BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2003 Giro di Lombardia results
(Tour of Lombardy)

97th edition: Saturday, October 18, 2003

Giro di Lombardia podium history | 2004 edition | 2002 edition |

Giro di Lombardia, Saturday, October 18. World Cup Round 10, 249 km.

191 starters, 77 classified finishers

Paolo Bettini abandoned with about 30 km to go. He does end up being the final winner of the World Cup (see below).

Michele Bartoli wins the 2003 Giro di Lombardia

Complete Results:

  1. Michele Bartoli (Fassa Bortolo) 6hr 29min 41sec. 38.34 km/hr
  2. Angelo Lopeboselli (Cofidis) s.t.
  3. Dario Frigo (Fassa Bortolo) @ 1min 31sec
  4. Beat Zberg (Rabobank) @ 1min 47sec
  5. Miguel Angel Martin Perdiguero (Domina Vacanze) s.t.
  6. Cedric Vasseur (Cofidis) s.t.
  7. Serguei Gonchar (Di Nardi) s.t.
  8. Patrick Sinkewitz (Quick Step) s.t.
  9. Guido Trentin (Cofidis) s.t.
  10. Michael Boogerd (Rabobank) s.t.
  11. Peter Luttenberger (CSC) s.t.
  12. Aitor Garmendia (Bianchi) s.t.
  13. Leonardo Piepoli (iBanesto) s.t.
  14. Felix Garcia Casas (Bianchi) s.t.
  15. Matthias Kessler (Telekom) @ 1min 58sec
  16. Angel Vicioso (ONCE) s.t.
  17. Frank Schleck (CSC) s.t.
  18. Juan Antonio Flecha (iBanesto) s.t.
  19. David Moncoutie (Cofidis) s.t.
  20. Andrea Peron (CSC) s.t.
  21. Marcos Serrano (ONCE) s.t.
  22. Carlos Sastre (CSC) s.t.
  23. Alessandro Bertolini (Alessio) @ 3min 8sec
  24. Marcus Zberg (Gerolsteiner) s.t.
  25. Gerrit Glomser (Saeco) s.t.
  26. Maarten den Bakker (Rabobank) @ 3min 12sec
  27. Massimo Giunti (Domina Vacanze) s.t.
  28. Mario Aerts (Telekom) s.t.
  29. Isidro Nozal (ONCE) s.t.
  30. Michael Rasmussen (Rabobank) @ 3min 35sec
  31. Simone Masciarelli (Vini Caldirola) @ 4min 35sec
  32. Joaquin Rodriguez (ONCE) @ 5min 0sec
  33. Christophe Brandt (Lotto-Domo) s.t.
  34. Kim Kirchen (Fassa Bortolo) s.t.
  35. Filippo Simeoni (Domina Vacanze) s.t.
  36. Santiago Perez (Phonak) s.t.
  37. Mirko Celestino (Saeco) s.t.
  38. Daniele Righi (Lampre) s.t.
  39. Alejandro Valverde (Kelme) s.t.
  40. Oscar Sevilla (Kelme) s.t.
  41. Danilo Di Luca (Saeco) s.t.
  42. Wladimir Belli (Lampre) s.t.
  43. Marco Fertonani (Phonak) s.t.
  44. Daniel Atienza (Cofidis) s.t.
  45. Davide Rebellin (Gerolsteiner) s.t.
  46. Francesco Casagrande (Lampre) s.t.
  47. Axel Merckx (Lotto-Domo) s.t.
  48. Cristian Moreni (Alessio) s.t.
  49. Oscar Freire (Rabobank) s.t.
  50. José Ivan Gutierrez (iBanesto) @ 9min 31sec
  51. Francisco Vila (Lampre) s.t.
  52. Alexadre Moos (Phonak) s.t.
  53. Tadej Valjavec (Fassa Bortolo) s.t.
  54. Giuliano Figueras (Panaria) s.t.
  55. Dmitri Fofonov (Cofidis) s.t.
  56. Alexandr Kolobnev (Domina Vacanze) @ 10min 44sec
  57. Alessandro Spezialetti (Saeco) @ 11min 28sec
  58. Leonardo Zanotti (De Nardi) @ 13min 29sec
  59. Daniel Schnider (Phonak) s.t.
  60. Leonardo Giodani (De Nardi) s.t.
  61. Gianni Faresin (Gerolsteiner) s.t.
  62. Igor Pugaci (Saeco) s.t.
  63. Piotr Przydzial (CCC Polsat) s.t.
  64. Domenico Passuello (Quick Step) s.t.
  65. Massimo Codol (Mercatone Uno) s.t.
  66. Martin Elmiger (Phonak) s.t.
  67. Sylvester Szmyd (Mercatone Uno) s.t.
  68. Pietro Caucchioli (Alessio) s.t.
  69. Luca Mazzanti (Panaria) s.t.
  70. Paolo Valoti (Domina Vacanze) s.t.
  71. Sergiy Avdyeyev (Landbouwkrediet) s.t.
  72. Volodymy Bileka (Landbouwkrediet) s.t.
  73. Leonardo Bertagnolli (Saeco) s.t.
  74. Gianluca Tonetti (Tenax) s.t.
  75. Michele Gobbi (De Nardi) s.t.
  76. Volodymir Gustov (Fassa Bortolo) s.t.
  77. Vladimir Duma (Landbouwkrediet) s.t.

Final World Cup Standings after Giro di Lombardia.

1. Paolo Bettini 365 points
2. Michael Boogerd 220
3. Peter Van Petegem 219
4. Davide Rebellin 187
5. Erik Zabel 186