BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Paris-Roubaix: The Inside Story Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Advertise with us! Cycle Italia cycling tours

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2003 Clásica de San Sebastián (World Cup), Spain


Classica San Sebastian podium history

Saturday, August 9: World Cup Round 7. 227 kilometers

Scheduled to ride: Bettini and van Petegem will meet again with a 3-point spread between them in the World Cup series. No Spaniard has won this, the only Spanish World Cup race, since Indurain in 1990. Also in the hunt, Mancebo, Millar, Bartoli, Rebellin, Freire, Boogerd, Ekimov, Hincapie, Dufaux, Sevilla, Casagrande, Zulle, Camenzind, Astarloa, Di Luca, Celestino, Garzelli, Rodriguez, Mazzoleni, Vinokourov, Julich, Brochard, Moreau, Mayo, Zubeldia, Virenque and Pecharroman. Should be a good race.

Paolo Bettini wins the 2003 Clasica San Sebastian

The Race: 10 riders went clear over the big climb, the Jaizkibel. Later, Bettini attacked again and took Basso with him. Basso could barely contribute to helping a fantastically in-form Bettini as he motored to his 3rd World Cup win this season. Bettini now has 300 World Cup points to Van Petegem's 203.


1. Paolo Bettini (Quick Step) 5hr 44min 42sec. 39.51 km/hr
2. Ivan Basso (Fassa Bortolo) s.t.
3. Danilo Di Luca (Saeco) @ 20sec
4. Francesco Casagrande (Lampre) s.t.
5. Andrea Noe (Alessio) @ 23sec
6. Gorka Gerrikagoitia (Euskaltel) @ 33sec
7. Davide Rebellin (Gerolsteiner) s.t.
8. Michael Boogerd (Rabobank) @ 34sec
9. Michael Rasmussen (Rabobank) @ 27sec
10. Paolo Valoti (Domina Vacanze) @ 1min 53sec
11. Igor Astarloa (Saeco) @ 1min 54sec
12. Stefano Garzelli (Vini Caldirola) s.t.
13. Richard Virenque (Quick Step) s.t.
14. Mirko Celestino (Saeco) s.t.
15. George Hincapie (US Postal) s.t.
16. Luca Paolini (Quick Step) s.t.
17. Miguel Angel Martin Perdiguero (Domina Vacanze) s.t.
18. Beat Zberg (Rabobank) s.t.
19. Marco Serpellini (Lampre) s.t.
20. Ludovic Turpin (Ag2r) s.t.