BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Tour of Flanders: The Inside Story South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycle Italia cycling tours Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1920 Paris - Roubaix

21st edition: Sunday, April 4, 1920

Paris-Roubaix podium history | 1919 edition | 1921 edition

280 km. 93 starters and 22 classified finishers

Icy rain. Attrition brought the lead group down to four: Lucien Buysse, Paul Deman, Honoré Barthélémy and Henri Pélissier, two Belgians and two Frenchmen. By the time Deman was within two kilometers of Roubaix, he had lost the others; Pélissier suffered a puncture and Buysse and Barthélémy had mechanical trouble. Deman, the winner of the first Tour of Flanders in 1913, had started the 1920 Paris-Roubaix just to see if he could finish it. Indeed he could.

Paul Deman

Winner Paul Deman

Complete Results:

  1. Paul Deman: 10hr 47min 20sec. 25.95 km/hr
  2. Eugène Christophe @ 43sec
  3. Lucien Buysse s.t.
  4. Honoré Barthélémy (La Sportive) @ 1min 0sec
  5. Jules Van Hevel @ 6min 23sec
  6. Henri Pélissier (JB Louvet) @ 7min 26sec
  7. Robert Gerbaud s.t.
  8. Giuseppe Azzini (Bianchi-Pirelli) @ 15min 40sec
  9. Félix Goethals (La Sportive) @ 16min 40sec
  10. Marcel Buysse (Bianchi-Pirelli) @ 27min 42sec
  11. Henri Hanlet @ 39min 40sec
  12. Jules Masselis (La Sportive) s.t.
  13. Heiri Suter (Stucchi-Dunlop) @ 41min 40sec
  14. Henri Van Lerberghe @ 59min 40sec
  15. Hector Heusghem (La Sportive) @ 1hr 20min
  16. Ernest Géry s.t.
  17. Ernest Lemaire s.t.
  18. Jules Matton @ 1hr 33sec
  19. Guillaume Theys @ 1hr @ 1hr 35min
  20. Eugène Dhers (La Sportive) @ 1hr 36min
  21. Joseph Schoettel s.t.
  22. Camille Botte (JB Louvet) s.t.