BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Dirty Feet South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1974 Paris - Roubaix

72nd edition: Sunday, April 7, 1974

Paris-Roubaix podium history | 1975 edition | 1973 edition

274 km. 176 starters, 55 classified finishers

Roger de Vlaeminck

Roger de Vlaeminck

The Race: This year there was no Wallers-Arenberg sector of pavé. After several attempts to break away, Francesco Moser went clear with Walter Godefroot at about 29 kilometers to go. Godefroot punctured and was unable to regain Moser's wheel. Meanwhile Roger de Vlaeminck bolted and eventually bridged up to Moser. Moser slipped and crashed in a corner and in an instant de Vlaeminck was well and truly gone to win his second Paris-Roubaix

Complete Results:

  1. Roger de Vlaeminck (Brooklyn) 7hr 17min 26sec. 37.582 km/hr
  2. Francesco Moser (Filotex) @ 57sec
  3. Marc Demeyer (Flandria-Carpenter) @ 1min 24sec
  4. Eddy Merckx (Molteni) s.t.
  5. Eric Leman (MIC-De Gribaldy) s.t.
  6. André Dierickx (Merlin Plage-Flandria) s.t.
  7. Freddy Maertens (Flandria-Carpenter) @ 4min 26sec
  8. Herman van Springel (MIC-De Gribaldy) s.t.
  9. Herman Vrijders (MIC-De Gribaldy) s.t.
  10. Michel Périn (Gan-Mercier) s.t.
  11. Jan van Katwijk (Tim Oil-Novy) s.t.
  12. Johan de Muynck (Brooklyn) s.t.
  13. Enrico Paolini (SCIC) @ 5min 14sec
  14. Louis Verreydt (Ijsboerke) s.t.
  15. Alain Santy (Gan-Mercier) s.t.
  16. Willy de Geest (Rikado) s.t.
  17. Georges Pintens (MIC-De Gribaldy) s.t.
  18. Walter Godefroot (Flandria-Carpenter) @ 7min 38sec
  19. Eddy Peelman (Bic) @ 8min 11sec
  20. José De Cauwer (Sonolor-Gitane) @ 10min 9sec
  21. Walter Planckaert (Watney-Maes) s.t.
  22. Charly Rouxel (Peugeot) @ 11min 4sec
  23. Ronny Van de Vijver (Ijsboerke) @ 12min 6sec
  24. Raymond Poulidor (Gan-Mercier) @ 12min 46sec
  25. Sylvain Vasseur (Bic) s.t.
  26. Robert Mintkiewicz (Sonolor-Gitane) s.t.
  27. René Dillen (Sonolor-Gitane) s.t.
  28. Gustav Hermans (Rokado) @ 15min 4sec
  29. Rik van Linden (Ijsboerke) @ 16min 35sec
  30. Ronny van Marcke (MIC-De Gribaldy) s.t.
  31. Julien Stevens (Ijsboerke) s.t.
  32. Lieven Malfait (Watney-Maes) @ 18min 47sec
  33. Barry Hoban (Gan-Mercier) @ 18min 54sec
  34. Robert Poggiali (Filotex) s.t.
  35. Adriano Passuello (Brooklyn) s.t.
  36. Gérard Besnard (Sonolor-Gitane) s.t.
  37. Jacques Botherel (Sonolor-Gitane) s.t.
  38. Celestino Vercelli (SCIC) s.t.
  39. Jean-Jacques Fussien (Bic) s.t.
  40. Joseph Fuchs (Filotex) s.t.
  41. Pierre Tosi (Jobo-Lejeune) s.t.
  42. Hennie Kuiper (Rokado) s.t.
  43. Jean-Pierre Berckmans (Molteni) s.t.
  44. Maurice Le Guilloux (Sonolor-Gitane) s.t.
  45. Christian Palka (Bic) s.t.
  46. Lucien de Brauwere (Flandria-Carpenter) s.t.
  47. Victor van Schil (Molteni) s.t.
  48. Alain Vasseur (Bic) s.t.
  49. Ghislain van Landeghem (Merlin Plage-Shimano) s.t.
  50. Cees Bal (Gan-Mercier) s.t.
  51. Karl-Heinz Kuster (Rokado) @ 30min 49sec
  52. Antonio Menendez (KAS) s.t.
  53. Joël Huavieux (Magiglace-Juaneda) s.t.
  54. Roger Legeay (Magiglace-Juaneda) @ 37min 51sec
  55. Gerrie Knetemann (Gan-Mercier) @ 38min 25sec