BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Dirty Feet South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1977 Paris - Roubaix

75th edition: Sunday, April 17, 1977

Paris-Roubaix podium history | 1978 edition | 1976 edition

250.5 km. 149 starters, 43 classified finishers

Roger de Vlaeminck in 1986

Roger de Vlaeminck (profile) in 1986

The Race: There were 22 riders left in the front group with about 30 kilometers remaining. Soon thereafter Roger de Vlaeminck flew away and was never seen again to earn his record-setting fourth Paris-Roubaix win. Only Tom Boonen has managed to equal de Vlaeminck's four wins.

Complete Results:

  1. Roger de Vlaeminck (Brooklyn) 6hr 11min 26sec. 40.464 km/hr
  2. Willy Teirlinck (Gitane-Campagnolo) @ 1min 30sec
  3. Freddy Maertens (Flandria-Velda) @ 1min 39sec
  4. Ronald de Witte (Brooklyn) s.t.
  5. Piet van Katwijk (TI-Raleigh) s.t.
  6. Jan Raas (Frisol-Gazelle) s.t.
  7. Willem Peeters (Ijsboerke) s.t.
  8. Dietrich Thurau (TI-Raleigh) s.t.
  9. Herman van Springel (Ijsboerke) s.t.
  10. Hennie Kuiper (TI-Raleigh) s.t.
  11. Eddy Merckx (Fiat) s.t.
  12. Raymond Poulidor (Miko-Mercier) s.t.
  13. Francesco Moser (Sanson) s.t.
  14. Marc Demeyer (Flandria-Velda) s.t.
  15. Walter Godefroot (Ijsboerke) s.t.
  16. Jean-Luc Vandenbroucke (Peugeot) s.t.
  17. Willy de Geest (Brooklyn) s.t.
  18. André Dierickx (Maes Pils-Mini Flat) s.t.
  19. Michel Pollentier (Flandria-Velda) s.t.
  20. Jacques Martin (Fiat) s.t.
  21. Joop Zoetemelk (Miko-Mercier) s.t.
  22. Walter Planckaert (Maes Pils-Mini Flat) @ 5min 23sec
  23. Cees Priem (Frisol-Gazelle) s.t.
  24. Guido van Sweevelt (Ijsboerke) s.t.
  25. Roger Rosiers (Frisol-Gazelle) s.t.
  26. Pol Verschure (Flandria-Velda) @ 15min 24sec
  27. Jean-Jacques Fussien (FFC) @ 18min 54sec
  28. Vittorio Algeri (G.B.C.)@ 19min 13sec
  29. Gérard Simonot (Peugeot) s.t.
  30. Roy Schuiten (Lejeune) s.t.
  31. Ronny van Marcke (Carlos-Gipiemme) @ 19min 59sec
  32. Joël Hauvieux (Lejeune) s.t.
  33. Roland Berland (Gitane-Campagnolo) s.t.
  34. Carlos Cuyle (Flandria-Velda) s.t.
  35. Jean-Pierre Danguillaume (Peugeot) s.t.
  36. André Mollet (Maes Pils-Mini Flat) s.t.
  37. Bernard Draux (Fiat) @ 26min 27sec
  38. Gregor Braun (Peugeot) s.t.
  39. Bruno Vicino (G.B.C.) @ 35min 1sec
  40. Keith Lambert (Holdsworth-Campagnolo) s.t.
  41. Dirk Baert (Carlos-Gipiemme) s.t.
  42. Geoff Wiles (Holdsworth-Campagnolo) s.t.
  43. Phil Corley (Holdsworth-Campagnolo) s.t.