BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Dirty Feet South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1933 Paris - Roubaix

34th edition: Sunday, April 16, 1933

Paris-Roubaix podium history | 1932 edition | 1934 edition

255 km. 129 starters and 44 classified finishers.

At Beauvais Sylvère Maes attacked, taking Julien Vervaecke, Antonin Magne and Karl Thallinger with him. Vervaecke accelerated on the hill at Doullens, leaving Magne and Thallinger but taking young Maes. In Roubaix, Maes left Vervaecke many bike lengths behind to notch his first major win. Maes would go on to win the Tour de France twice.

Complete Results:

  1. Sylvère Maes (Alcyon-Dunlop) 5hr 59min 0sec. 36.52 km/hr
  2. Julien Vervaecke (Alcyon-Dunlop) s.t.
  3. Léon Le Calvez @ 1min 48sec
  4. Ludwig Geyer (Oscar Egg) s.t.
  5. Maurice Archambaud (Alcyon Dunlop) s.t.
  6. Alfons Deloor (Dilecta-Wolber) @ 1min 58sec
  7. Gaston Rebry (Alcyon-Dunlop) s.t.
  8. Charles Pélissier (Génial Lucifer-Hutchinson) s.t.
  9. Emile Decroix @ 3min 43sec
  10. René Bernard (Lutetia-Wolber) @ 4min 16sec
  11. Max Bulla (Oscar Egg) @ 4min 51sec
  12. Willy Kutschbach @ 6min 32sec
  13. Antonin Magne (France Sport-Wolber) s.t.
  14. Fernand Mithouard (Lutetia-Wolber) s.t.
  15. Gustaaf Deloor (Dilecta-Wolber) s.t.
  16. Romain Gijssels (Dilecta-Wolber)s.t.
  17. Georges Speicher (Alcyon-Dunlop) @ 9min 0sec
  18. Marcel Bidot s.t.
  19. Jef Demuysere (Génial Lucifer-Hutchinson) s.t.
  20. Domenico Piemontesi (Génial Lucifer-Hutchinson) @ 11min 32sec
  21. Léopold Roosemont (Alcyon-Dunlop) @ 11min 40sec
  22. Jean Driancourt (Lutetia-Wolber) @ 11min 45sec
  23. Louis Duerloo (Génial Lucifer-Hutchinson) s.t.
  24. Roger Lapèbie (La Française-Dunlop) @ 12min 20sec
  25. Paul Chocque @ 13min 35sec
  26. Jean Noret (Lutetia-Wolber) @ 14min 30sec
  27. Herbert Sieronski s.t.
  28. Julien Moineau (France Sport-Wolber) s.t.
  29. Frans Bonduel (Dilecta-Wolber) @ 16min 30sec
  30. Louis Roels @ 16min 35sec
  31. Alfons Ghesquière (Alcyon-Dunlop) s.t.
  32. Raymond Louviot (Génial Lucifer) @ 19min 1sec
  33. Karl Thallinger (Oscar Egg) @ 19min 29sec
  34. Pierre Magne (France Sport-Wolber) @ 21min 29sec
  35. Georges Antenen
  36. André Aumerle
  37. August Van Tricht
  38. Léon Louyet (Génial Lucifer)
  39. Léopold Gérard (Depas Cycles)
  40. Jean Wauters (Thomann-Dunlop)
  41. François Gardier (Depas Cycles)
  42. August Monciero
  43. Constant Dyzers (Dilecta-Wolber)
  44. Alfons Verniers (Dilecta-Wolber)