BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Dirty Feet South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1947 Paris - Roubaix

45th edition: Sunday, April 6, 1947

Paris-Roubaix podium history | 1948 edition | 1946 edition

246 km. Number of starters and finishers unknown. Time splits after tenth place unavailable

Torrential rain. Olimpio Bizzi joined a break that formed just 20 kilometers into the race. Eventually Bizzi dropped all his companions. Late in the race he broke his rear wheel in a gutter and by the time he restarted, his gap was down to 40 seconds. He was caught after riding off the front for nearly 240 kilometers. Adolf Verschueren led out the sprint on the Roubaix velodrome but was passed with ease by Georges Claes, who won his second consecutive Paris-Roubaix.

Georges Claes

That should be Georges Claes on the right in this undated photo

Complete Known Results:

  1. Georges Claes: 6hr 10min 34sec. 39.83 km/hr
  2. Adolf Verschueren s.t.
  3. Louis Thiétard (Métropole-Dunlop) s.t.
  4. Raymond Impanis (Alcyon-Dunlop) @ 16sec
  5. Albéric "Briek" Schotte (Alcyon-Dunlop) @ 51sec
  6. Olimpio Bizzi (Viscontea) @ 56sec
  7. Edouard Fachleitner (France Sport-Dunlop) s.t.
  8. Maurice De Muer (Peugeot-Dunlop) s.t.
  9. Lucien Teisseire @ 2min 42sec
  10. Lucien Vlaemynck @ 3min 43sec
  11. Maurice Diot
  12. Frans Knaepkens (Starnord-Wolber)
  13. Kléber Piot (Métropole-Dunlop)
  14. Fermo Camellini
  15. Florent Mathieu (Rochet-Dunlop)
  16. Alfio Fazio
  17. Gino Sciardis (Mercier-Hutchinson)
  18. Pierre Brambilla
  19. César Marcelak (Bertin-Wolber)
  20. Henri Delmuylle
  21. Mario Mariotti
  22. Robert Charpentier (La Perle-Hutchinson)
  23. Jean Deubelbeis
  24. Georges Desplenter
  25. Jean-Baptiste Delille (Rochet-Dunlop)
  26. Jan Landuyt
  27. Henri Massal (France Sport-Dunlop)
  28. Henri Renders
  29. Robert Bonnaventure (La Perle-Hutchinson)
  30. Jean Breuer (Rochet-Dunlop)
  31. Louis Brusselmans
  32. Guy Butteux
  33. Alfred Ermacora
  34. Roger Lambrecht
  35. Francis Fricker (Thomas-Rosset)
  36. Maurice Meersman (Starnord-Wolber)