BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Paris-Roubaix: The Inside Story Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycle Italia cycling tours Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1987 Paris - Roubaix

85th edition: Sunday, April 12, 1987

Paris-Roubaix podium history | 1988 edition | 1986 edition

264 km. 192 starters, 47 classified finishers, plus 3 beyond the time limit.

Eric Vanderaerden

Eric Vanderaerden

The Race: Wet, muddy and slippery. Sean Kelly fell on wet cobbles at the 25-kilometers to go point, holding up most of the favorites. Eric Vanderaerden attacked right then and immediately had a gap. He rode away from the field and caught three breakaways (Rudy Dhaenens, Patrick Versluys and Philippe Vandenbrande) who had been away for a long time. They rode to the finish together, where Vanderaerden easily won the sprint.

Complete Results:

  1. Eric Vanderaerden (Panasonic) 7hr 18min 3sec. 36.982 km/hr
  2. Patrick Versluys (AD Renting) s.t.
  3. Rudy Dhaenens (Hitachi) s.t.
  4. Philippe Vandenbrande (Hitachi) @ 2sec
  5. Edwig Van Hooydonck (Superconfex) @ 1min 54sec
  6. Bruno Wojtinek (Z) @ 2min 37sec
  7. Marc Sergeant (Lotto) s.t.
  8. Nico Verhoeven (Superconfex) s.t.
  9. Bruno Lealli (Carrera Jeans) s.t.
  10. Martial Gayant (Système U) @ 3min 4sec
  11. Hennie Kuiper (Roland) @ 3min 12sec
  12. Etienne De Wilde (Sigma Coatings) @ 3min 17sec
  13. Sean Kelly (KAS) s.t.
  14. Fritz Pirard (Sigma Coatings) s.t.
  15. Jan Wijnants (Hitachi) s.t.
  16. Eddy Planckaert (Panasonic) s.t.
  17. Gilbert Duclos-Lassalle (Z) s.t.
  18. Guido Bontempi (Carrera Jeans) s.t.
  19. Francesco Moser (Supermercati Brianzoli) s.t.
  20. André Meuwissen (Hitachi) s.t.
  21. Thierry Marie (Système U) s.t.
  22. Jozef Lieckens (Lotto) @ 3min 31sec
  23. Noël Segers (Lucas-Mullers) @ 5min 25sec
  24. Pello Ruiz-Cabestany (Seat) @ 6min 44sec
  25. Theo De Rooy (Panasonic) s.t.
  26. Jean-Marie Wampers (Hitachi) s.t.
  27. Marc Madiot (Système U) s.t.
  28. Frank Hoste (Fagor) s.t.
  29. Herman Frison (Roland) s.t.
  30. Dag-Otto Lauritzen (7-Eleven) @ 8min 20sec
  31. Gilbert Glaus (Z) s.t.
  32. Alain Bondue (Système U) @ 9min 12sec
  33. Jean-Luc Vandenbroucke (KAS) @ 9min 47sec
  34. Roger Ilegems (Sigma Coatings) @ 9min 49sec
  35. Jos Lammertink (Transvemij) s.t.
  36. Gerrit Solleveld (Superconfex) @ 9min 52sec
  37. Adri Van der Poel (PDM) s.t.
  38. Pol Verschuere (Fagor) @ 13min 0sec
  39. Ferdi Van den Haute (AD Renting) s.t.
  40. Peter Hoondert (PDM) @ 14min 49sec
  41. John Talen (Panasonic) s.t.
  42. Marc Gomez (Reynolds) s.t.
  43. Jörg Muller (PDM) @ 16min 12sec
  44. Michel Vermote (RMO) @ 16min 42sec
  45. Luc Colijn (Système U) s.t.
  46. Marco Bergamo (Carrera Jeans) s.t.
  47. Marc Van der Hulst @ 18min 26sec

Outside the time limit:

  1. Bob Roll (7-Eleven) @ 39min 0sec
  2. Jonathan Boyer (7-Eleven) @ 48min 7sec
  3. Andrew Hampsten (7-Eleven) s.t.