BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling historyBikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history
Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2004 Paris - Roubaix

102nd edition: Sunday, April 11, 2004

Complete results, photos and race synopsis

Podium History of Paris-Roubaix | 2003 edition | 2005 edition

Complete results | photos

Plato's Phaedo

Plato's dialogue Phaedo is available as an audiobook here. For the Kindle eBook version, just click on the Amazon link on the right.

Weather in Paris at noon: Dry, mostly sunny. 9C (48F) with the wind NNE 11 mph (18 kph). Since the race heads north, this is a headwind.

The Race:

The 2004 Paris-Roubaix was 261 kilometers long and raced at an average speed of 39.107 km/hr. There were 51.1 kilometers of cobbles divided into 26 sections.

There were 177 starters and 93 classified finishers.

The winning group emerged from the last tough cobbled section, Carrefour de l'Arbre, at km 245. Both Peter Van Petegem and Johan Museeuw were in that group, but got flats near the end of the race, ruining their chances. They crossed the finish line in the Roubaix Velodrome arm in arm (see picture at bottom of this page).

Those flats left four riders, Magnus Backstedt, Tristan Hoffman, Roger Hammond and Fabian Cancellara to contend for victory. Cancellara led into the velodrome. Backstedt saw an opening and zoomed down the banking into the inside and won the biggest race of his career.

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel

Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Content continues below the ads

Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames


Magnus Backstedt wins the 2004 Paris-Roubaix

Magnus Backstedt gets the big win. Sirotti photo

Content continues below the ads

Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach!

Complete Results:

  1. Magnus Backstedt (Alessio) 6hr 40min 26sec.
  2. Paris–Roubaix: The Inside Story
  3. Tristan Hoffman (CSC) s.t.
  4. Roger Hammond (Mr. Bookmaker) s.t.
  5. Fabian Cancellara (Fassa Bortolo) s.t.
  6. Johan Museeuw (Quick Step) @ 17sec
  7. Peter Van Petegem (Lotto) s.t.
  8. Leon Van Bon (Lotto) @ 29sec
  9. George Hincapie (US Postal) s.t.
  10. Tom Boonen (Quick Step) s.t.
  11. Frank Hoj (CSC) s.t.
  12. Romans Vainsteins (Lampre) s.t.
  13. Leif Hoste (Lotto) s.t.
  14. Juan Antonio Flecha (Fassa Bortolo) s.t.
  15. Ludo Dierckxsens (Landbouwkrediet) s.t.
  16. Daniele Nardello (T-Mobile) @ 36sec
  17. Stefen Wesemann (T-Mobile) @ 58sec
  18. Thor Hushovd (Credit Agricole) @ 2min 52sec
  19. Frédéric Guesdon (FDJ) s.t.
  20. Serguei Ivanov (T-Mobile) s.t.
  21. Vladimir Gusev (CSC) s.t.
  22. Michele Bartoli (CSC) @ 2min 56sec
  23. Jaan Kirsipuu (Ag2R) @ 3min 50sec
  24. Lars Michaelsen (CSC) s.t.
  25. Fabio Baldato (Alessio) s.t.
  26. Christophe Mengin (FDJ) s.t.
  27. Rolf Aldag (T-Mobile) @ 3min 54sec
  28. Jan Schaffrath (T-Mobile) s.t.
  29. Lorenzo Bernucci (Landbouwkrediet) s.t.
  30. Kevin Hulsmans (Quick Step)@ 6min 36sec
  31. Wilfried Cretskens (Quick Step) @ 7min 59sec
  32. Robert Hunter (Rabobank) s.t.
  33. Thierry Marichal (Lotto-Domo) @ 12min 17sec
  34. Servais Knaven (Quick Step) @ 12min 19sec
  35. Aart Vierhouten (Lotto-Domo) s.t.
  36. Bernhard Eisel (FDJ) @ 13min 19sec
  37. Salvatore Commesso (Saeco) s.t.
  38. Stefano Casagranda (Saeco) s.t.
  39. Gianluca Bortolami (Lampre) s.t.
  40. Eric Baumann (T-Mobile) s.t.
  41. Murilo fischer (Domina Vacanze) s.t.
  42. Steven De Jongh (Rabobank) s.t.
  43. Pedro Horillo (Quick Step) s.t.
  44. Andrea Tafi (Alessio) s.t.
  45. Scott Sunderland (Alessio) s.t.
  46. Bekim Christiansen (CSC) s.t.
  47. Jorg Ludewig (Saeco) s.t.
  48. Thomas Eriksen (CSC) s.t.
  49. Andy Flickinger (Ag2r) s.t.
  50. Antonio Cruz (US Postal) s.t.
  51. Alessandro Cortinovis (Lampre) s.t.
  52. Martin Elmiger (Phonak) s.t.
  53. Laszlo Bodrogi (Quick Step) s.t.
  54. Bert Hiemstra (Chocolade Jacques) s.t.
  55. Nicolas Portal (Ag2r) s.t.
  56. Nicola Gavazzi (Saeco) s.t.
  57. Sébastien Hinault (Credit Agricole) s.t.
  58. Grégory Rast (Phonak) s.t.
  59. Maarten Den Bakker (Rabobank) s.t.
  60. Kristof Trouve (Mr. Bookmaker) s.t.
  61. Paolo Fornaciari (Saeco) s.t.
  62. Chris Peers (Chocolade Jacques) s.t.
  63. Allan Johansen (Bankgiroloterij) s.t.
  64. Bart Voskamp (Chocolade Jacques) s.t.
  65. Benoit Joachim (US Postal) s.t.
  66. Stephan Schreck (T-Mobile) s.t.
  67. Max Van Heeswijk (US Postal) s.t.
  68. Wim Vansevenant (Lotto-Domo) 2 13min 32sec
  69. Steffan Radochla (Illes Balears) s.t.
  70. Stefano Zanini (Quick Step) @ 13min 33sec
  71. Dario Pieri (Saeco) s.t.
  72. Erwin Thijs (Mr. Bookmaker) @ 14min 58sec
  73. Michael Rich (Gerolsteiner) s.t.
  74. Roy Sentjens (Rabobank) s.t.
  75. Michael Van Haecke (Mr. Bookmaker) s.t.
  76. Alexandre Bazhenov (Domina Vacanze) s.t.
  77. Jacky Durand (Landbouwkrediet) s.t.
  78. Thomas Voeckler (Brioches la Boulangere) @ 20min 37sec
  79. Unai Yus (Brioches la Boulangere) s.t.
  80. Jeremy Hunt (Mr. Bookmaker) @ 28min 7sec
  81. Alexandre Usov (Phonak) @ 31min 3sec
  82. Remco Van Der Ven (Bankgiroloterij) @ 31min 9sec
  83. Andy Capelle (Chocolade Jacques) s.t.
  84. Stéphane Berges (Ag2r) s.t.
  85. Christophe Laurent (RAGT Semences) s.t.
  86. Renaud Dion (RAGT Semences) s.t.
  87. Johan Verstrepen (Landbouwkrediet) s.t.
  88. David Derepas (FDJ) s.t.
  89. Jean-Patrick Nazon (Ag2r) s.t.
  90. Francesco Chicchi (Fassa Bortolo) s.t.
  91. Lars Ytting Bak (Bankgiroloterij) s.t.
  92. Stijn Devolder (US Postal) @ 35min 10sec
  93. Bobbie Traksel (Rabobank) 2 43min 9sec
  94. Jérémy Roy (FDJ) @ 51min 8sec

Content continues below the ads

Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!


Franco Ballerini and Johan Museeuw

At the start in Compiegne: Franco Ballerini and Johan Museeuw

Tom Boonen leads Magnus Backstedt

Tom Boonen leads Magnus Backstedt.

George Hinapie

George Hincapie rides over the bad stuff.

Bradley Wiggins and Gregory Rast

Bradley Wiggins (Credit Agricole) and Gregory Rast (Phonak)

Riders raise dust over the cobbles

Riders raise dust over the cobbles. That's Thor Hushovd in the green and white Credit Agricole kit.

Panaroama shot of the cobbles

Panorama shot of the riders and cobbles

The final four jockey on the velodrome

The final four (Hoffman, Backstedt, Hammond and Cancellara) jockey on the velodrome.

Peter van Peegem and johan Museeuw finsihing together

Peter van Petegem and Johan Museeuw finishing together.