BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Dirty Feet South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

Paris - Roubaix

103rd edition: Sunday, April 12, 2009

259 km. 187 starters, 99 classified finishers

Paris-Roubaix Podium history | 2008 Paris-Roubaix | 2010 Paris-Roubaix

The race: Exiting the Mons-en-Pévèle sector of cobbles there were just six riders. Just as the leaders started the Carrefour de l'Arbre sector, Juan Antonio Flecha crashed, taking down and delaying all but Tom Boonen, who was in the lead at the time. Because of the crowd noise, at first Boonen was unaware he was alone. Filippo Pozzato chased, but Boonen was not to be caught as he won his third Paris-Roubaix.

Complete Results

  1. Tom Boonen (Quick Step) 6hr 15min 53sec. 41.34 km/hr
  2. Filippo Pozzato (Katusha) @ 47sec
  3. Thor Hushovd (Cervelo) @ 1min 17sec
  4. Leif Hoste (Silence-Lotto) s.t.
  5. Johan Van Summeren (Silence-Lotto) @ 1min 22sec
  6. Juan Antonio Flecha (Rabobank) @ 2min 14sec
  7. Heinrich Haussler (Cervelo) @ 3min 13sec
  8. Sylvain Chavanel (Quick Step) @ 3min 15sec
  9. Manuel Quinziato (Liquigas) @ 5min
  10. Matti Breschel (Saxo) @ 5min 29sec
  11. Wouter Weylandt (Quick Step) s.t.
  12. Andreas Klier (Cervelo) s.t.
  13. Frederic Guesdon (FDJ) s.t.
  14. Kevin Van Impe (Quick Step) @ 6min 15sec
  15. Roger Hammond (Cervelo) s.t.
  16. Kurt-Asle Arveson (Saxo) s.t.
  17. Niki Terpstra (Milram) s.t.
  18. Bert Scheirlinckx (Landbouwkrediet) @ 6min 19sec
  19. Jeremy Hunt (Cervelo) @ 6min 32sec
  20. Marcel Sieberg (Columbia) s.t.
  21. Mathew Hayman (Rabobank) s.t.
  22. Yauheni Hutarovich (FDJ) s.t.
  23. Angelo Furlan (Lampre) s.t.
  24. Damien Gaudin (Bouygues Telecom) s.t.
  25. Bradley Wiggins (Garmin-Slipstream) s.t.
  26. Said Haddou (Bouygues Telecom) s.t.
  27. Maarten Wynants (Quick Step) s.t.
  28. Staf Scheirlinckx (Silence-Lotto) s.t.
  29. Sébastien Minard (Cofidis) s.t.
  30. Marcus Ljungqvist (Saxo) s.t.
  31. Nicolas Jalabert (Agritubel) s.t.
  32. Matthew Goss (Saxo) s.t.
  33. Grégory Rast (Astana) s.t.
  34. Filip Meirhaeghe (Landbouwkrediet) s.t.
  35. Florent Brard (Cofidis) s.t.
  36. Servais Knaven (Milram) s.t.
  37. Nicolai Trussov (Katusha) s.t.
  38. Greg van Avermaet (Silence-Lotto) s.t.
  39. Joost Posthuma (Rabobank) s.t.
  40. Imanol Erviti (Caisse d'Epargne) s.t.
  41. Bjorn Leukemans (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  42. Pieter Vanspeybrouck (Topsport Vlaanderen) s.t.
  43. Rony Martias (Bouygues Telecom) s.t.
  44. George Hincapie (Columbia-Highroad) s.t.
  45. Lars Bak (Saxo) s.t.
  46. Gabriel Rasch (Cervelo) s.t.
  47. Bernhard Eisel (Columbia-Highroad) @ 6min 43sec
  48. Kasper Klostergaard (Saxo) @ 6min 45sec
  49. Fabian Cancellara (Saxo) @ 6min 48sec
  50. Yaroslav Popovych (Astana) @ 9min 9sec
  51. Gregory Henderson (Columbia-Highroad) @ 11min 11sec
  52. Aleksandr Kuschynski (Liquigas) s.t.
  53. Marco Bandiera (Lampre) s.t.
  54. Alexei Markov (Katusha) s.t.
  55. Stijn Devolder (Quick Step) s.t.
  56. Tom Veelers (Skil-Shimano) @ 12min 12sec
  57. Mauro Da Dalto (Lampre) s.t.
  58. Rui Faria da Costa (Caisse d'Epargne) s.t.
  59. Matthieu Ladagnous (FDJ) s.t.
  60. Renaud Dion (Ag2r) s.t.
  61. Wesley Sulzberger (FDJ) s.t.
  62. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Columbia-Highroad) s.t.
  63. Maarten Tjallingii (Rabobank) s.t.
  64. Steven Cozza (Garmin-Slipstream) s.t.
  65. Marcus Burghardt (Columbia-Highroad) s.t.
  66. Arnaud Coyot (Caisse d'Epargne) s.t.
  67. Aitor Galdos (Euskaltel) @ 12min 32sec
  68. Alexandre Moos (BMC) @ 16min 57sec
  69. Aart Vierhouten (Vacansoleil) @ 17min 30sec
  70. Bjorn Schroder (Milram) @ 17min 36sec
  71. Pedro Horillo (Rabobank) s.t.
  72. Lloyd Mondory (Ag2r) s.t.
  73. Markus Eichler (Milram) s.t.
  74. Enrico Franzoi (Liquigas) s.t.
  75. Koen Barbe (Landbouwkrediet) s.t.
  76. Christophe Laurent (Agritubel) s.t.
  77. Alexandre Blain (Cofidis) s.t.
  78. Stijn Neirynck (Topsport Vlaanderen) s.t.
  79. Cyril Lemoine (Skil-Shimano) s.t.
  80. Martin Velits (Milram) s.t.
  81. Emilien-Benoit Berges (Agritubel) s.t.
  82. Floris Goesinnen (Skil-Shimano) s.t.
  83. Markel Irizar (Euskaltel) s.t.
  84. Anders Lund (Saxo) s.t.
  85. Yoann Offredo (FDJ) s.t.
  86. Bert De Backer (Skil-Shimano) s.t.
  87. Arnaud Labbe (Bouygues telecom) s.t.
  88. Brent Bookwalter (BMC) s.t.
  89. Marcin Sapa (Lampre) s.t.
  90. Michael Barry (Columbia-Highroad) s.t.
  91. Kevin De Weert (Quick Step) s.t.
  92. Daaniel Oss (Liquigas) s.t.
  93. Michael Schar (Astana) s.t.
  94. Sebastian Langeveld (Rabobank) @ 17min 46sec
  95. Christopher Sutton (Garmin-Slipstream) s.t.
  96. Romain Villa (Cofidis) s.t.
  97. Daniele Righi (Lampre) s.t.
  98. Martijn Maaskant (Garmin-Slipstream) s.t.
  99. Michael Friedman (Garmin-Slipstream) @ 17min 48sec

The dearture in Compiegne

The departure in Compiegne

Maarten Wyants leads through the Arenberg Forest

Maarten Wyants leads through the Arenberg Forest

Riders in the Arenberg Forest

More Arenberg misery

Riders in the Arenberg Forest

We got to get out of this place...still in the Arenberg Forest

Riders in the Arenberg Forest

More of the Arenberg

Tom Boonen leads Thor Hushovd at the Carrefour de l'Arbre.

Tom Boonen leads

Boonen leads Filippo Pozzato and Thor Hushovd

Boonen, Pozzato, Van Summeren and Hushovd at the Moulin du Vartain.

Riders on cobbles

I don't know what cobble sector this is.

Orchies sector

Orchies sector


Rain was predicted, but it didn't come. Dust instead of mud was on the day's menu.

Boonen rides his two laps on the velodrome

Boonen rides his laps on the Roubaix Velodrome.


That makes 3 Paris-Roubaix wins for Boonen. He joins Van Looy, Merckx, Moser and Museeuw. Roger de Vlaeminck holds the absolute record with 4 victories: 1972, '74, '75, '77.

2009 Paris-Roubaix podium

The podium, from left: Filippo Pozzato, Tom Boonen and Thor Hushovd

Francesco Moser at the Roubaix velodrome

Francesco Moser (winner Paris-Roubaix 1978, 79, 80) and the Mrs. at the Roubaix velodrome.

Tom Boonen's bike

Tom Boonen's bike