BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1971 World Pro Road Cycling Championships

38th edition: Sunday, September 5, 1971
Mendrisio, Switzerland

World Road Cycling Championships podium history | 1972 edition | 1970 edition |

93 riders started, 57 classified finishers.
16 laps of 16.8 km totalling 268.8km. Winner's average speed: 40.41 km/hr

Eddy Merckx in the 1972 Giro d'Italia

Eddy Merckx in the 1972 Giro, stage 17, riding up the Stelvio.

Complete Results:

  1. Eddy Merckx (Belgium) 6hr 39min 6sec
  2. Felice Gimondi (Italy) s.t.
  3. Story of the Tour de France Volume 2
  4. Cyrille Guimard (France) @ 1min 13sec
  5. Giancarlo Polidori (Italy) s.t.
  6. Georges Pintens (Belgium) s.t.
  7. Leif Mortensen (Denmark) s.t.
  8. Michele Dancelli (Italy) @ 6min 51sec
  9. Frans Verbeeck (Belgium) s.t.
  10. Ole Ritter (Denmark) s.t.
  11. Roger Swerts (Belgium) s.t.
  12. Augustin Tamames (Spain) s.t.
  13. Tomas Pettersson (Sweden) s.t.
  14. Bernard Thévenet (France) s.t.
  15. William Bilsland (Great Britain) s.t.
  16. Jean-Pierre Genêt (France) s.t.
  17. Franco Bitossi (Italy) s.t.
  18. Eric Leman (Belgium) s.t.
  19. Evert Dolman (Netherlands) s.t.
  20. Aldo Moser (Italy) s.t.
  21. Erwin Thalmann (Switzerland) s.t.
  22. Joop Zoetemelk (Netherlands) s.t.
  23. Bernard Labourdette (France) s.t.
  24. Jean-Luc Molineris (France) @ 7min 20sec
  25. Joseph Van der Vleuten (Netherlands) @ 7min 25sec
  26. Domingo Perurena (Spain) s.t.
  27. Marinus Wagtmans (Netherlands) @ 7min 31sec
  28. Louis Pfenninger (Switzerland) s.t.
  29. Erik Pettersson (Sweden) s.t.
  30. René Pijnen (Netherlands) s.t.
  31. Kurt Ruub (Switzerland) s.t.
  32. Wilmo Francioni (Italy) @ 8min 6sec
  33. Jean-Pierre Danguillaume (France) s.t.
  34. Giovanni Jimenez (Colombia) s.t.
  35. Roberto Poggiali (Italy) s.t.
  36. Francisco Galdos (Spain) s.t.
  37. Jan Janssen (Netherlands) @ 8min 10sec
  38. Harry Jansen (Netherlands) s.t.
  39. Hans Junkermann (Germany0 s.t.
  40. Gösta Pettersson (Sweden) s.t.
  41. Eric de Vlaeminck (Belgium) s.t.
  42. Walter Godefroot (Belgium) s.t.
  43. André Dierickx (Belgium) s.t.
  44. Marino Basso (Italy) s.t.
  45. Miguel-Maria Lasa (Spain) s.t.
  46. Raymond Poulidor (France) s.t.
  47. Roger de Vlaeminck (Belgium) s.t.
  48. Yves Hézard (France) s.t.
  49. Andres Oliva (Spain) s.t.
  50. Gerben Karstens (Netherlands) s.t.
  51. Italo Zilioli (Italy) s.t.
  52. Herman van Springel (Belgium) s.t.
  53. Gino Cavalcanti (Italy) s.t.
  54. Eduardo Castello (Spain) s.t.
  55. Gérard Vianen (Netherlands) s.t.
  56. Colin Lewis (Great Britain) @ 14mn 13sec
  57. Eric Spahn (Switzerland) s.t.
  58. Bernard Vivian (Switzerland) s.t.