BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Story of the Tour de France, volume 1 Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2001 World Road Cycling Championships

68th edition: Lisbon, Portugal, October 9 - 14

Podium History of the Elite (Professional) Men's Road Championship

2002 edition | 2000 edition | Other 2001 World Road Championships results

Elite Men

Road Race, Sunday, October 14: 21 laps of a 12.1 km course, totaling 254.1 km

Oscar Freire wins the 2001 World Championships

Oscar Freire wins the 2001 World Road Championship

Complete results: 171 starters, 94 classified finishers

  1. Oscar Freire (Spain) 6hr 7min 21sec. 41.503 km/hr
  2. Paolo Bettini (Italy) s.t.
  3. Andrej Hauptmann (Slovakia) s.t.
  4. Erik Dekker (Holland) s.t.
  5. Erik Zabel (Germany) s.t.
  6. Piotr Wadecki (Poland) s.t.
  7. Giuliano Figueras (Italy) s.t.
  8. Guennadi Mikhailov (Russia) s.t.
  9. Tomas Konecny (Czech) s.t.
  10. Beat Zberg (Switzerland) s.t.
  11. Michele Bartoli (Italy) s.t.
  12. Paolo Lanfranchi (Italy) s.t.
  13. Jan Ullrich (Germany) s.t.
  14. Faat Zakirov (Russia) s.t.
  15. Arkdiusz Wojtas (Poland) s.t.
  16. Zbigniew Piatek (Poland) s.t.
  17. Dave Bruylandts (Belgium) s.t.
  18. Niklas Axelsson (Sweden) s.t.
  19. Alexandre Botcharov (Russia) s.t.
  20. Niki Aebersold (Switzerland) s.t.
  21. Denis Bondarenko (Russia) s.t.
  22. Mario Aerts (Belgium) s.t.
  23. Angel Vicioso (Spain) s.t.
  24. Rui Miguel Sousa (Portugal) s.t.
  25. Chann McRae (USA) s.t.
  26. Cadel Evans (Australia) s.t.
  27. Tadej Valjavec (Slovenia) s.t.
  28. Levi Leipheimer (USA) s.t.
  29. Santiago Botero (Colombia) s.t.
  30. Andrei Tchmil (Belarus) s.t.
  31. Richard Virenque (France) s.t
  32. Davide Rebellin (Italy) s.t.
  33. Jean-Cyril Robin (France) s.t.
  34. Gianni Faresin (Italy) s.t.
  35. Johan Museeuw (Belgium) s.t.
  36. Michael Rasmussen (Denmark) s.t.
  37. Gonçalo José Amorin (Portugal) s.t.
  38. Gilberto Simoni (Italy) s.t.
  39. Stéphane Heulot (France) s.t.
  40. Francesco Casagrande (Italy) s.t.
  41. Ivan Basso (Italy) s.t.
  42. Angel Luis Casero (Spain) s.t.
  43. Michael Boogerd (Netherlands) s.t.
  44. Daniele Nardello (Italy) s.t.
  45. Joseba Beloki (Spain) s.t.
  46. Laurent Brochard (France) @ 42sec
  47. Nico Mattan (Belgium) s.t.
  48. Vladimir Duma (Ukraine) s.t.
  49. Geert Herheyen (Belgium) s.t.
  50. Mauro Gianetti (Switzerland) s.t.
  51. Alexandre Moos (Switzerland) s.t.
  52. Peter Luttenberger (Austria) s.t.
  53. Manuel Beltran (Spain) @ 1min 0sec
  54. Oscar Sevilla (Spain) s.t.
  55. Marc Lotz (Netherlands) s.t.
  56. José Luis Rubiera (Spain) s.t.
  57. Santiago Blanco (Spain) s.t.
  58. Eddy Mazzoleni (Italy) s.t.
  59. Maximilian Sciandri (Great Britain) s.t.
  60. Gorazd Stangelj (Slovenia) @ 8min 7sec
  61. Tom Leaper (Australia) @ 10min 42sec
  62. Marlon Alirio Perez (Colombia) s.t.
  63. Rui Lavarinhas (Portugal) s.t.
  64. Nuno Laves (Portugal) s.t.
  65. Ryan Cox (South Africa) s.t.
  66. Lukas Zunsteg (Switzerland) s.t.
  67. Daniel Schnider (Switzerland) s.t.
  68. Frédéric Bessy (France) s.t.
  69. Florent Brard (France) s.t.
  70. Pierre Bourquenard (Switzerland) s.t.
  71. Christophe Brandt (Belgium) s.t.
  72. Igor Pugaci (Moldova) s.t.
  73. Serguei Lelekin (Russia) s.t.
  74. Raimondas Rumsas (Lithuania) s.t.
  75. Morten Sonne (Denmark) s.t.
  76. Dariusz Baranowski (Poland) s.t.
  77. Lauri Aus (Estonia) s.t.
  78. Michael Barry (Canada) s.t.
  79. Piotr Chmielewski (Poland) s.t.
  80. Piotr Przydzial (Poland) s.t.
  81. Charles Wegelius (Great Britain) s.t.
  82. Jan Hruska (Czech Republic) s.t.
  83. Karsten Kroon (Netherlands) s.t.
  84. Dmitri Fofonov (Kazakhstan) s.t.
  85. Matthias Kessler (Germany) s.t.
  86. Evgeni Petrov (Russia) s.t.
  87. Ludovic Turpin (France) s.t.
  88. Kyrylo Pospyeyev (Ukraine) s.t.
  89. Danilo Di Luca (Italy) s.t.
  90. Maarten den Bakker (Netherlands) @ 14min 5sec
  91. Michael Skelde (Denmark) s.t.
  92. Martin Elmiger (Switzerland) s.t.
  93. Laszlo Bodrogi (Hungary) s.t.
  94. Matthé Pronk (Netherlands) s.t.

Time Trial, Thursday, October 11, 38.7 km. Times rounded to nearest second.

1. Jan Ullrich (Germany) 51min 49.99 sec
2. David Millar (Great Britain) @ 6sec
3. Santiago Botero (Colombia) @ 12sec
4. Levi Leipheimer (USA) @ 25sec
5. Laszlo Bodrogi (Hungary) @ 1min

Junior Men

Road Race: Oleksandr Kvachuck (Ukraine)
Time Trial: Jurgen van den Broeck (Belgium)

Elite Women

Road Race, 121 km:

1. Rasa Poliviciute (Lithuania) 3hr 12min 5sec
2. Edita Pucinskaite (Lithuania) s.t.
3. Jeannie Longo-Ciprelli (France) s.t.

Time trial: Jeannie Longo-Ciprelli (France)

Men Under 23

Road Race: Yaroslav Popovych (Ukraine)
Time Trial: Danny Pate (USA)

Junior Women

Road Race: Nicole Cooke (Great Britain)
Time Trial: Nicole Cooke (Great Britain)