BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Tour de France, vol.2 South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Cycle Italia cycling tours Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2014 Trofeo Melinda (1.1) Italy

Italian Road Championships

23rd edition: Saturday, June 28, 2014

Trofeo Melinda podium history | Trofeo Melinda map and profile | Italian Road Champions since 1906 |

Race day photos |

Malè - Fondo, 220.5 km

The Trofeo Melinda is also run as the Italian National Championships and the winner gets to wear the Italian Champion's tricolor jersey for a year.

Vincenzo Nibali wins 2014 Trofeo Melinda

Vincenzo Nibali wins the Trofeo Melinda and is the new Italian Road Champion. Photo ©Sirotti

The Race: With less than 20 kilometers to go, the day's early break had been hoovered up and the new lead group was almost 20 riders strong. Up the last ascent Vincenzo Nibali asserted himself, taking along only Cannondale rider Davide Formolo.

Nibali put Formolo to the sword in the sprint to win the 23rd edition of the Trofeo Melinda.

Since Nibali had not been able to win a race since the 2013 Giro d'Italia, many were wondering if the Sicilian rider still had what it takes. It would appear that he does.

When the Tour de France starts in Leeds on Saturday, July 5, Vincenzo Nibali will be there wearing the red, white and green jersey of the Italian champion.

Complete Results:

Winner's average speed: 38.809 km/hr

1 Vincenzo Nibali Astana 5hr 40min 54sec
2 Davide Formolo Cannondale
3 Matteo Rabottini Neri Sottoli-Yellow Fluo @ 6 seconds
4 Giovanni Visconti Movistar 7
5 Damiano Caruso Cannondale 12
6 Daniel Oss BMC
7 Domenico Pozzovivo Ag2r 23
8 Salvatore Puccio SKY 25
9 Mauro Finetto Neri Sottoli-Yellow Fluo 29
10 Ivan Santaromita Orica-GreenEdge 41
11 Michele Scarponi Astana +2:33
12 Gianfranco Zilioli Androni Giocattoli +3:31
13 Matteo Tosatto Tinkoff-Saxo +4:52
14 Enrico Battaglin Bardiani-CSF
15 Matteo Busato MG KVIS-Wilier
16 Daniele Bennati Tinkoff-Saxo
17 Matteo Trentin Omega Pharma-Quick Step
18 Matteo Montaguti Ag2r
19 Antonio Santoro Merdiana Kamen
20 Moreno Moser Cannondale
21 Alessio Taliani Androni Giocattoli
22 Nicola Gaffurini Vega-Hotsand
23 Luca Dodi Lampre-Merida
24 Cristiano Salerno Cannondale
25 Simone Ponzi Neri Sottoli-Yellow Fluo
26 Manuele Mori Lampre-Merida
27 Eros Capecchi Movistar
28 Alessandro De Marchi Cannondale +4:59
29 Edoardo Zardini Bardiani-CSF +6:14
30 Mirko Tedeschi Team Idea
31 Alessandro Bisolti Vini Fantini
32 Franco Pellizotti Androni Giocattoli
33 Alessandro Bazzana United Healthcare +6:24
34 Cesare Benedetti NetApp-Endura
35 Marco Tecchio Area Zero
36 Simone Petilli Area Zero
37 Francesco Gavazzi Astana +7:12
38 Marco Marcato Cannondale +7:18
39 Filippo Pozzato Lampre-Merida +11:20
40 Gianluca Brambilla Omega Pharma-Quick Step
41 Angelo Pagani Bardiani-CSF
42 Davide Villella Cannondale
43 Alfredo Balloni Nankang-Fondriest
44 Alessio Camilli Vega-Hotsand
45 Stefano Tonin Area Zero
46 Fabio Felline Trek Factory Racing
47 Antonio Nibali Marchiol Emisfero +11:25
48 Gianluca Mengardo Area Zero +16:08
49 Silvio Giorni Area Zero
DNF Omar Bertazzo Androni Giocattoli
DNF Matteo Di Serafino Androni Giocattoli
DNF Marco Frapporti Androni Giocattoli
DNF Antonio Parrinello Androni Giocattoli
DNF Emanuele Sella Androni Giocattoli
DNF Nicola Testi Androni Giocattoli
DNF Valerio Agnoli Astana
DNF Enrico Gasparotto Astana
DNF Jacopo Guarnieri Astana
DNF Alessandro Vanotti Astana
DNF Paolo Colonna Bardiani-CSF
DNF Marco Canola Bardiani-CSF
DNF Sonny Colbrelli Bardiani-CSF
DNF Andrea Manfredi Bardiani-CSF
DNF Stefano Locatelli Bardiani-CSF
DNF Andrea Piechele Bardiani-CSF
DNF Donato De Ieso Bardiani-CSF
DNF Enrico Barbin Bardiani-CSF
DNF Francesco Manuel Bongiorno Bardiani-CSF
DNF Matteo Bono Lampre-Merida
DNF Mattia Cattaneo Lampre-Merida
DNF Valerio Conti Lampre-Merida
DNF Andrea Palini Lampre-Merida
DNF Luca Wackermann Lampre-Merida
DNF Ivan Basso Cannondale
DNF Alberto Bettiol Cannondale
DNF Oscar Gatto Cannondale
DNF Alan Marangoni Cannondale
DNF Fabio Sabatini Cannondale
DNF Elia Viviani Cannondale
DNF Giorgio Cecchinel Neri Sottoli-Yellow Fluo
DNF Luigi Miletta Neri Sottoli-Yellow Fluo
DNF Mattia Pozzo Neri Sottoli-Yellow Fluo
DNF Fabio Taborre Neri Sottoli-Yellow Fluo
DNF Mirko Tedeschi Neri Sottoli-Yellow Fluo
DNF Giampaolo Caruso Katusha
DNF Luca Paolini Katusha
DNF Davide Appollonio Ag2r
DNF Adriano Malori Movistar
DNF Pier Paolo De Negri Vini Fantini
DNF Alessandro Malaguti Vini Fantini
DNF Riccardo Stacchiotti Vini Fantini
DNF Paolo Ciavatta Area Zero
DNF Fabio Chinello Area Zero
DNF Gianluca Leonardi Area Zero
DNF Andrea Pasqualon Area Zero
DNF Charly Petelin Area Zero
DNF Matteo Spreafico Team Idea
DNF Ricardo Pichetta Team Idea
DNF Matteo Collodel Team Idea
DNF Alessandro Pettiti Team Idea
DNF Enrico Franzoi Marchiol Emisfero
DNF Alberto Cecchin Marchiol Emisfero
DNF Simone Antonini Marchiol Emisfero
DNF Andrea Vaccher Marchiol Emisfero
DNF Daniele Aldegheri MG KVIS-Wilier
DNF Lorenzo Di Remigio MG KVIS-Wilier
DNF Mattia Frapporti MG KVIS-Wilier
DNF Nicola Dal Santo Nankang-Fondriest
DNF Alfonso Fiorenza Nankang-Fondriest
DNF Matteo Gozzi Nankang-Fondriest
DNF Giacomo Forconi Nankang-Fondriest
DNF Matteo Belli Nankang-Fondriest
DNF Antonio Merolese Nankang-Fondriest
DNF Gianni Franco D'Intino Vega-Hotsand
DNF Sante Di Nizio Vega-Hotsand
DNF Moreno Giampaolo Vega-Hotsand
DNF Alessandro Riccardi Vega-Hotsand
DNF Simone Stortoni Amore & Vita
DNF Davide Vigano Caja Rural-Seguros RGA
DNF Giacomo Nizzolo Trek Factory Racing
DNF Eugenio Alafaci Trek Factory Racing
DNF Davide Mucelli Merdiana Kamen
DNF Kristian Sbaragli MTN-Qhubeka

Trofeo Melinda race day photos:

Vega-Hotsand team

The Vega-Hotsand team is ready to race.

Sonny Colbrelli does some pre-race 'splainen.

The day's early break

The day's early break enjoys the slopes.

Astana and Cannondale

Astana and Cannondale work to catch the breakaway.

Vincenzo Nibali

Vincenzo Nibali wins the 2014 Trofeo Melinda.

Vincenzo Nibali

Nibali right after the sprint...

Matteo Rabottini finishes third

Matteo Rabottini finishes third.

Giovanni Visconti

Giovanni Visconti.

Vincenzo Nibali

The winner, Vicenzo Nibali. Photo ©Sirotti

Final Podium

Vincenzo Nibali in his new Italian Champion's jersey with the rest of the podium. From left, Davide Formolo (Cannondale), Nibali, Mateo Rabbottini (Neri Sottoli). Photo ©Sirotti

Trofeo Melinda map and profile:

2014 Trofeo Melinda map

2014 Trofeo Melinda map

Trofeo Melinda profile

2014 Trofeo Melinda profile