BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It Started with a Freckle South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us! CycleItalia cycling tours

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2001 Clásica de San Sebastián (World Cup), Spain


Classica San Sebastian podium history

Saturday, August 11: 228 km.

Scheduled to ride: almost all the big dogs on the planet. Freire (tendinitis) and Nardello (broken elbow from Tour crash), originally entered, will not ride. This is a tentative list of potential winners who will show: Gotti, Leoni, Pantani, Zulle, Escartin, Voigt, Julich, Sevilla, Botero, Moreau, Hincapie, Van Petegem, Jalabert, Mayo, Savoldelli, Vainsteins, Museeuw, Merckx, Rebellin, Camenzind, Garzelli, Bartoli, Beloki, Tchmill, Verbrugghe, Casagrande, Dekker. Erik Dekker was the 2000 winner.


1. Laurent Jalabert (Tiscali), 5hr 17min 49sec. 42.84 km/hr
2. Francesco Casagrande (Fassa Bortolo), s.t.
3. Davide Rebellin (Liquigas), s.t.
4. Wladimir Belli (Fassa Bortolo), s.t.
5. Serge Baguet (Lotto) @ 25sec
6. Stefano Garzelli (Mapei), @ 28sec
7. Piotr Wedecki (Domo), s.t.
8. Andrea Ferrigato (Alessio), s.t.
9. Erik Dekker (Rabobank), s.t.
10. Javier Pascual Llorente (Kelme) s.t.
11. Fausto Dotti (Liquigas) s.t.
12. Oscar Camenzind (Lampre) s.t.
13. Paolo Bettini (Mapei) s.t.
14. Gerhard Trampusch (Telekom) s.t.
15. Mirko Celestino (Saeco) s.t.
16. Marco Sepellini (Lampre) s.t.
17. Axel Merckx (Domo-Farm Frites) s.t.
18. Michele Bartoli (Mapei) s.t.
19. Bobby Julich (Credit Agricole) s.t.
20. Cristian Moreni (Mercatone Uno) s.t.