BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It Started with a Freckle South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us! CycleItalia cycling tours

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1959 Tour of Flanders - Ronde van Vlaanderen

43rd edition: Sunday, March 30, 1959

Podium history of the Tour of Flanders | 1960 edition | 1958 edition

242 km. 143 starters, 62 classified finishers

Ascents: Kwaremont, Kruisberg, Statieberg, Valkenberg, Kloosterstraat

Rik van Looy

Rik van Looy

Complete results:

28 riders were awarded 35th place, all at same time

  1. Rik van Looy (Faema-Guerra) 6hr 14min 0sec. 38.82 km/hr
  2. Frans Schoubben (Peugeot-BP-Dunlop) @ 2 bike lengths
  3. Gilbert Desmet (Faema-Guerra) @ 10 meters
  4. Arthur de Cabooter (Groene Leeuw-Sinalco-SAS) @ 10sec
  5. Jaap Kersten (Magneet-Vredestein) s.t.
  6. Edgard Sorgeloos (Faema-Guerra) s.t.
  7. Jean-Claude Annaert (Rapha-Géminiani) s.t.
  8. Norbert van Tieghem (Flandria-Dr. Mann) s.t.
  9. Seamus Elliott (Helyett-Fynsec) s.t.
  10. Henri Denijs (Groene Leeuw-Sinalco-SAS) s.t.
  11. Joseph Bosmans (Groene Leeuw-Sinalco-SAS) s.t.
  12. Petrus Oellibrandt (Flandria-Dr. Mann) s.t.
  13. Piet De Jongh (Magneet-Vredestein) s.t.
  14. Gustaaf van Vaerenbergh s.t.
  15. Willy Vannitsen s.t.
  16. Eddy Pauwels (Flandria-Dr. Mann) s.t.
  17. Raymond Impanis s.t.
  18. Alfred de Bruyne (Peugeot-BP-Dunlop) s.t.
  19. Joseph Hoevenaars (Faema-Guerra) s.t.
  20. Oswald Declercq (Groene Leeuw-Sinalco-SAS) @ 15sec
  21. Gabriel Borra (Carpano) @ 1min 22sec
  22. Léon Van Daele (Flandira-Dr. Mann) s.t.
  23. Norbert Kerkhove (Faema-Guerra) s.t.
  24. Pierre Machiels (Faema-Guerra) s.t.
  25. Marcel Janssens (Flandria-Dr. Mann) s.t.
  26. Karel Clerckx (Groene Leeuw-Sinalco-SAS) s.t.
  27. Kamile Buysse (Peugeot-BP-Dunlop) s.t.
  28. Jos Theuns (Faema-Guerra) s.t.
  29. Roger Decock (Flandria-Dr. Mann) s.t.
  30. Pierre Everaert (Rapha-Géminiani-Dunlop) @ 2min 0sec
  31. Jean-Claude Lefèvre (St. Raphaël-Géminiani) s.t.
  32. Wim Van Est (Locomotief-Vredestein) s.t.
  33. Roger Molenaers (Ghigi-Ganna) @ 3min 32sec
  34. Frans Aerenhouts (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  35. Jan Adriaensens s.t.
  36. Mario Bertolo (Peugeot-BP-Dunlop) s.t.
  37. Marcel Buys (Libertas-Eura Drinks) s.t.
  38. Agostino Coletto (Carpano) s.t.
  39. Hilaire Couvreur (Faema-Guerra) s.t.
  40. Germain Derycke (Carpano) s.t.
  41. Ernest Heyvaert (Libertas-Eura Drinks) s.t.
  42. Georges Jomaux s.t.
  43. Désiré Keteleer s.t.
  44. Mathias Loder s.t.
  45. Rik Luyten s.t.
  46. Jules Mertens s.t.
  47. Winfried Ommer s.t.
  48. Peter Post (Locomotief-Vredestein) s.t.
  49. Louis Proost (Carpano) s.t.
  50. Marcel Rijckaert s.t.
  51. Julien Schepens (Carpano) s.t.
  52. Gilbert Scodeller (St. Raphaël-Géminiani) s.t.
  53. Leopold Schaeken (Ghigi-Ganna) s.t.
  54. Jean Stablinski (Essor-Leroux) s.t.
  55. Piet Van den Brekel (Eroba-Vredestein) s.t.
  56. Piet Van Est (Locomotief-Vredestein) s.t.
  57. Richard Van Genechten (Peugeot-BP-Dunlop s.t.
  58. Jan van Gompel s.t.
  59. Guillaume van Tongerloo (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  60. Arie Van Wetten (Locomotief-Vredestein) s.t.
  61. Gerrit Voorting (Locomotief-Vredestein) s.t.
  62. Victor Wartel (Groene Leeuw-Sinalco-SAS) s.t.