BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Dirty Feet South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1929 Paris - Roubaix

30th edition: Sunday, March 31, 1929

Paris-Roubaix podium history | 1928 edition | 1930 edition

260 km. 86 starters and 25 classified finishers.

Very cold headwind. 1927 winner Georges Ronsse's attack brought Ronsse, Charles Meunier and Aimé Déolet to the finish for a sprint where Ronsse should have prevailed. But here's where it becomes a confused mess. Instead of finishing on the Avenue de Villas in Roubaix as it had in recent years, the organizers ended the race at the Amédée-Prouvost stadium so they could sell tickets. This meant the race would end on an unbanked cinder track. Despite riding with care, Ronsse crashed on the final turn, taking down Déolet with him. Ronsse had to walk across the finish line with his ruined bike and the less favored Meunier was the 1929 Paris-Roubaix champion.

The angry crowed flooded on to the track, forcing the officials to close the stadium to the riders who had not yet finished. For that reason, the results below are a bit of a hash: fifteen riders were awarded 6th place and after 25th place the officials stopped counting.

Complete Results:

  1. Charles Meunier (La Française-Diamant-Dunlop) 8hr 54min 50sec. 29.13 km/hr
  2. Georges Ronsse (Automoto) s.t.
  3. Aimé Déolet (Alcyon-Dunlop) s.t.
  4. Armand Van Bruaene @ 3min 19sec
  5. Gaston Rebry (Alcyon-Dunlop) s.t.
  6. Jean Aerts (Elvish-Fontan-Wolber) s.t.
  7. Ernest Neuhard (De Dion-Bouton-Wolber-Dilecta) s.t.
  8. Julien Moineau (Alleluia-Wolber) s.t.
  9. Roger Grégoire (Génial Lucifer-Hutchinson) s.t.
  10. Julien Perrain s.t.
  11. Jean Mertens s.t.
  12. Aimé Dossche (Alcyon-Dunlop) s.t.
  13. Nicolas Frantz (Alcyon-Dunlop) s.t.
  14. Victor Fontan (Elvish-Fontan-Wolber) s.t.
  15. Désiré Louesse s.t.
  16. Emile Joly (JB Louvet) s.t.
  17. Maurice Geldhof s.t.
  18. Auguste Mortelmans (Génial Lucifer-Hutchinson) s.t.
  19. Joseph Mauclair (La Française-Diamant-Dunlop) s.t.
  20. Julien Vervaecke (Alcyon-Dunlop) s.t.
  21. Ferdinand Le Drogo (Dilecta Wolber) @ 5min 19sec
  22. Raymond Decorte (JB Louvet)
  23. Hector Leroy
  24. André Godinat (Dilecta-Wolber)
  25. Roger Bisseron (La Française-Diamant-Dunlop)