BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Dirty Feet South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1971 Paris - Roubaix

69th edition: Sunday, April 18, 1971

Paris-Roubaix podium history | 1972 edition | 1970 edition

265.2 km. 135 starters, 45 classified finishers

The Race: With about thirty kilometers to go, Eric de Vlaeminck left the leading group of twelve. Very quickly Roger Rosiers bridged up to him and then, feeling very strong, left de Vlaeminck behind. Despite a chasing group that included Eddy Merckx, Jan Janssen and Felice Gimondi, Rosiers extended his lead with every pedal stroke. His win was particularly admirable given he had suffered one crash and two flat tires.

Complete Results:

  1. Roger Rosiers (Bic) 6hr 17min 53sec. 42.11 km/hr
  2. Herman van Springel (Molteni) @ 1min 26sec
  3. Marino Basso (Molteni) s.t.
  4. Jan Janssen (Bic) s.t.
  5. Eddy Merckx (Molteni) s.t.
  6. Eric Leman (Mars-Flandria) s.t.
  7. Roger de Vlaeminck (Mars-Flandria) s.t.
  8. Felice Gimondi (Salvarani) s.t.
  9. Eric de Vlaeminck (Mars-Flandria) @ 4min 26sec
  10. Georges Pintens (Hertekamp-Magniflex) s.t.
  11. Raymond Poulidor (Mercier-Fagor) s.t.
  12. Jean Jourden (Peugeot) s.t.
  13. Walter Godefroot (Peugeot) @ 5min 15sec
  14. Frans Verbeeck (Watney-Avia) s.t.
  15. Joseph Bruyère (Molteni) @ 6min 29sec
  16. Barry Hoban (Sonolor-Lejeune) @ 8min 27sec
  17. Josef Spruyt (Molteni) s.t.
  18. Johnny Schleck (Bic) s.t.
  19. Wim Schepers (Goudsmit-Hoff) s.t.
  20. Walter Planckaert (Goldor) @ 9min 29sec
  21. Cyrille Guimard (Mercier-Fagor) s.t.
  22. Leif Mortensen (Bic) s.t.
  23. Francis Campaner (Bic) s.t.
  24. Joop Zoetemelk (Mars-Flandria) s.t.
  25. Michel Périn (Mercier-Fagor) @ 11min 32sec
  26. Gerben Karstens (Goudsmit-Hoff) @ 11min 50sec
  27. Willy Teirlinck (Sonolor-Lejeune) s.t.
  28. Willy Van den Eynde (Watney-Avia) s.t.
  29. Wilfried David (Peugeot) s.t.
  30. Daniel van Ryckeghem (Sonolor-Lejeune) s.t.
  31. Jozef Huysmans (Molteni) s.t.
  32. Victor van Schil (Molteni) s.t.
  33. Lucien Aimar (Sonolor-Leujeune) s.t.
  34. Jean-Marie Leblanc (Bic) s.t.
  35. Attilio Benfatto (SCIC) s.t.
  36. Englebert Opdebeeck (Watney Avia) s.t.
  37. Primo Mori (Salvarani) s.t.
  38. Jean-Pierre Genêt (Mercier-Fagor) @ 20min 1sec
  39. Frans Kerreman (Herteknap-Magniflex) s s.t.
  40. Désiré Letort (Bic) @ 22min 49sec
  41. Philippe Crépel (Bic) s.t.
  42. Charly Rouxel (Peugeot) s.t.
  43. Raymond Riotte (Sonolor-Lejeune) s.t.
  44. Yves Hézard (Sonolor-Leujeune) @ 29min 42sec
  45. Gérard Moneyron (Hoover-De Gribaldy) s.t.