BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Dirty Feet South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1908 Paris - Roubaix

13th edition: Sunday, April 19, 1908

Paris-Roubaix podium history | 1907 edition | 1909 edition

271 km. 25.63 km/hr average speed

90 riders started, 27 classified finishers

Weather the week before the race was terrible, turning the roads into a mess. Cold rain, snow and sleet on race day. Cyrille Van Houwaert arrived at the velodrome alone, several minutes ahead of his chasers, and ran into a groundsman. He remounted and finished his six laps to become the first Belgian winner of Paris-Roubaix.

Cyrille Van Houwaert

Complete results:

  1. Cyrille Van Hauwaert (Alcyon-Dunlop) 10hr 34min 25sec
  2. Georges Lorgeou (La Française) @ 3min 35sec
  3. François Faber (Peugeot-Wolber) @ 5min 5sec
  4. August Ringeval @ 11min 35sec (P-R scholar Pascal Sergent shows Edouard Léonard 4th)
  5. Louis Trousselier (Alcyon) @ 21min 35sec
  6. Georges Passerieu (Peugeot-Wolber) @ 23min 35sec
  7. André Pottier @ 24min 35sec
  8. Gustave Garrigou (Peugeot-Wolber) @ 25min 35sec
  9. Emile Georget (Peugeot-Wolber) @ 29min 35sec
  10. Jules Masselis (Alcyon-Dunlop) @ 32min 35sec
  11. Marcel Godiver @ 37min 35sec
  12. Eugène Plateau (Alcyon-Dunlop) @ 45min 35sec
  13. Antoine Lombret @ 48min 35sec
  14. Luigi Ganna @ 58min 35sec
  15. Vincent d'Hulst @ 59min 35sec
  16. Antoine Wattelier @ 1hr 0min 35sec
  17. Guido Devoghelaere @ 1hr 1min 35sec
  18. François Lafourcade (Alcyon-Dunlop) @ 1hr 41min 35sec
  19. Georges Ryon (La Française) s.t.
  20. Pierre Proy @ 2hr 26min 35sec
  21. Maurice Loit @ 2hr 29min 35sec
  22. Jules Deloffre (Alcyon-Dunlop) @ 2hr 37min 35sec
  23. Louis Soulier @ 2hr 37min 35sec
  24. Joseph Ponthieu @ 3hr 26min 35sec
  25. August Dufour @ 3hr 51min 35sec
  26. Charles Rousselot @ 6hr 31min 35sec
  27. Friedrich Piechnick @ 6hr 41min 35sec