BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Dirty Feet South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1973 Paris - Roubaix

71st edition: Sunday, April 15, 1973

Paris-Roubaix podium history | 1974 edition | 1972 edition

272 km. 138 starters, 35 classified finishers

The Race: The first major selection occurred at the Wallers-Arenberg sector of cobbles where a 16-rider lead group emerged. Then, from out of the Bouvignies pavé it was down to Roger de Vlaeminck and Eddy Merckx. De Vlaeminck had severely injured his arm in Gent-Wevelghem and couldn't hold Merckx's wheel. That was the race. Merckx rode solo for 44 kilometers to handily win his third Paris-Roubaix.

Complete Results:

  1. Eddy Merckx (Molteni) 7hr 28min 43sec. 36.37 km/hr
  2. Walter Godefroot (Flandria-Shimano-Carpenter) @ 2min 20sec
  3. Roger Rosiers (Bic) s.t.
  4. Walter Planckaert (Watney-Maes) @ 7min 18sec
  5. Freddy Maertens (Flandria-Shimano-Carpenter) s.t.
  6. Frans Verbeeck (Watney-Maes) @ 7min 46sec
  7. Roger de Vlaeminck (Brooklyn) s.t.
  8. Herman van Springel (Rokado) s.t.
  9. Régis Delépine (Gan-Mercier) @ 11min 53sec
  10. Raymond Poulidor (Gan-Mercier) s.t.
  11. Michel Périn (Gan-Mercier) s.t.
  12. Julien van Lint (Brooklyn) s.t.
  13. Willy van Malderghem (Ijsboerke) s.t.
  14. Cyrille Guimard (Gan-Mercier) @ 12min 34sec
  15. Ole Ritter (Bianchi) s.t.
  16. Sylvain Vasseur (Bic) @ 15min 27sec
  17. Georges Pintens (Rokado) s.t.
  18. Noël van Clooster (Ijsboerke) s.t.
  19. Karl-Heinz Kunde (Rokado) @ 19min 19sec
  20. Nemesio Jimenez (KAS) @ 19min 50sec
  21. Cees Koeken (Canada Dry-Gazelle) @ 20min 50sec
  22. Johnny Schleck (Bic) s.t.
  23. Santiago Lazcano (KAS) s.t.
  24. Mathijs De Koning (Canada Dry-Gazelle) @ 20min 4sec
  25. Jean-Claude Meunier (Peugeot) s.t.
  26. Leif Mortensen (Bic) s.t.
  27. Tino Tabak (Sonolor) s.t.
  28. Gustav van Roosbroeck (Rokado) @ 24min 46sec
  29. Luis Ocaña (Bic) @ 25min 44sec
  30. Alain Santy (Bic) @ 26min 32sec
  31. Hennie Kuiper (Rokado) @ 27min 36sec
  32. Alain Nogues (Gitane-Frigecreme) s.t.
  33. Robert Mintkiewicz (Sonolor) @ 28min 49sec
  34. Alfred Gaida (Rokado) @ 35min 55sec
  35. Michel Rocques (Sonolor) @ 36min 9sec