BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Dirty Feet South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1953 Paris - Roubaix

51st edition: Sunday, April 12, 1953

Paris-Roubaix podium history | 1954 edition | 1952 edition

245 km. Unknown number of starters and classified finishers, records only go 75 deep.

Twenty kilometers from the finish five riders were away: Donato Piazza, Wout Wagtmans, Germain Derycke, Raphaël Géminiani and Adolfo Grosso. Grosso and Géminiani dropped off with bike problems. Piazza escaped the remaining trio and Derycke bridged, the two coming into the Roubaix velodrome together. In the velodrome Piazza attacked first, but Derycke sped by on the finishing straight.

Complete Known Results:

  1. Germain Derycke (Alcyon-Dunlop) 5hr 39min 19sec. 43.32 km/hr
  2. Donato Piazza s.t.
  3. Wout Wagtmans s.t.
  4. Louison Bobet (Stella-Wolber-Dunlop) @ 33sec
  5. Emile Baffert (Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
  6. Roger Decock (Bertin-d'Alessandro) s.t.
  7. Raymond Impanis (Garin-Wolber) s.t.
  8. Désiré Keteleer s.t.
  9. Gilbert Bauvin s.t.
  10. Marcel Bloome s.t.
  11. Luciano Maggini (Atala) s.t.
  12. Fiorenzo Magni (Ganna-Ursus) s.t.
  13. Hilaire Couvreur (Terrot-Hutchinson) s.t.
  14. Bernard Gauthier (Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
  15. Antonin Rolland (Terrot-Hutchinson) s.t.
  16. Jean-Maire Cieliczka (Gitane-Hutchinson) s.t.
  17. Gilbert Perty s.t.
  18. Donato Zampini s.t.
  19. Stanislaus Bober s.t.
  20. Jozef De Feyter @ 1min 34sec
  21. Jean Dacquay (Mercier-F. Pélissier) @ 1min 51sec
  22. Pierre Pardoen s.t.
  23. Bouwdewijn Devos (Bertin-d'Alessandro) s.t.
  24. Albino Crespi (Benotto-Levrieri) @ 2min 0sec
  25. Adolfo Grosso (Benotto-Levrieri) s.t.
  26. Maurice Diot (Mercier-Hutchinson) @ 2min 15sec
  27. Sigisfredo "Alfred" Tonello (Alcyon-Dunlop) s.t.
  28. Giuseppe Minardi (Legnano-Pirelli) @ 2min 33sec
  29. Maurice Quentin s.t.
  30. Jean Bobet (Stella-Wolber-Dunlop) s.t.
  31. Fiorenzo Crippa (Bianchi-Pirelli) s.t.
  32. Alois Van Steenkiste (Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
  33. Nello Lauredi (Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
  34. Stefano Gaggero (Bianchi-Pirelli) s.t.
  35. Gilbert Scodeller (Stella-Wolber-Dunlop) s.t.
  36. Ettore Milano (Bianchi-Pirelli) s.t.
  37. Wim Van Est s.t.
  38. Georges Decaux (Gitane-Hutchinson) s.t.
  39. Ernest Sterckx (Peugeot-Dunlop) s.t.
  40. René Mertens s.t.
  41. Léopold De Graeveleyn s.t.
  42. Albéric "Briek" Schotte (Alcyon-Dunlop) s.t.
  43. Roger Chupin (Colomb-Manera) s.t.
  44. Jan Zagers s.t.
  45. Giovanni Pettinati (Benotto-Levrieri) s.t.
  46. Eugène Van Roosbroeck (Peugeot-Dunlop) s.t.
  47. André Rosseel (Terrot-Hutchinson) s.t.
  48. Raoul Rémy (Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
  49. Eugène Telotte (Mercier-F. Pelissier) s.t.
  50. Pierre Michel s.t.
  51. Ludwig Hörmann s.t.
  52. Pino Cerami (Peugeot-Dunlop) s.t.
  53. Jean Storms s.t.
  54. Charles Joly s.t.
  55. René Walschot s.t.
  56. Léopold Schaeken s.t.
  57. Attilio Redolfi s.t.
  58. Florent Rondele s.t.
  59. Arthur Cleenewerck s.t.
  60. Louis Déprez s.t.
  61. Marcel Ernzer s.t.
  62. Albert Platel s.t.
  63. Waldemaro Bartolozzi s.t.
  64. Raphaël Glorieux s.t.
  65. Lucien Matthijs (Groene Leeuw) s.t.
  66. Robert Varnajo (Gitane-Hutchinson) s.t.
  67. Pierre Polo s.t.
  68. Robert Vanderstockt s.t.
  69. Emile Guérinel s.t.
  70. Jacques Renaud s.t.
  71. Lucien Tesseire s.t.
  72. Vincenzo Rossello (Ganna-Ursus) s.t.
  73. Yves Nédellec s.t.
  74. Jean Robic s.t.
  75. Isidore De Rijck s.t.