BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Giro d'Italia, volume one Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycle Italia cycling tours Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2014 Grand Prix de Wallonie (1.1), Belgium

55th edition: Wednesday, September 17, 2014

Grand Prix de Wallonie podium history | 2015 edition

Chaudfontaine - Namur, 198.2 km

The Race: With twenty kilometers to go, Frank Schleck initiated what turned out to be the winning move. His acceleration drew Jan Bakelants, Jelle Vanendert and Greg van Avermaet.

Bakelants hammered the others with repeated attacks, but to no avail, except perhaps to allow the peloton to get close to the escapees.

Close to the finish Tony Gallopin bridged. Up the hill to the Citadel of Namur, it was Van Avermaet who had the power, enabling him to slightly distance a very strong Gallopin, who probably waited to long to join the front group and didn't have the suds to stay with van Avermaet.

Certainly with their sparkling form, Van Avermaet and Gallopin will be threats at the World Championships

Complete Results:

Winner's average speed: 41.395 km/hr

1 Greg Van Avermaet BMC 4hr 47min 17sec
2 Tony Gallopin Lotto-Belisol @ 2 seconds
3 Jan Bakelants Omega Pharma-Quick Step
4 Jelle Vanendert Lotto-Belisol 4"
5 Rory Sutherland Tinkoff-Saxo 6"
6 Dylan Teuns BMC
7 Julien Simon Cofidis, Solutions Credits
8 Frank Schleck Trek Factory Racing
9 Thibaut Pinot FDJ 8"
10 Gaetan Bille Verandas Willems 9"
11 Florian Vachon Bretagne-Séché Environnement
12 Yves Lampaert Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise
13 Steve Morabito BMC
14 Gianluca Brambilla Omega Pharma-Quick Step 13"
15 Björn Leukemans Wanty-Groupe Gobert 21"
16 Oliver Naesen Lotto-Belisol 23"
17 Tiesj Benoot Lotto-Belisol 24"
18 Franck Bonnamour Bretagne-Séché Environnement
19 Pierre-Henri Lecuisinier FDJ
20 Floris De Tier Belkin
21 Jimmy Turgis Roubaix Lille Metropole
22 Benjamin Declercq Belkin
23 Boris Dron Wallonie-Bruxelles
24 Loic Vliegen BMC
25 Laurent Didier Trek Factory Racing 31"
26 Victor Campenaerts Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise 44"
27 Romain Lemarchand Cofidis, Solutions Credits 56"
28 Gijs Van Hoecke Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise +1:08
29 Ivan Rovny Tinkoff-Saxo +1:28
30 Olivier Pardini Verandas Willems +1:51
31 Francis De Greef Wanty-Groupe Gobert +3:22
32 Jay Mccarthy Tinkoff-Saxo +3:50
33 Sebastien Carabin T Palm +4:09
34 Antoine Warnier Color Code +4:11
35 Olivier Le Gac FDJ
36 Matti Breschel Tinkoff-Saxo +4:15
37 Mikael Cherel Ag2r +4:45
38 Jonathan Dufrasne Wallonie-Bruxelles
39 Thomas Wertz Color Code +5:33
40 Tom Dernies Wallonie-Bruxelles
41 Jelle Wallays Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise
42 Bob Schoonbroodt Verandclassic-Doltcini +5:45
43 Edward Theuns Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise +6:11
44 Florent Delfosse Color Code
45 Kenneth Van Rooy Belkin
46 Jasper De Buyst Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise
47 Calvin Watson Trek Factory Racing
48 Julien Stassen Wallonie-Bruxelles
49 Armindo Fonseca Bretagne-Séché Environnement
50 Kevin Van Melsen Wanty-Groupe Gobert
51 Jean-Pierre Drucker Wanty-Groupe Gobert
52 Sten Van Gucht Verandas Willems
53 Zdenek Stybar Omega Pharma-Quick Step
54 Laurent Evrard Wallonie-Bruxelles
55 Karsten Kroon Tinkoff-Saxo
56 Gaëtan Pons Color Code
57 Willem Wauters Verandas Willems
58 Zico Waeytens Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise
59 Stijn Devolder Trek Factory Racing
60 Pieter Jacobs Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise
61 Sean De Bie Lotto-Belisol
62 Quentin Jauregui Roubaix Lille Metropole
63 Julien Berard Ag2r
64 Julian Kern Ag2r
65 François Bidard Ag2r
66 Clement Chevrier Trek Factory Racing
67 Romain Bardet Ag2r
68 Jonas Rickaert Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise
69 Kevin De Weert Omega Pharma-Quick Step
70 Dennis Vanendert Lotto-Belisol
71 Laurens De Vreese Wanty-Groupe Gobert
72 Nicolas Edet Cofidis, Solutions Credits
73 Rein Taaramae Cofidis, Solutions Credits
74 Serge De Wortelaer Verandclassic-Doltcini
75 Tom Goovaerts Verandclassic-Doltcini
76 Rudy Molard Cofidis, Solutions Credits
77 Cyril Lemoine Cofidis, Solutions Credits
78 Pierre-Luc Perrichon Bretagne-Séché Environnement +12:03
79 Xandro Meurisse Lotto-Belisol
80 Christophe Laborie Bretagne-Séché Environnement
81 Dieter Bouvry Belkin
82 Rick Zabel BMC
83 Alex Kirsch Trek Factory Racing
84 Dries Van Gestel Belkin
85 Boris Vallee Lotto-Belisol
86 Jean-Lou Paiani Roubaix Lille Metropole
87 Eduard Alexander Beltran Suarez Tinkoff-Saxo
88 Antoine Demoitie Wallonie-Bruxelles
89 Sébastien Delfosse Wallonie-Bruxelles
90 Remy Mertz Color Code
91 Aimé Degendt Belkin
92 Joachim Vanreyten Belkin +15:21
93 Andrew Ydens T Palm
94 Jean-Albert Carnevali Verandas Willems
95 Marc Sarreau FDJ
96 Rick Ottema Verandclassic-Doltcini +18:20
97 Guillaume Martin FDJ +18:49
98 Tom Vessey T Palm +18:52
99 Louis Convens Verandas Willems +19:10