BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling historyBikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history
Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

Danmark Rundt - Tour of Denmark (2.Pro)

Winners, podium, distance, average speed

TDF volume 1

Bill & Carol McGann's book The Story of the Tour de France, Vol 1: 1903 - 1975 is available in print, Kindle eBook & audiobook versions. To get your copy, just click on the Amazon link on the right.

The race:

The Danmark Rundt (in English, Tour of Denmark), the Danish national tour for professional bicycle racers, is currently (2014) sponsored by the Danish Postal Service, hence it is usually called the Post Denmark Rundt.

The real first edition as a stage race was run in 1985 (in 1983 and 1984 the race was a criterium, both of which were won by Kim Andersen) and was won by Moreno Argentin. The Danish Tour was run continuously thereafter through 1988. there was a seven year hiatus and was restarted in 1995. It has been run without interruption ever since.

It is currently a five-day race run in mid-August/September.

In 2005 the UCI classified the Denmark Rundt "HC". It has since been reclassified as a 2.Pro race.

The most prolific winner has so far been Jakob Fuglsang, who has won the Tour of Denmark three times (2008, 2009, 2010).

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel

Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Content continues below the ads

Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames

Complete podium history:

Year 1st Place 2nd Place 3rd Place Distance Average
1983 Kim Andersen Jørgen Marcussen Hans Henrik Orsted    
1984 Kim Andersen Hans Henrik Orsted Gerrie Knetemann    
1985 Moreno Argentin Kim Andersen Etienne de Wilde    
1986 Jesper Worre Jørgen Pedersen Jelle Nijdam    
1987 Kim Andersen Rolf Sørensen Søren Lilholt    
1988 Phil Anderson Rolf Sørensen Søren Lilholt    
1989 - 1994: Race not held
1995 Bjarne Riis Bo Hamburger Kaspars Ozers    
1996 Fabrizio Guidi
20hr 46min 37sec
Rolf Sørensen
@ 12sec
Bjarne Riis
@ 1min 2sec
851 km 40.958
1997 Servais Knaven
19hr 47min 35sec
Peter Meinert
@ 10sec
Jesper Skibby
@ 24sec
862.6 km 43.580
1998 Marc Streel
21hr 0min 21sec
Rolf Sørensen
@ 54sec
Peter Meinert
@ 1min 19sec
900 km 38.03
1999 Tyler Hamilton
18hr 43min 17sec
Rolf Sørensen
@ 18sec
Martin Hvastija
@ 45sec
842 km 44.98
2000 Rolf Sørensen
20hr 17min 24sec
Andreas Klöden
@ 30sec
Stéphane Barthe
@ 44sec
897 km 44.21
2001 David Millar
19hr 57min 3sec
Jaan Kirsipuu
@ 7sec
Daniele Nardello
@ 18sec
877.6 km 43.99
2002 Jakob Piil Storm
19hr 36min 18sec
Kurt-Asle Arvesen
@ 1min 12sec
Laszlo Bodrogi
@ 1min 45sec
860 km 43.87
2003 Sebastian Lang
19hr 49min 0sec
Jurgen Van Goolen
@ 2sec
Laurent Brochard
@ 19sec
855.7 km 43.18
2004 Kirst-Asle Arvesen
20hr 58min 1sec
Jens Voigt
@ 2sec
Stuart O'Grady
@ 49sec
876.7 km 41.81
2005 Ivan Basso
19hr 58min 37sec
Kurt-Asle Arvesen
@ 2min 21sec
Rory Sutherland
@ 2min 51sec
848.8 km 42.488
2006 Fabian Cancellara
19hr 49min 14sec
Stuart O'Grady
@ 20sec
Thomas Ziegler
@ 53sec
874 km 44.095
2007 Kurt-Asle Arvesen
19hr 49min 38sec
Enrico Gasparotto
@ 14sec
Matti Breschel
@ 27sec
844.6 km 42.947
2008 Jakob Fuglsang
20hr 42min 40sec
Steven Cummings
@ 9sec
Tom Stamsnijder
@ 15sec
889.5 km 42.947
2009 Jakob Fuglsang
19hr 42min 3sec
Maurizio Biondo
@ 3sec
Roger Hammond
@ 47sec
830.5 km 42.155


Content continues below the ads

Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach!
2010 Jakob Fuglsang
19hr 3min 38sec
Svein Tuft
@ 27sec
Matthew Busche
@ 1min 35sec
834.8 km 43.797
2011 Simon Gerrans
19hr 12min 1sec
Daniele Bennati
@ 9sec
Michael Mørkøv
@ 29sec
825.9 km 43.015
2012 Lieuwe Westra
20hr 41min 47sec
Ramunas Navardauskas
@ 10sec
Manuele Boaro
@ 14sec
857.5 km 41.432
2013 Wilco Kelderman
19hr 42min 37sec
Lars Ytting Bak
@ 6sec
Matti Breschel
@ 15sec
834.7 km 42.348
2014 Michael Valgren
18hr 52min 2sec
Lars Ytting Bak
@ 15sec
Manuele Boaro
@ 17sec
813.9 km 43.126
2015 Christopher Juul Jensen
19hr 42min 19sec
Lars Ytting Bak
@ 45sec
Marco Marcato
@ 49sec
878.3km 44.572
2016 Michael Valgren
16hr 41min 35sec
Magnus Nielsen
@ 10sec
Mads Schmidt
@ 57sec
758.7 km 45.450
2017 Mads Pedersen
13hr 41min 35sec
Michael Valgren
@ 15sec
Casper Pedersen
@ 46sec
567.6 km 41.452 km/hr
2018 Wout van Aert
18hr 8min 25sec
Rasmus Quaade
@ 32sec
Lasse Norman Hansen
@ 36sec
786.7km 43.368 km/hr
2019 Niklas Larsen
16hr 52min 33sec
Jonas Vingegaard
@ 11sec
Rasmus Quaade
@ 12sec
727.5 km 43.109 km/hr
2020 Race not run because of Covid-19 pandemic
2021 Remco Evenepoel
17hr 19min 17sec
Mads Pedersen
@ 1min 42sec
Mike Teunissen
@ 2min 0sec
783.3 km 45.222 km/hr
2022 Christophe Laporte
17hr 1min 20sec
Magnus Sheffield
@ 4sec
Mattias Jensen
@ 9sec
767.9 km 45.112
2023 Mads Pedersen
16hr 49min 16sec
Mattias Skjelmose
@ 41sec
Magnus Cort
@ 1min 18sec
729.6 km 43.374


Content continues below the ads

Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!