BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Olympics' 50 Craziest Stories Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2011 Liège-Bastogne-Liège (World Tour), Belgium

97th edition: Sunday, April 24

Liège -Bastogne - Ans, 255.5 km. Belgium

Podium history of Liège-Bastogne-Liège | 2010 edition | 2012 edition | The Race | Results | Route map | Race profile |

The Race: When the Schleck brothers successfully attacked on the Côte de Roche au Faucons, they brought along Philippe Gilbert. The trio swept by the remnants of an earlier, likely looking break. As the center of a Schleck sandwich, it looked like Gilbert was going to to get hammered by successive attacks by the Schleck brothers. It didn't happen. In fact, at one point Gilbert dropped Andy Schleck, who then dragged himself back to the Frank and Gilbert. In the sprint is wasn't even a contest, with Gilbert easily winning and taking all three Ardennes races; Amstel Gold, Fléche Wallone and now Liège-Bastogne-Liège.

199 starters, 95 classified finsihers

Complete Results:

2011 finish

  1. Philippe Gilbert (Omega Pharma-Lotto) 6hr 13min 18sec. 41.066 km/hr
  2. Frank Schleck (Leopard-Trek) s.t.
  3. Andy Schleck (Leopard-Trek) s.t.
  4. Roman Kreuziger (Astana) @ 24sec
  5. Rigoberto Uran (Sky) s.t.
  6. Chris Anker Sorensen (Saxo) s.t.
  7. Greg Van Avermaet (BMC) @ 27sec
  8. Vincenzo Nibali (Liquigas) @ 29sec
  9. Bjorn Leukemans (Vacansoleil) @ 39sec
  10. Samuel Sanchez (Euskaltel) s.t.
  11. Alexandr Kolobnev (Katusha) @ 43sec
  12. Simon Gerrans (Sky) s.t.
  13. Paul Martens (Rabobank) s.t.
  14. Igor Anton (Euskaltel) s.t.
  15. Oscar Freire (Rabobank) s.t.
  16. Damiano Cunego (Lampre) s.t.
  17. Jelle Vanendert (Omega Pharma-Lotto) @ 47sec
  18. Tejay Van Garderen (HTC-Highroad) @ 53sec
  19. Kristof Vandewalle (Quick Step) @ 57sec
  20. Jérôme Pineau (Quick Step) @ 58sec
  21. Nicki Sorensen (Saxo) s.t.
  22. Ben Hermans (Radio Shack) s.t.
  23. Janez Brajkovic (Radio Shack) @ 1min 1sec
  24. Johnny Hoogerland (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  25. Thomas Lövkvist (Sky) s.t.
  26. Joaquin Rodriguez (Katusha) @ 1min 14sec
  27. David Lopez Garcia (Movistar) @ 1min 16sec
  28. Vasil Kiryienka (Movistar) @ 1min 26sec
  29. Ryder Hesjedal (Garmin-Cervelo) @ 1min 40sec
  30. Robert Gesink (Rabobank) s.t.
  31. Jakob Fuglsang (Leopard-Trek) s.t.
  32. Aleandre Vinokourov (Astana) @ 1min 43sec
  33. Daniel Moreno (Katusha) s.t.
  34. Jonathan Hivert (Saur-Sojasun) @ 2min 10sec
  35. Jérôme Baugnies (Topsport Vlaanderen) @ 2min 13sec
  36. Arnbold Jeannesson (FDJ) @ 2min 29sec
  37. Stephen Cummings (Sky) @ 2min 31sec
  38. Ludovic Turpin (Sau-Sojasun) @ 2min 34sec
  39. Blel Kadri (Ag2r) @ 2min 36sec
  40. Christophe Le Mevel (Garmin-Cervelo) s.t.
  41. Danilo Di Luca (Katusha) @ 2min 38sec
  42. Haimar Zubeldia (Radio Shack) s.t.
  43. Gianpaolo Caruso (Katusha) s.t.
  44. Enrico Gasparotto (astana) s.t.
  45. Addy Engels (Quick Step) @ 3min
  46. Dries Devenyns (Quick Step) s.t.
  47. Bauke Mollema (Rabobank) s.t.
  48. Rémy Di Gregorio (Astana) @ 4min 3sec
  49. Juan Manuel Garate (Rabobank) @ 5min 18sec
  50. Kanstantsin Sivtsov (HTC-Highroad) s.t.
  51. Rinaldo Nocentini (Ag2r) @ 6min 42sec
  52. Tony Martin (HTC-Highroad) @ 7min 16sec
  53. Laurens Ten Dam (Rabobank) @ 7min 18sec
  54. Alexandre Geniez (Skil-Shimano) @ 7min 35sec
  55. Dirk Bellemakers (Landboukrediet) s.t.
  56. José Joaquin Rojas (Movistar) s.t.
  57. Mickaël Buffaz (Cofidis) s.t.
  58. Craig Lewis (HTC-Highroad) s.t.
  59. Maxime Monfort (Leopard-Trek) s.t.
  60. Gorka Verdugo (Euskaltel) s.t.
  61. Marco Marcato (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  62. Davy Commeyne (Landbouwkrediet) s.t.
  63. David Moncoutie (Cofidis) s.t.
  64. Bram Tankink (Rabobank) s.t.
  65. Eduard Vorganov (Katusha) s.t.
  66. Sergey Lagutin (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  67. Daniele Pietropolli (Lampre) s.t.
  68. Francesco Gavazzi (Lampre) s.t.
  69. Sylvain Chavanel (Quick Step) s.t.
  70. Maxim Iglinskiy (Astana) s.t.
  71. Bert Scheirlinckx (Landbouwkrediet) s.t.
  72. Ivan Basso (Liquigas) s.t.
  73. Beñat Intxausti (Movistar) s.t.
  74. Christian Vande Velde (Garmin-Cervelo) s.t.
  75. Peter Stetina (Garmin-Cervelo) s.t.
  76. Diego Ulissi (Lampre) s.t.
  77. Rein Taaramae (Cofidis) s.t.
  78. Pierrick Fedrigo (FDJ) s.t.
  79. Maciej Paterski (Liquigas) s.t.
  80. Jerome Coppel (Saur-Sojasun) s.t.
  81. Amaël Moinard (BMC) s.t.
  82. John Gadret (Ag2r) s.t.
  83. Francesco Reda (Quick Step) s.t.
  84. Tony Gallopin (Cofidis) s.t.
  85. Fabrice Jeandesboz (Saur-Sojasun) s.t.
  86. Matthew Busche (Radio Shack) s.t.
  87. Michael Albassini (HTC-Highroad) s.t.
  88. Mathias Frank (BMC) s.t.
  89. Philip Deignan (Radio Shack) s.t.
  90. Lars Petter Nordhaug (Sky) @ 11min 2sec
  91. Thomas de Gendt (Vacansoleil) @ 11min 29sec
  92. Dario Cataldo (Quick Step) @ 13mn 33sec
  93. Damiano Caruso (Liquigas) s.t.
  94. Jérémy Roy (FDJ) s.t.
  95. Thomas Danielson (Garmin-Cervelo) s.t.

Frank Schleck

Second place Frank Schleck

Andy Schleck

And Andy Schleck at the finish

Route map:

2011 route map

Race profile:

2011 profile