BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Dirty Feet South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1930 Paris - Roubaix

31st edition: Sunday, April 20, 1930

Paris-Roubaix podium history | 1929 edition | 1931 edition

258 km. 86 starters and 35 classified finishers.

With 65 kilometers to go Leander Gijssels, Julien Vervaecke and Jean Maréchal were well clear of the pack. Gijssels could not stay with the other two and dropped back. Maréchal and Vervaecke bumped elbows and Vervaecke went down, allowing Maréchal to scoot down the road and beat Vervaecke to the finish by 24 seconds.

Vervaecke protested and was declared the winner. It is generally thought Vervaecke's powerful sponsor Alcyon was able to use its financial muscle to bring about the strange decision. After all, it was just a normal, banal bump between two riders, which happens all the time. Maréchal died maintaining he was the rightful winner.

Complete Results:

  1. Julien Vervaecke (Alcyon-Dunlop) 8hr 11min 14sec. 31.51 km/hr
  2. Jean Maréchal (Colin-Wolber)
  3. Antonin Magne (Alleluia-Wolber) @ 6min 48sec
  4. Emile Joly (Génial Lucifer) s.t.
  5. Nicolas Frantz (Alcyon-Dunlop) s.t.
  6. Jean Aerts s.t.
  7. Frans Bonduel (Dilecta-Wolber) s.t.
  8. Armand Van Bruaene (La Nordiste-Wolber) s.t.
  9. Jerôme Declercq s.t.
  10. Maurice De Waele (Alcyon-Dunlop) s.t.
  11. Aimé Dossche (La Nordiste-Wolber) s.t.
  12. Marcel Gobillot (Dilecta-Wolber) s.t.
  13. André Godinot s.t.
  14. Hector Leroy s.t.
  15. Désiré Louesse (Oscar Egg-Dunlop) s.t.
  16. Pierre Magne (Alleluia-Wolber) s.t.
  17. Hector Martin Elvish-Wolber) s.t.
  18. Jules Merviel (Alleluia-Wolber) s.t.
  19. Georges Ronsse (La Française-Diamant-Wolber) s.t.
  20. Bernard Van Rysselberghe (Dilecta-Wolber) s.t.
  21. Gustaaf Van Slembrouck (Génial Lucifer) s.t.
  22. Odile Taillieu s.t.
  23. Alfred Haemerlinck (La Nordiste-Wolber) s.t.
  24. Heiri Suter (Génial Lucifer) s.t.
  25. Petrus "Pé" Verhaegen (Génial Lucifer) s.t.
  26. Jean Wauters (Daring-Alix)
  27. Jef Dervaes
  28. Victor Fontan (Elvish-Wolber)
  29. Alfred Dira
  30. Leander Gijssels
  31. André Leducq (Alcyon-Dunlop)
  32. August Verdijck (Dilecta-Wolber)
  33. Louis Delannoy (La Française-Diamant-Wolber)
  34. Georges Lalaoup
  35. Ernst Meier (Génial Lucifer)