BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Paris-Roubaix: The Inside Story Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Advertise with us! Cycle Italia cycling tours

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1988 Milano - San Remo

79th edition: Saturday, March 19, 1988

Podium History of Milano-San Remo | 1989 edition | 1987 edition |

294 km. 198 starters, 111 classified finishers

Laurent Fignon wins the 1988 Milano-San Remo

Laurent Fignon wins the 1988 Milano-San Remo

Complete Results:

  1. Laurent Fignon (Système U-Gitane) 7hr 6min 20sec. 41.376 km/hr
  2. Maurizio Fondriest (Alfa Lum-Legnano) s.t.
  3. Steven Rooks (PDM) @ 8sec
  4. Fabio Roscioli (Ariostea) s.t.
  5. Sean Kelly (KAS) s.t.
  6. Giuseppe Calcaterra (Atala-Ofmega) s.t.
  7. Adrie Van der Poel (PDM) s.t.
  8. Erich Maechler (Carrera) s.t.
  9. Rolf Golz (Superconfex) s.t.
  10. Giuseppe Petito (Gis Gelati) @ 10sec
  11. Eric Vanderaerden (Panasonic) s.t.
  12. Bruno Wojtinek (Z-Peugeot) s.t.
  13. Paolo Cimini (Fanini-7 UP) s.t.
  14. Etienne de Wilde (Sigma Paints) @ 14sec
  15. Adriano Baffi (Gis Gelati) s.t.
  16. Jorg Muller (PDM) s.t.
  17. Jean-Philippe Vandenbrande (Hitachi) s.t.
  18. Sergio Finazzi (Fanini-7 Up) s.t.
  19. Paul Heghegooren (Sigma Paints) s.t.
  20. Guido Bontempi (Carrera) s.t.
  21. Gert-Jan Theunisse (PDM) s.t.
  22. Andreas Kappes (Toshiba) s.t.
  23. Rudy Dhaenens (PDM) s.t.
  24. Marc Sergeant (Hitachi) s.t.
  25. Michael Wilson (Weinmann) s.t.
  26. Guy Nulens (Panasonic) s.t.
  27. Rolf Sorensen (Ariostea) s.t.
  28. Camillo Passera (Alfa Lum-Legnano) s.t.
  29. Marino Lejarreta (Caja Rural) s.t.
  30. Robert Millar (Fagor) s.t.
  31. Roberto Pagnin (Gewiss-Bianchi) s.t.
  32. Micol Gianelli (Alba Cucine-Benotto) @ 17sec
  33. Stefano Allocchio (Chateau d'Ax) @ 18sec
  34. Guido van Calster (KAS) s.t.
  35. Ludo Peeters (Superconfex) s.t.
  36. Joel Pelier (Système U) s.t.
  37. John Talen (Panasonic) s.t.
  38. Nico Verhoeven (Superconfex) s.t.
  39. Jean-Claude Leclercq (Weinmann) s.t.
  40. Valerio Piva (Ariostea) s.t.
  41. Ad Wijnands (Superconfex) s.t.
  42. Ron Kiefel (7-Eleven) s.t.
  43. Flavio Chesini (Alba Cucine-Benotto) s.t.
  44. Giuseppe Saronni (Del Tongo) s.t.
  45. Eddy Planckaert (AD Renting) s.t.
  46. Dag-Otto Lauritzen (7-Eleven) s.t.
  47. Tony Rominger (Chateau d'Ax) s.t.
  48. Henk Lubberding (Panasonic) s.t.
  49. Carlo Bomans (Lotto) s.t.
  50. Hennie Kuiper (Sigma Paints) s.t.
  51. Silvio Martinello (Atala-Ofmega) s.t.
  52. Michele Moro (Selca-Ciclolinea) s.t.
  53. Danilo Gioia (Atala-Ofmega) s.t.
  54. Stefano Tomasini (Fanini-7 Up) s.t.
  55. Jacques Decrion (Système U) s.t.
  56. Jesus Rodriguez (Reynolds) s.t.
  57. Malcom Elliot (Fagor) s.t.
  58. Johan Van der Velde (Gis Gelati) s.t.
  59. Claudio Vandelli (Atala-Ofmega) s.t.
  60. Jesper Skibby (Roland-Colnago) s.t.
  61. Olaf Lurvik (Z-Peugeot) s.t.
  62. Mario Noris (Atala-Ofmega) s.t.
  63. Atle Kvalsvoll (Z-Peugeot) s.t.
  64. Marco Giovannetti (Gis Gelati) s.t.
  65. Marcel Arntz (Caja rural) s.t.
  66. Alessio Di Basco (Fanini-7 Up) s.t.
  67. Marco Vitali (Atala-Ofmega) s.t.
  68. Bruno Leali (Carrera) s.t.
  69. Palmiro Masciarelli (Gis Gelati) s.t.
  70. Mauro Antonio Santaromita (Alba Cucine-Benotto) s.t.
  71. Ennio Vanotti (Chateau d'Ax) @ 1min 14sec
  72. Pedro Delgado (Reynolds) s.t.
  73. Gianni Bugno (Chateau d'Ax) s.t.
  74. Brian Holm (Roland-Colnago) s.t.
  75. Josef Lieckens (Hitachi) s.t.
  76. Luciano Boffo (Alfa Lum-Legnano) s.t.
  77. Fons de Wolf (AD Renting) s.t.
  78. Maruizio Rossi (Alfa Lum-Legnano) @ 1min 19sec
  79. Martin Early (KAS) s.t.
  80. Roland Leclercq (Caja Rural) s.t.
  81. Charly Mottet (Système U) s.t.
  82. Roberto Visentini (Carrera) s.t.
  83. Bruno Cornillet (Z-Peugeot) s.t.
  84. Jaanus Kuum (AD Renting) s.t.
  85. Marino Amadori (Alfa Lum-Legnano) s.t.
  86. Willem van Eynde (Lotto) @ 2min 25sec
  87. Luc Leblanc (Toshiba) s.t.
  88. Jan van Camp (Isoglass) s.t.
  89. Silvano Contini (Malvor-Bottecchia) s.t.
  90. Daniele Caroli (Alfa Lum-Legnano) s.t.
  91. Jan Goessens (Lotto) s.t.
  92. Michel Dernies (Lotto) s.t.
  93. Alan Peiper (Panasonic) s.t.
  94. Maurizio Piovani (Del Tongo) s.t.
  95. Steve Bauer (Weinmann) s.t.
  96. Helmut Wechselberger (Malvor-Bottecchia) @ 3min 25sec
  97. Paul Popp (Malvor-Bottecchia) s.t.
  98. René Beuker (Caja Rural) s.t.
  99. Acacio Da Silva (KAS) @ 4min 28sec
  100. Jean-Luc Vandenbroucke (Hitachi) s.t.
  101. Dominique Garde (Système U) @ 4min 36sec
  102. Marco Saligari (Ariostea) s.t.
  103. Stefan Joho (Ariostea) s.t.
  104. Marco Zen (Alfa Lum-Legnano) s.t.
  105. Giovanni Strazzer (Malvor-Bottecchia) s.t.
  106. Johan Lammerts (Toshiba) @ 5min 40sec
  107. Soren Lilholt (Sigma Paints) s.t.
  108. Gert Jacobs (Superconfex) s.t.
  109. Kjell Nilsson (Ariostea) @ 9min 42sec
  110. Luc Colyn (AD Renting) s.t.
  111. Alberto Elli (Fanini-7 Up) s.t.