BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It Started with a Freckle South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us! CycleItalia cycling tours

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

Grand Prix de Wallonie (1.1), Belgium

Winners, podium, distance, average speed.

The Grand Prix de Wallonie is a single-day professional bicycle race held in Wallonia (the southern, French-speaking part of Belgium). Run since 1935, the race has a semi-classic status and is generally held in September. Before 2003, the GP de Wallonie was run in May.

Two riders have won the GP de Wallonie three times, Adolf Braeckveldt and Nick Nuyens.

With a finish at the Citadel of Namur, the race is well-suited to riders with a good finishing punch like Philippe Gilbert (who has won it twice) and Nick Nuyens.

The race was not run 1940-41, 1945-48 and 1951-69

Since 2005 the UCI has ranked it 1.1 made made it part of the Europe Tour.

Recent podium history:


1st Place

2nd Place

3rd Place


Average Speed

1995 Andrea Chiurato
4hr 45min
Maarten Den Bakker
@ 52sec
Fausto Dotti
@ 1min 2sec
201.6 km 42.441 km/hr
1996 Franco Ballerini
4hr 47min
Bo Hamburger
@ 2min 26sec
Frank Corvers
@ 3min 8sec
204 km 42.647 km/hr
1997 Dimitri Konyshev
4hr 50min
Laurent Madouas
@ 1sec
Davide Casarotto
@ 29sec
199 km 41.171 km/hr
1998 Udo Bolts
5hr 8min 35sec
Rik Verbrugghe
@ s.t.
Stephane Heulot
@ 5sec
201 km 39.081
1999 Patrick Jonker
4h 41min 45sec
Leon Van Bon
@ 38sec
Koos Moerenhout
@ 40sec
196 km 41.738 km/hr
2000 Alberto Elli
4hr 42min 5sec
Didier Rous
@ 8sec
Kurt Van de Wouwer
@ 13sec
196 km 41.690 km/hr
2001 Axel Merckx
4hr 34min
Tom Stremersch
@ 4sec
Scott Sunderland
@ 50sec
196 km 42.92
2002 Dave Bruylandts
4hr 33min 0sec
Lennie Kristensen
@ 12sec
Nicolas Fritsch
@ s.t.
196 km 43.076
2003 Dave Bruylandts
4hr 36min 56sec
Marek Rutkiewicz
@ 2sec
Mickael Pichon
@ s.t.
199.8 km 43.288
2004 Nick Nuyens
4hr 56min 19sec
Philippe Gilbert
@ 1sec
Jérome Pineau
@ s.t.
193 km 39.079
2005 Nick Nuyens
4hr 24min 24sec
Björn Leukemens
@ s.t.
Igor Abakoumov
@ s.t.
193.1 km 43.819 km/hr
2006 Philippe Gilbert
4hr 57min 53sec
Nick Nuyens
@ s.t.
William Bonnet
@ 3sec
203.2 km 40.928
2007 Bert de Waele
5hr 11min 50sec
Cédric Vasseur
@ s.t.
Thor Hushovd
@ 2sec
203.2 km 39.097
2008 Stefano Garzelli
4hr 43min 53sec
Giovanni Visconti
@ s.t.
Jérome Pineau
@ s.t.
200.5 km 42.376
2009 Nick Nuyens
4hr 46min 13sec
Allan Davis
@ s.t.
Roy Sentjens
@ s.t.
2010 Paul Martens
4hr 56min 12sec
Riccardo Ricco
@ s.t.
Cadel Evans
@ s.t.
202.4 km 40.998
2011 Philippe Gilbert
5hr 0min 8sec
Julien Simon
@ 2sec
Björn Leukemans
@ s.t.
203.1 km 40.602
2012 Julien Simon
4hr 45min 51sec
Greg van Avermaet
@ s.t.
Björn Leukemans
@ 1sec
203.1 km 42.631
2013 Jan Bakelants
4hr 54min 47sec
Thomas Voeckler
@ s.t.
Mathias Frank
@ 8sec
203.1 km 41.339 km/hr
2014 Greg van Avermaet
4hr 47min 17sec
Tony Gallopin
@ 2sec
Jan Bakelants
198.2 km 41.395
2015 Jens Debusschere
4hr 57min 37sec
Jan Bakelants
@ 6sec
Christophe Laporte
@ 7sec
198.2 km 39.96
2016 Tony Gallopin
5hr 6min 17sec
Petr Vakoc
@ s.t.
Jérome Baugnies
@ 1sec
205.5 km 40.257 km/hr
2017 Tim Wellens
5hr 26min 0sec
Tony Gallopin
@ 1min 22sec
Julien Simon @ 1min 23sec 212.1 km 39.04 km/hr