BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Paris-Roubaix: The Inside Story Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycle Italia cycling tours Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1959 Paris - Roubaix

57th edition: Sunday, April 12, 1959

Paris-Roubaix podium history | 1960 edition | 1958 edition

262.5 km. 75 classified finishers.

Rain. By the time they reached Amiens a group of seven had separated from the pack and were being chased by an elite group that included Roger Rivière, Rik van Looy and Alfred de Bruyne. A motorcycle crashed out some of the chasers and flats did in others, taking some of the impetus out of the pursuit. Up front the seven became three: Noël Foré, Gilbert Desmet and Marcel Janssens. Foré led the sprint out in the Roubaix velodrome and won by two lengths.

Noel Fore

Noël Foré

Complete results:

  1. Noël Foré (Groene Leeuw-Sinalco-SAS) 6hr 8min 20sec. 42.760 km/hr
  2. Gilbert Desmet s.t.
  3. Marcel Janssens (Flandria-Dr. Mann) s.t.
  4. Rik van Looy (Faema-Guerra) @ 57sec
  5. Tino Sabbadini (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  6. Alfred de Bruyne (Peugeot-BP-Dunlop) s.t.
  7. Frans de Mulder (Groene Leeuw-Sinalco-SAS) s.t.
  8. Léon Van Daele (Flandria-Dr. Mann) @ 1min 4sec
  9. Frans Aerenhouts (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  10. Raymond Impanis s.t.
  11. Albéric "Briek" Schotte s.t.
  12. Seamus Elliott (Helyett-Fynsec) s.t.
  13. Nino Defilippis (Carpano) @ 1min 22sec
  14. Désiré Keteleer s.t.
  15. Gilbert Scodeller (St. Raphaël-Géminiani) s.t.
  16. Joseph Groussard (Helyett-Fynsec) @ 1min 53sec
  17. Angelo Conterno (Carpano) s.t.
  18. Norbert Kerckhove (Faema-Guerra) @ 2min 8sec
  19. André Darrigade (Helyett-Fynsec) @ 2min 17sec
  20. Pierino Baffi (Ignis-Frejus) s.t.
  21. Louison Bobet @ 3min 2sec
  22. Petrus Oellibrandt (Flandria-Dr. Mann) s.t.
  23. Jan Zagers (Libertas-Eura Drinks) s.t.
  24. Jacques Anquetil (Helyett-Fynsec) @ 3min 19sec
  25. Jean-Claude Lefebvre (St. Raphaël-Géminiani) s.t.
  26. Gabriel Borra (Carpano) @ 3min 38sec
  27. Yvo Molenaers (Ghigi-Ganna) @ 3min 50sec
  28. Bernard Gauthier (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  29. Fernand Picot (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  30. Maurice Meuleman (Elvé-Peugeot) @ 3min 58sec
  31. Silvano Ciampi (Bianchi-Pirelli) @ 4min 18sec
  32. Josef Planckaert (Carpano) s.t.
  33. Diego Ronchini (Bianchi-Pirelli) s.t.
  34. Frans Van Looveren (Faema-Guerra) s.t.
  35. Hilaire Couvreur (Faema-Guerra) s.t.
  36. Rik van Steenbergen s.t.
  37. Miguel Poblet (Ignis-Frejus) s.t.
  38. Jean Stablinski (Essor-Leroux) s.t.
  39. André Vlaeyen s.t.
  40. François Mahé (St. Raphaël-Géminiani) s.t.
  41. Alfons Voordeckers (Libertas-Eura Drinks) s.t.
  42. Raphaël Géminiani (St. Raphaël-Géminiani) @ 5min 7sec
  43. Jean Graczyk (Helyett-Fynsec) s.t.
  44. Fausto Coppi (Tricolfilina-Coppi) @ 7min 35sec
  45. Guillaume Van Tongerloo (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  46. Waldemaro Bartolozzi (Ignis-Frejus) s.t.
  47. Peppino Dante (Ignis-Frejus) s.t.
  48. Roger Rivière (Rapha-Géminiani-Dunlop) s.t.
  49. Roberto Falaschi (Ignis-Frejus) s.t.
  50. Eddy Pauwels (Flandria-Dr. Mann) s.t.
  51. Nicolas Barone s.t.
  52. Raymond Plaza @ 9min 22sec
  53. Raymond Mastrotto s.t.
  54. Germano Barale s.t.
  55. Pierre Everaert @ 11min 7sec
  56. Robert Ducard @ 11min 36sec
  57. John Ceulemans s.t.
  58. Roger Darrigade @ 12min 18sec
  59. Gastone Nencini (Carpano) s.t.
  60. Augustin Corteggiani s.t.
  61. René Pavard (Helyett-Fynsec) s.t.
  62. Giuseppe Fallarini s.t.
  63. Marcel Seynaeve (Groene Leeuw-Sinalco-SAS) @ 12min 43sec
  64. Albert Bouvet (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  65. Henry Anglade @ 13min 27sec
  66. Jean Bobet s.t.
  67. Fernando Brandolini s.t.
  68. Michel Vermeulin s.t.
  69. Daniel Denys s.t.
  70. Pierre Machiels @ 14min 48sec
  71. Nino Catalano s.t.
  72. Giuseppe Cainero s.t.
  73. Antonin Rolland s.t.
  74. Wilfried Ommer s.t.
  75. Agostino Coletto (Carpano) s.t.