BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Dirty Feet South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1966 Paris - Roubaix

64th edition: Sunday, April 17, 1966

Paris-Roubaix podium history | 1967 edition | 1965 edition

262.5 km. 134 starters, 58 classified finishers

Felice Gimondi

Felice Gimondi

Very cold rain. Despite a stellar field of Belgians (Merckx, van Looy, Godefroot, Sels, Planckaert, Foré, etc.) Felice Gimondi was able to escape with about 35 kilometers to go. Knowing he would be crushed in a sprint finish, he quickly built a substantial lead that turned out to be impervious to the Belgian chase.

A kind reader who was at the finish said that Gimondi was able to take a shower before the awards ceremony while Jan Jansen & Gustave Desmet had "mud blankets".

Complete results:

Raymond Poulidor came in 17th, but was disqualified for an illegal bike change

  1. Felice Gimondi (Salvarani) 6hr 59min 26sec. 37.546 km/hr
  2. Jan Janssen (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) @ 4min 8sec
  3. Gustave Desmet (Wiel's-Greone Leeuw-Gancia) s.t.
  4. Willy Planckaert (Romeo-Smiths) s.t.
  5. Josef Huysmans (Mann-Grundig) s.t.
  6. Rudi Altig (Molteni) s.t.
  7. Willy Bocklant (Mann-Grundig) s.t.
  8. Arthur de Cabooter (Wiel's-Greone Leeuw-Gancia) s.t.
  9. Rik van Looy (Solo-Superia) s.t.
  10. Gerben Karstens (Televizier-Batavus) s.t.
  11. Bernard Vanderkerckhove (Ford France) s.t.
  12. Jo De Roo (Televizier-Batavus) @ 4min 22sec
  13. Adriano Durante (Salvarani) s.t.
  14. Guido De Rosso (Molteni) s.t.
  15. Eddy Merckx (Peugeot-BP-Michelin) s.t.
  16. Michel Grain (Ford France-Hutchinson) s.t.
  17. Frans Brands (Romeo-Smiths) @ 4min 56sec
  18. Jaak de Boever (Wiel's-Greone Leeuw-Gancia) s.t.
  19. Jean Graczyk (Ford France-Hutchinson) s.t.
  20. Walter Godefroot (Wiel's-Greone Leeuw-Gancia) s.t.
  21. Edouard Delberghe (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) @ 5min 16sec
  22. Jozef Spruyt (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) @ 5min 31sec
  23. Yvo Molenaers (Romeo-Smiths) @ 6min 13sec
  24. Michele Dancelli (Molteni) @ 6min 28sec
  25. Gilbert Desmet (Romeo-Smiths) s.t.
  26. Gianni Motta (Molteni) s.t.
  27. Lucien Aimar (Ford France-Hutchinson) @ 7min 7sec
  28. Georges Vandenberghe (Romeo-Smiths) @ 10min 2sec
  29. Huub Zilverberg (Televizier-Batavus) @ 10min 16sec
  30. Peter Post (Solo-Superia) s.t.
  31. André Foucher (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.
  32. Georges Vanconingsloo (Peugeot-BP-Michelin) s.t.
  33. Edward Sels (Solo-Superia) s.t.
  34. Jean-Claude Annaert (Ford France-Hutchinson) @ 10min 57sec
  35. Alain Le Grevès (Kamome-Dilecta-Dunlop) s.t.
  36. Julien Stevens (Solo-Superia) s.t.
  37. Jean-Pierre Genêt (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) @ 13min 48sec
  38. Francis Bazire (Peugeot-BP-Michelin) @ 14min 15sec
  39. Johnny Schleck (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) @ 14min 55sec
  40. Anatole Novak (Ford France-Hutchinson) s.t.
  41. Arie Den Hartog (Ford France-Hutchinson) s.t.
  42. Roger Milliot (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.
  43. Jos Van der Vleuten (Televizier-Batavus) @ 15min 44sec
  44. Rudi Zollinger (Tigra-Meltina-De Gribaldy) s.t.
  45. Vincent Denson (Ford France-Hutchinson) @ 16min 5sec
  46. Bruno Fantinato (Salvarani) @ 16min 7sec
  47. Piet Braspennincx (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) @ 16min 50sec
  48. Albertus Geldermans (Molteni) s.t.
  49. Roger Baguet (Solo-Superia) @ 17min 35sec
  50. Willi Altig (Molteni) @ 21min 15sec
  51. Vittorio Pesenti (Salvarani) @ 21min 46sec
  52. Bastiaan Maliepaard (Televizier-Batavus) s.t.
  53. Daniel Labrouille (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.
  54. Daniel Salmon (Kamome-Dilecta-Dunlop) @ 29min 17sec
  55. Jozef Timmerman (Wiel's-Greone Leeuw-Gancia) s.t.
  56. Albert Herger (Tigra-Meltina-De Gribaldy) s.t.
  57. André Messelis (Mann-Grundig) s.t.
  58. Henk Nijdam (Televizier-Batavus) s.t.