BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Olympics 50 Craziest Stories Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Advertise with us! CycleItalia cycling tours

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

Giro della Toscana (2.1), Italy

Podium history, distances, average speed

The Giro della Toscana (Tour of Tuscany) is currently a two-stage road race held in the Italian region of Tuscany.

The first edition was run in 1923 and was won by the great Costante Girardengo.

Though over the years it has been bounced around the calender, from the early 1970 until 2009, it was run in May. Since then, the Tour of Tuscany has been held in September, June, April and July.

In 1946, 1967 and 1986 the Giro della Toscana doubled as the Italian Road Championship.

At five Tour of Tuscany victories, Gino Bartali is the race's most prolific winner.

In 2005 The UCI classed the Giro della Toscana 1.1 and made it part of the Europe Tour. The race was not run in 2015, and in 2016 it became a two-stage race held in late September.

Recent podium history:


1st Place

2nd Place

3rd Place


Average Speed

2000 Ruslan Ivanov
5hr 6min 0sec
Sergio Barbero
@ s.t.
Gianluca Bortolami
@ 30sec
200 km 39.216
2001 Gorazd Stangelj
4hr 50min 45sec
Pascal Hervé
@ s.t.
Pablo Lastras
@ 41sec
194.1 km 40.055
2002 Aleksandr Shefer
4hr 44min 58sec
Paolo Bettini
@ 12sec
Giuseppe Palumbo
@ s.t.
194.1 km 40.868
2003 Rinaldo Nocentini
4hr 57min 23sec
Massimo Giunti
@ s.t.
Tadej Valjavec
@ 3sec
196 km 39.545
2004 Matteo Tosatto
3hr 56min 0sec
Alberto Ongarato
@ s.t.
Dimitri Konyshev
@ s.t.
170 km 43.220
2005 Daniele Bennati
5hr 3min 55sec
Mikhailo Khalilov
@ s.t.
Marco Velo
@ s.t.
196 km 38.695
2006 Przemyslaw Niemiec
5hr 2min 5sec
Giuliano Figueras
@ 2sec
Volodymir Duma
@ s.t.
199 km 39.525
2007 Vincenzo Nibali
4hr 41min 52sec
Matteo Priamo
@ 6sec
Boris Shpilevskiy
@ s.t.
199 km 43.360
2008 Mattia Gavazzi
4hr 45min 0sec
Francesco Chicchi
@ s.t.
Gabriele Balducci
@ s.t.
199.8 km 42.063
2009 Alessandro Petacchi
4hr 30min 0sec
Manuel Belletti
@ s.t.
Ruggero Marzoli
@ s.t.
194 km 43.111
2010 Daniele Bennati
4hr 59min 0sec
Marco Marcato
@ s.t.
Caleb Fairly
@ s.t.
196.3 km 39.391
2011 Daniel Martin
4hr 54min 0sec
Mauro Santamborgio
@ s.t.
Miguel Angel Rubiano
@ s.t.
196 km 40.00
2012 Alessandro Ballan
5hr 9min 51sec
Carlos Alberto Betancur
@ s.t.
Valerio Agnoli
@ s.t.
199 km 38.535
2013 Mattia Gavazzi
4hr 42min 3sec
Ivan Rovny
@ s.t.
Taylor Phinney
@ s.t.
200 km 42.546
2014 Pieter Weening
4hr 41min 18sec
Jerome Baugnies
@ 6sec
Roman Maikin
@ s.t.
195.6 km 41.720
2015 Race not held
2016 Daniele Benati
8hr 53min 3sec
Sonny Colbrelli
@ s.t.
Giovanni Visconti
@ s.t.
360.0 km 40.522
2017 Guillaume Martin
8hr 25min 1sec
Giovanni Visconti
@ 10sec
Mattia Cattaneo
@ 13sec
346 km 41.108 km/hr