BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Dirty Feet South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1928 Paris - Roubaix

29th edition: Sunday, April 8, 1928

Paris-Roubaix podium history | 1927 edition | 1929 edition

260 km. 89 starters and 52 classified finishers. I'm sorry, I have no time splits after 25th place

The race was full of attacks almost from the gun, but the real move was at Arras when 1927 winner Georges Ronsse took off. Understanding the importance of the move, Charles Pélissier and Charles Meunier were instantly on his wheel. Shortly, Andé Leducq and Gaston Rebry bridged up to the trio. That was the race. Pélissier got a bad hunger knock near the end and dropped off to find a cafe and Rebry had stomach trouble. Leducq possessed a fearsome sprint and put it to good use, leaving Ronsse several bike lengths behind. Leducq would go on to win the Tour de France in 1930 and 1932.

André Leducq

André Leducq wins

Complete Results:

  1. André Leducq (Alcyon-Dunlop) 7hr 44min 20sec. 33.60 km/hr
  2. Georges Ronsse (Automoto) s.t.
  3. Charles Meunier (JB Louvet-Hutchinson) s.t.
  4. Gaston Rebry (Alcyon-Dunlop) @ 20sec
  5. Achille Souchard @ 30sec
  6. Jules Van Hevel @ 2min 15sec
  7. Louis Delannoy @ 2min 20sec
  8. Maurice Bonney (Dilecta-Wolber) @ 2min 30sec
  9. Hector Martin (JB Louvet-Hutchinson) @ 4min 29sec
  10. Georges Cuvelier (Roold-Wolber) @ 4min 31sec
  11. Jean Bidot @ 5min 26sec
  12. Odiel Van Hevel (JB Louvet-Hutchinson) @ 6min 2sec
  13. Kastor Notter (Automoto) @ 7min 25sec
  14. Pierre Magne (Alleluia-Wolber) @ 7min 54sec
  15. Julien Vervaecke (Armor-Dunlop) @ 8min 17sec
  16. Odile Taillieu @ 8min 21sec
  17. Raymond Decorte (JB Louvet-Hutchinson) @ 8min 22sec
  18. Jef Dervaes @ 8min 23sec
  19. Maurice De Waele (Alcyon-Dunlop) @ 8min 24sec
  20. Georges Leblanc @ 10min 13sec
  21. Marcel Bidot @ 10min 41sec
  22. Antonin Magne (Alleluia-Wolber) @ 10min 50sec
  23. Ernest Neuhard (Alcyon-Dunlop) @ 10min 51sec
  24. Jan Mertens @ 12min 50sec
  25. Louis-André Schaffner (Dilecta-Wolber) @ 14min 49sec
  26. Maurice Depauw (Thomann-Dunlop)
  27. Nicolas Frantz (Alcyon-Dunlop)
  28. Armand Van Brauene (La Nordiste)
  29. Léopold-Albert Matton
  30. Michele Gordini
  31. Prosper Sadoul
  32. Adolf Van Bruaene (La Nordiste)
  33. Joseph Mauclair (Armor-Dunlop)
  34. Robert Gerbaud (Roold-Wolber)
  35. Lucien Buysse (Automoto)
  36. Frans Bonduel
  37. Gustaaf Verdijck
  38. Léon Parmentier (Automoto)
  39. Maurice Geldhof
  40. Jules Buysse (Automoto)
  41. Auguste Mortelmans (Touring-Pirelli)
  42. Henri Hoevenaars (Van Hauwaert)
  43. Aimé Dossche
  44. Jules Deschepper (Van Hauwaert)
  45. Camille Van de Casteele (JB Louvet-Hutchinson)
  46. Jef Wauters
  47. Joseph Hemelsoet (JB Louvet-Hutchinson)
  48. Charles Loew
  49. Eugène Werner
  50. Charles Hennuyer
  51. René Franc
  52. Urbain Comitis