BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Dirty Feet South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1955 Paris - Roubaix

53rd edition: Sunday, April 10, 1955

Paris-Roubaix podium history | 1956 edition | 1954 edition

249 km. 158 starters, 72 classified finishers.

Rainy day. After Forestier escaped, Coppi and Bobet chased without conviction. No longer friends, each was afraid to aid the other. After the race Bobet lashed out at Coppi for racing for second place. Coppi defended himself, saying he was still off-form at that point of the season.

Jean Forestier

Jean Forestier

Complete results:

  1. Jean Forestier (Follis-Dunlop) 6hr 6min 42sec. 40.74 km/hr
  2. Fausto Coppi (Bianchi-Pirelli) @ 15sec
  3. Louison Bobet (L. Bobet-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  4. Gilbert Scodeller (La Perle-Hutchinson) s.t.
  5. Raymond Impanis (Elvé-Peugeot) @ 42sec
  6. Ernest Sterckx s.t.
  7. Hugo Koblet s.t.
  8. Bernard Gauthier (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  9. Jacques Dupont (La Perle-Hutchinson) @ 1min 8sec
  10. Jozef Planckaert s.t.
  11. Rik van Steenbergen @ 3min 6sec
  12. Germain Derycke (Alcyon-Dunlop) s.t.
  13. Gilbert Bauvin (St. Raphaël-Géminiani) s.t.
  14. Adolphe Deledda (Terrot-Hutchinson) s.t.
  15. Jacques Anquetil (La Perle-Hutchinson) s.t.
  16. Albéric "Briek" Schotte (Alcyon-Dunlop) s.t.
  17. Nicolas Barone s.t.
  18. André Vlaeyen (Alcyon-Dunlop) s.t.
  19. Max Cohen (Rochet-Dunlop) @ 3min 43sec
  20. Giuseppe Minardi (Legnano) s.t.
  21. Léopold Degraeveleyn s.t.
  22. Maurice Bloome @ 5min 20sec
  23. Angelo Coletto (Nivea-Fuchs) s.t.
  24. Adolfo Grosso (Lygie) s.t.
  25. Roger Buchonnet (Rochet-Dunlop) s.t.
  26. Marcel Hendrickx (Elvé-Peugeot) s.t.
  27. Antonin Rolland (L. Bobet-BP-Hutchinson) @ 6min 48sec
  28. Jean-Marie Cieleska (Gitane-Hutchinson) s.t.
  29. Robert Varnajo (Gitane-Hutchinson) s.t.
  30. Pierre Michel s.t.
  31. Willy Vannitsen (Van Hauwaert-Maes) s.t.
  32. Miguel Poblet (Splendid-d'Alessandro) s.t.
  33. Raphaël Géminiani (St. Raphaël-Géminiani) s.t.
  34. Josef de Feyter @ 7min 53sec
  35. Jacques Schoubben (Elvé-Peugeot) s.t.
  36. Jan Zagers (Libertas-Girardengo-Huret) s.t.
  37. Marcel Dussault (Rochet-Dunlop) s.t.
  38. Jean Bobet (L. Bobet-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  39. Attilio Redolfi (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  40. Marceau Cocquerel (Rochet-Dunlop) s.t.
  41. Wim Van Est s.t.
  42. Russel Mockridge s.t.
  43. Tranquillo Scudellaro s.t.
  44. Maurice Diot (La Française) s.t.
  45. Marcel Rijckaert @ 10min 6sec
  46. Karel Borgmans s.t.
  47. Gerrit Voorting s.t.
  48. Isaac Vitré (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  49. Roland Callebout s.t.
  50. André Darrigade (La Perle-Hutchinson) s.t.
  51. Albert Dolhats (Rochet-Dunlop) s.t.
  52. Alfred Tonello s.t.
  53. Karel De Baere @ 13min 40sec
  54. André Noyelle s.t.
  55. Roger Chupin s.t.
  56. Gilbert Loof s.t.
  57. Stanislaus Bober s.t.
  58. Pino Cerami (Elvé-Peugeot) @ 14min 6sec
  59. René Mertens s.t.
  60. Noël Lajoie s.t.
  61. Louis Bergaud s.t.
  62. Camilius "Buddy" Demunster @ 15min 2sec
  63. Georges Gay s.t.
  64. Léon Van Daele @ 15min 15sec
  65. Vincenzo Zucconelli (Legnano) s.t.
  66. Guido De Santi s.t.
  67. Robert Vanderstockt s.t.
  68. Georges Decaux s.t.
  69. Armand Baeyens @ 19min 10sec
  70. Mario Gervasoni s.t.
  71. Giuseppe Favero (Bianchi-Pirelli) s.t.
  72. Guido Messina s.t.