkermann s.t.
  37. Diego Ronchini (Bianchi) @ 5min 16sec
  38. Jaap Kersten @ 5min 22sec
  39. André Noyelle (Wiel's-Flandria) @ 5min 41sec
  40. Eddy Pauwels (Dr. Mann-Dossche Sport) @ 5min 48sec
  41. Constant De Keyser (Groene Leeuw-Sinalco-SAS) s.t.
  42. Cleto Maule (Philco) s.t.
  43. Ezio Pizzoglio (Carpano) s.t.
  44. Lucien Matthys (Groene Leeuw-Sinalco-SAS) @ 6min 20sec
  45. Orphée Meneghini (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) @ 6min 48sec
  46. André Darrigade (Helyett-Leroux-Fynsec-Hutchinson-ACBB) s.t.
  47. Arrigo Padovan (Gazzola) s.t.
  48. Hilaire Couvreur (Helyett-Leroux-Fynsec-Hutchinson-ACBB) s.t.
  49. Willy Vannitsen (Carpano) s.t.
  50. Léon Van Daele (Wiel's-Flandria) @ 7min 34sec
  51. Yvo Molenaers (Carpano) @ 8min 7sec
  52. Martin Van Geneugden (Carpano) s.t.
  53. Marcel Seynaeve @ 8min 29sec
  54. Pietro Chirodini @ 8min 58sec
  55. Stéphane Lach @ 9min 39sec
  56. Alfons Vandenbrande @ 10min 23sec
  57. Jean Leroy s.t.
  58. Roger Baens s.t.
  59. Adolf Christian s.t.
  60. Alfons Sweek s.t.
  61. Alessandro Fantini @ 13min 3sec
  62. Stefano Gaggero s.t.
  63. Michele Gismondi (Gazzola) s.t.
  64. Jean-Claude Annaert (St. Raphaë-Géminiani) @ 13min 18sec
  65. Michel Vermeulin (Helyett-Leroux-Fynsec-Htuchinson-ACBB) s.t.
  66. Klaus Bugdahl s.t.
  67. Maurice Moucheraud @ 18min 53sec
  68. Raymond Plaza s.t.
  69. Jacques Champion s.t.
  70. Frans Schoubben s.t.
  71. Jozef Vloeberghs s.t.
  72. Piet Damen s.t.
  73. Maurice Joosen s.t.
  74. Piet Steenvoorden s.t.
  75. Jacques Schoubben s.t.
  76. Lucien Fliffel s.t.
  77. Jean-Claude Lefebvre s.t.