BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Dirty Feet South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1978 Paris - Roubaix

76th edition: Sunday, April 16, 1978

Paris-Roubaix podium history | 1979 edition | 1977 edition

263 km. 141 starters, 40 classified finishers

The Race: Rain midway through the race. Because Francesco Moser and Roger de Vlaeminck (who had won Milano-San Remo a few weeks before) were on the same team they made a deal not to attack each other during Paris-Roubaix, which was important to both of them. Moser initiated the winning move with 23 kilometers to go, taking along de Vlaeminck, Freddy Maertens and Jan Raas. A few kilometers later, on the Wannehain sector of cobbles (where de Vlaeminck had planned to escape) Moser attacked. De Vlaeminck could only watch as Moser powered away to win his first Paris-Roubaix.

Complete Results:

  1. Francesco Moser (Sanson-Campagnolo) 7hr 12min 24sec. 36.49 km/hr
  2. Roger de Vlaeminck (Sanson-Campagnolo) @ 1min 40sec
  3. Jan Raas (TI-Raleigh) s.t.
  4. Freddy Maertens (Flandria-Velda) s.t.
  5. Ferdi Van den Haute (Marc-Zeepcentrale-Superia) @ 4min 11sec
  6. Hennie Kuiper (TI-Raleigh) @ 4min 26sec
  7. Guido Van Sweelvelt (Ijsboerke) @ 5min 21sec
  8. Herman van Springel (Marc-Zeepcentrale-Superia) s.t.
  9. Ronan Demeyer (Marc-Zeepcentrale-Superia) s.t.
  10. Marc Demeyer (Flandria-Velda) @ 5min 49sec
  11. Walter Godefroot (Ijsboerke) s.t.
  12. Dietrich Thurau (Ijsboerke) s.t.
  13. Bernard Hinault (Renault-Gitane) @ 7min 19sec
  14. Piet van Katwijk (TI-Raleigh) s.t.
  15. Willy Teirlinck (Renault-Gitane) s.t.
  16. Pol Verschuere (Flandria-Velda) @ 9min 55sec
  17. Marcello Osler (Selle Royal-Inoxpran) @ 10min 47sec
  18. Gregor Braun (Peugeot) @ 11min 45sec
  19. Cees Bal (Bode Deuren) @ 12min 40sec
  20. Jan Aling (Marc-Zeepcentrale-Superia) s.t.
  21. Walter Naegels (Avia-Groene Leeuw) s.t.
  22. Joop Zoetemelk (Miko-Mercier) @ 15min 9sec
  23. José De Cauwer (TI-Raleigh) @ 17min 2sec
  24. Alain De Saever (Marc-Zeepcentrale-Superia) s.t.
  25. Cees Priem (TI-Raleigh) s.t.
  26. Joseph Jacobs (Ijsboerke) s.t.
  27. Lieven Malfait (Avia-Groene Leeuw) @ 18min 21sec
  28. Gilbert Duclos-Lassalle (Peugeot) s.t.
  29. Henk Lubberding (TI-Raleigh) s.t.
  30. Yves Hézard (Peugeot) s.t.
  31. Dirk Baert (Carlos-Galli) @ 21min 49sec
  32. Yvon Bertin (Renault-Gitane) s.t.
  33. Jan Van Katwijk (Marc-Zeepcentrale-Superia) s.t.
  34. Herman Beysens (Flandria-Velda) s.t.
  35. Frans Van Vlierberghe (Carlos-Galli) s.t.
  36. Roger Verschaeve (Flandria-Velda) @ 28min 18sec
  37. Franky de Gendt (TI-Raleigh) @ 31min 47sec
  38. Jorgen Marcussen (Avia-Groene Leeuw) @ 50min 32sec
  39. Col Moritz (Bode Deuren) s.t.
  40. Luc de Keyser (Avia-Groene Leeuw) @ 56min 40sec