BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Dirty Feet South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1958 Paris - Roubaix

56th edition: Sunday, April 13, 1958

Paris-Roubaix podium history | 1959 edition | 1957 edition

269 km. 76 classified finishers.

Leon van Daele

Léon Van Daele wins the 1958 Paris-Roubaix

Three kilometers from the end Jacques Anquetil's escape was ended by a flat tire. At the entrance to the Roubaix velodrome Seamus Elliot and Roger Verplaetse had a 20-meter lead, but they was quickly caught by the 22 man chasing group. On the track, big Léon Van Daele took off with 300 meters to go and none of the gifted group could come around him.

Complete results:

  1. Léon Van Daele (Faema-Guerra-Clément) 8hr 4min 41sec. 33.30 km/hr
  2. Miguel Poblet (Ignis-Doniselli) s.t.
  3. Rik van Looy (Faema-Guerra-Clément) s.t.
  4. Rik van Steenbergen (Elvé-Peugeot-Marvan) s.t.
  5. Jean Forestier (ACBB-Essor-Leroux-Hutchinson) s.t.
  6. Alfred de Bruyne (Carpano-Coppi) s.t.
  7. Marcel Janssens (Elvé-Peugeot-Marvan) s.t.
  8. Roger Hassenforder (St. Raphaël-Géminiani) s.t.
  9. Raymond Impanis (Elvé-Peugeot-Marvan) s.t.
  10. Jan Zagers (Libertas-Dr. Mann) s.t.
  11. Jacques Dupont (St. Raphaël-Géminiani) s.t.
  12. Germain Derijcke (Carpano) s.t.
  13. Albéric "Briek" Schotte (Libertas-Dr. Mann) s.t.
  14. Jacques Anquetil (Helyett-Potin-Hutchinson) s.t.
  15. Jan Van Gompel (Faema-Guerra-Clément) s.t.
  16. Pino Cerami (Elvé-Peugeot-Marvan) s.t.
  17. Willy Truye (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  18. Roger Verplaetse (Faema-Guerra-Clément) s.t.
  19. Nicolas Barone (St. Raphaël-Géminiani) s.t.
  20. Seamus Elliott (Helyett-Potin-Hutchinson) s.t.
  21. Pierre Pardoen s.t.
  22. Roger Molenaers (Groene Leeuw-Leopold) s.t.
  23. Frans Schoubben (Elvé-Peugeot-Marvan) s.t.
  24. Josef Schils (Faema-Guerra-Clément) @ 31sec
  25. Gérard Saint (St. Raphaël-Géminiani) s.t.
  26. Gilbert Scodeller (St. Raphaël-Géminiani) s.t.
  27. Louison Bobet (L. Bobet-BP-Hutchinson) @ 1min 9sec
  28. Angelo Conterno (Carpano) s.t.
  29. Raymond Plaza (Peugeot-BP-Dunlop) s.t.
  30. Albert Dolhats (St. Raphaël-Géminiani) s.t.
  31. Dino Bruni (Bianchi-Pirelli) s.t.
  32. Yvo Molenaers @ 1min 42sec
  33. Jan Adriaenssens (Carpano) s.t.
  34. Cyrille Van Bossel (Carpano) s.t.
  35. Brian Robinson (St. Raphaël-Géminiani) s.t.
  36. Jules Mertens (Libertas-Dr. Mann) s.t.
  37. Ricardo Filippi (Ghigi-Coppi) @ 2min 2sec
  38. Francis Pipelin @ 2min 22sec
  39. Petrus Oellibrandt (Libertas-Dr. Mann) s.t.
  40. André Vlaeyen s.t.
  41. André Darrigade (Helyett-Potin-Hutchinson) @ 2min 38sec
  42. Jozef Planckaert (Carpano) s.t.
  43. Pierre Ruby (Peugeot-BP-Dunlop) s.t.
  44. Alex Close s.t.
  45. Jacques Schoubben (Elvé-Peugeot-Marvan) s.t.
  46. Agostino Coletto (Carpano) s.t.
  47. Emmanuel Busto s.t.
  48. André Dupré (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  49. Gilbert Bauvin (St. Raphaël-Géminiani) s.t.
  50. Dominique Forlini @ 4min 13sec
  51. Noël Foré (Groene Leeuw-Leopold) s.t.
  52. Julien Schepens s.t.
  53. Antonin Rolland (L. Bobet-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  54. Emiel Severeyns @ 5min 13sec
  55. Gilbert Desmet @ 6min 9sec
  56. Gabriel Borra s.t.
  57. Michel Van Aerde (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  58. Martin Van Geneugden s.t.
  59. Tino Sabbadini s.t.
  60. Jean-Marie Cieleska s.t.
  61. Albert Bouvet s.t.
  62. Jean Bellay s.t.
  63. Hilaire Couveur @ 7min 43sec
  64. Jean Bobet (L. Bobet-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  65. Germano Barale (Bianchi-Pirelli) s.t.
  66. Claude Colette s.t.
  67. Joseph Thomin s.t.
  68. Michel Verleulin s.t.
  69. Raymond Hoorelbeke s.t.
  70. Henri Denys @ 13min 56sec
  71. Norbert Van Tieghem s.t.
  72. Orphée Meneghini s.t.
  73. Camille Le Menn s.t.
  74. Marcel Rohrbach s.t.
  75. Michel Dejouhannet s.t.
  76. René Fournier s.t.