BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Dirty Feet South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1937 Paris - Roubaix

38th edition: Sunday, March 28, 1937

Paris-Roubaix podium history | 1938 edition | 1936 edition

255 km. 159 starters and 50 classified finishers

Hard rain. Jules Rossi entered Roubaix with four Belgians, each individually ambitous to win and uninterested in coordinating their efforts against the Italian. With two kilometers to go Rossi led at such an extraordinary speed the others could not even pull alongside. The race finished in Roubaix on Avenue Gustave Delory (not the velodrome) where Rossi led out the sprint and won by several bike lengths.

Rossi was the first Italian to win Paris-Roubaix, succeeding where Gaetoni Belloni, Costante Girardengo and Alfredo Binda had failed.

Jules Rossi

Jules Rossi

Complete Results:

  1. Giulio "Jules" Rossi (Thomann-Dunlop) 7hr 17min 57sec. 34.93 km/hr
  2. Albert Hendrickx (Labor-Dunlop) s.t.
  3. Noël Declercq s.t.
  4. Emiel Van de Pitte (Dilecta-Wolber) s.t.
  5. Aimé Lieven s.t.
  6. Gustave Danneels (Alcyon-Dunlop) @ 1min 3sec
  7. Edgard De Caluwé (Dilecta-Wolber) s.t.
  8. Frans Bonduel (Dilecta-Wolber) s.t.
  9. Séverin Vergili s.t.
  10. Georges Speicher (Alcyon-Dunlop) s.t.
  11. Sylvain Grysolle (Dilecta-Wolber) s.t.
  12. René Walschot (JB Louvet-Wolber) s.t.
  13. Albert Rosseel (Dilecta-Wolber) @ 5min 41sec
  14. Marcel Kint s.t.
  15. Pierre Cloarec @ 6min 58sec
  16. Léon Le Calvez (Alcyon Dunlop) s.t.
  17. Maurice Cacheux s.t.
  18. André Auville s.t.
  19. Albertin Disseaux (Helyett-Splendor) s.t.
  20. Roger Lapébie (Mercier-Hutchinson) @ 7min 10sec
  21. Marcel Laurent (La Française-Dunlop) s.t.
  22. Paul Botquint (La Perle-Hutchinson) s.t.
  23. Joseph Moerenhout (Dilecta) @ 8min 31sec
  24. Edmond Browaeys s.t.
  25. Arthur Debruyckere (France Sport-Dunlop) s.t.
  26. Lucien Lauk (Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
  27. Eloi Meulenberg (Alcyon-Dunlop) @ 9min 6sec
  28. Julien Heirnaert s.t.
  29. Emile Masson, Jr s.t.
  30. Jean Goujon (Armor-Dunlop) s.t.
  31. Jean Maréchal (Dilecta-Wolber) s.t.
  32. Petrus Van Theemsche (Colin-Wolber) s.t.
  33. Cesare Moretti, Jr (France Sport-Dunlop) s.t.
  34. Emile Gamard (Génial Lucifer-Hutchinson) s.t.
  35. Antoon Van Schendel (France Sport-Dunlop) s.t.
  36. Fabien Galateau (Alcyon-Dunlop) s.t.
  37. Georges Hubatz (Dilecta-Wolber) s.t.
  38. Albert Gabard (Génial Lucifer-Hutchinson) s.t.
  39. Bruno Carini (France Sport-Dunlop) s.t.
  40. Richard Kemps (JB Louvet-Wolber) s.t.
  41. Marcel Van Houtte (Alcyon-Dunlop) s.t.
  42. Emile Decroix s.t.
  43. Emile Bruneau (France Sport-Dunlop) s.t.
  44. Raoul Lesueur (Helyett-Splendor-Hutchonson) s.t.
  45. Gabriel Dubois (La Perle) s.t.
  46. Julien Legrand (F. Pélissier-Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
  47. Pierre Jaminet (Génial Lucifer-Hutchinson) s.t.
  48. Jean Noret (Génial Lucifer-Hutchinson) s.t.
  49. René Debenne (Leducq-Mercier) s.t.
  50. Marcel Blanchon (La Française-Dunlop) s.t.