BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Dirty Feet South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1912 Paris - Roubaix

17th edition: Sunday, April 7, 1912

Paris-Roubaix podium history | 1911 edition | 1913 edition

266 km. Number of starters and classified finishers is unknown. Time splits to 18th place were rounded and are unavailable for riders who finished after that.

Sunny, excellent weather. Charles Crupelandt was the first rider on the the Roubaix velodrome, but he was quickly joined by six others. Crupelandt had the good fortune to get a leadout from his teammate Octave Lapize. The help from Lapize (Tour de France champion and three-time Paris-Roubaix winner) combined with Crupelandt's own track smarts (he lived in Roubaix and trained on the velodrome) were enough to give the town of Roubaix the pleasure of seeing a hometown boy win.

Charles Crupelandt

Charles Crupelandt

Complete known Results:

  1. Charles Crupelandt (La Française-Diamant) 8hr 30min. 31.3 km/hr
  2. Gustave Garrigou (Alcyon-Dunlop) s.t.
  3. Maurice Léturgie (Automoto) s.t.
  4. Octave Lapize (La Française-Diamant) s.t.
  5. Odiel Defraye (Dunlop) s.t.
  6. Jules Masselis s.t.
  7. Charles Deruyter (Peugeot-Wolber) s.t.
  8. Joseph Van Daele (JB Louvet) @ 6min
  9. Eugène Platteau s.t.
  10. Paul Deman @ 8min
  11. Carlo Durando (Peugeot-Wolber) @ 10min
  12. Louis Heusghem (Alcyon-Dunlop) @ 12min
  13. Gaston Léonard @ 13min
  14. Pierre Van de Velde s.t.
  15. Ernest Paul (Alcyon-Dunlop) @ 14min
  16. Henri Hanlet s.t.
  17. François Faber (Automoto) @ 17min
  18. Pierre Everaerts @ 20min
  19. Charles Cruchon (Armor)
  20. Alois Persyn
  21. Georges Passerieu
  22. Robert Lefort (Aiglon-Dunlop)
  23. Hector Tiberghien (Griffon)
  24. André Huret
  25. Angelo Gremo (Peugeot-Wolber)
  26. Arthur Maertens
  27. René Vandenberghe
  28. Louis Luguet
  29. Hubert Verdyckt
  30. Maurice Grec
  31. Alcide Rousseau
  32. Achille Depauw
  33. Jules Deloffre
  34. Georges Charron
  35. Georges Tribouillard (La Française-Diamant)
  36. Auguste Benoit
  37. Albert Dupont (Le Globe)
  38. François Lafourcade (Celer-Continental)
  39. Camille Masselis
  40. Constant Niedergang (Automoto)
  41. Alfred Beyl
  42. Charles Charron (Automoto)
  43. Alfons Spiessenss (JB Louvet)
  44. Charles Desmeets
  45. Henri Cornet (Le Globe-Russian)
  46. Léon Lannoy
  47. Edouard Léonard (Automoto)
  48. Philippe Thys (Peugeot-Wolber)
  49. Gabriel Figuet (Griffon)
  50. Pierre-Joseph Heusghem (Le Globe)
  51. Henri Devroye
  52. Raphael Galiero
  53. Omer Beaugendre
  54. Maurice Pardon
  55. Alexandre Chavière
  56. Hector Heusghem
  57. Auguste Dierickx
  58. Firmin Lambot
  59. Auguste Bergerioux
  60. Joseph dumortier
  61. Pierre Delplace
  62. Raymond Harquet
  63. Julien Lootens
  64. Henri alavoine
  65. Louis Poyet
  66. Raoul Grieux
  67. François Dhaen
  68. Octave doury
  69. Maurice Laliert
  70. Jules Lesschaeve